We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Loaf

The Cottage Loaf
Ranked #10 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Pub,Child Friendly,Serving Food All Day,Real Ale,Log Fire,Reservations by Phone or Email,Good Beer Guide 2012
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent pub, for a relaxing drink off the main roads, but well worth hunting down. Great service and reasonably priced. We did not eat but the wide ranging menu and value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,792
    611
    148
    59
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Acountry oasis in the middle of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We took my elderly parents here after being unable to get into "Home cooking" as it was packed, I'm glad we did. This is an old cosy-country pub which looks very out of place down a back street behind the local Witherspoons pub, I suspect that the pub was here before the surrounding buildings unless it's been made to look like something from the Devon countryside. We managed to get a great table up on the balcony area and as we had stuffed ourselves at lunchtime ( this was after 7pm ) we decided on a light snack, my parents wanted a sandwich but on looking at the ( very good ) menu we noticed that they stop serving sandwiches and light bites after 5pm. We asked the bar staff if they would oblige and they duly did, dishing out a chip butty and a cheese and pickle for my dad, each was very generous, so much so that I had to help them out. Me and my other half opted for a shared bowl of fresh mussels done in leek sauce with bacon which was really good except they were not really worth the money at almost £10.00 a bowl, there just wasn't enough or enough mopping-up bread.Despite this, the staff were very efficient and polite and the atmosphere was buzzing, it was a Saturday night, the footy had finished and the bar was a mixture of young and old, families and groups but what a great place. We would eat here again but next time go at lunch and choose something more filling. Well done, highly-recommended!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely meal and exellent value for money. Very busy bustling pub but food was served quickly and efficiently. Good selection of real ales and wine

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless cooking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Visited this pub by chance and we were pleased we did . The interior gives it a very olde world look and feel about it and the staff make you feel very welcome . My partner ordered the Duck and I chose the Seabass . The food arrived pretty quickly and well I have to say we were both very surprised at the standard of the presentation of the meals . They wouldn't look out of place in a rosette establishment ,very impressed . Both dishes tasted as good as they looked and if this pub continues producing food of that quality then it certainly has a bright future . Will definately be returning .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend***”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been to the cottage loaf previously but had been told that it had been done up and they had a new menu, so last Sunday after a lovely walk along the prom we thought we'd give it a go. The entrance to the pub has been done to a high standard, and although no drastic change inside it feels a lot brighter, although still a lovely cosy pub with a roaring fire. As for the food, we both had Sunday dinners, Roast Beef, Yorkshire pudding with all the trimmings, roast vegetable crisps, side vegetables of roast beetroot, baby carrots and cabbage in a cheese sauce, delicious home made gravy. The best home tasting Sunday lunch I've had for a long time. Afterwards we chilled in the garden enjoying a rare sunny day with a lovely bottle of wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Loaf also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Cottage Loaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing