We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a pub lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Loaf

The Cottage Loaf
Ranked #10 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Pub,Child Friendly,Serving Food All Day,Real Ale,Log Fire,Reservations by Phone or Email,Good Beer Guide 2012
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal for a pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife & I called in on a busy Sunday afternoon prior to a concert in town. It was very busy and a tad boisterous. However, the service was very good and food likewise. I had the Steakburger as I had read an earlier reviewer praise, and my wife had the Lamb Koftas, both being most acceptable. The local Welsh beer was most palatable.
Will call again when in Llandudno.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,792
    611
    148
    59
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came here several times it has a lovely beer garden in the sun. Drinks are reasonably priced and garlic bread is amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterTrustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“high quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

i have had Roast dinners at the cottage loaf several times over a couple of years and they have always been really high standard. the gravy delicious, big portions and very tasty. i went last week with my family and ate during the week. we originally had planed for a cheap and cheerful lunch but there was no room at the place we originally wanted to go so went to the cottage loaf. when we first looked we were a little daunted by the prices but saw the quality of the food other dinners had ordered so decided to go for it. so glad we did, the gourmet burger was stacked up and im told, extremely good. another of our group had the roasted pepper, chickpea & mozzarella burger and was extremely happy with it. i had the oyster lamb, which was one of the most expensive things on the menu so was a bit apprehensive. as soon as it was put in front of me i was instantly glad i had made that choice. the lamb was falling off the bone and the roast potatoes that came with were perfect. again, perfect gravy and veg. the children's menu again on the high pricing side and did not include pudding but there was lots of choice. i would totally recommend the the cottage loaf, the prices are higher than your normal pub food but then so is the quality

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Food and very helpful & accommodating staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stumbled across the Cottage Loaf and ate here a couple of times whilst in Llandudno for a family weekend. It has a perfect location - just off the main Mostyn Street. As it was bank holiday weekend, as you would expect, tables were not being reserved in the evening. We never struggled to find a table though (there were 6 of us plus one in a highchair) but we did eat early in the evening (6pm) before the rush!

Food was very good. I have a couple of food intolerances and unable to eat wheat or dairy, but they were really accommodating and adapted a dish which I could eat. Goes to show that everything is freshly prepared. Special mention to the staff who were all polite, helpful and very accommodating.

People have mentioned here on Trip Advisor that the food prices are high. In fact they are as you would expect to pay in a well kept pub that serves quality food.

The Cottage Loaf has a lovely ambience - rustic charm with a modern feel - and there's outdoor seating at the front and rear of the pub, if, like us, you are fortunate to visit on a warm, sunny day.

We will definitely visit again. Whether it's for a mid morning coffee, light lunch, afternoon drink in the beer garden or for a great supper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second visit - just as good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited the Cottage Loaf again this year and it was just as good!
The pub was very busy but the service was excellent and the food really good. There was 5 of us including 2 young children. The staff were very pleasant and even though the bar was busy we were not kept waiting.
A pub with a great atmosphere and one I can thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Loaf also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Cottage Loaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing