We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel - Disregard negative comments”
Review of Evans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evans Hotel
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel as part of a large tour every year for the last 12 years and have always had outstanding service. Manager and staff are very polite and no request is too difficult. Bedrooms are always clean and the variety of food was very good (excellent breakfasts). Our group takes over the hotel for the weekend and a complete package is always provided that represents outstanding value for money - we have never had any complaints in our group and there is always a waiting list for this annual visit. Please do not let any of the 'few' negative reports deter you - this hotel represents outstanding value for money and I will return for many years to come (as will my collegues).

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoltonDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

We were disappointed with the room as it was in need of refurbishment. The bed linen had seen better days as the bedspreads were falling to pieces. There was a few bits of rubbish in the bin and the carpet had not been cleaned properly. The restaurant staff were absolutely brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were good and the evening meals were cooked to perfection. The evening entertainment was excellent. The shops were just around the corner and everything was to hand - a very good location.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

went to the evans hotel for a short break coach trip with friends . wonderful food and excellent value for money . the food was the best of any that i have had on any other coach holiday. the rooms are a little small but clean and comfortable . when the entertainer cancelled on one of the evenings the barman put on a proffesional disco which we all enjoyed. my first trip to wales and i was surprised at how beautiful it was on our trips out ... too much to see really in our four days there and the hotel was an excellent base to go exploring the country . lots of things to do and see within easy travelling distance. i will go back

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tillyLutonBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My wife and I have just returned home from a five day holiday at this hotel. I have to say that we found everything to be way beyond our expectations. The breakfast and evening meals were really excellent in terms of quality and quantity and the staff could not have been more polite and helpful. The evening entertainment was more than adequate and the "theming" each day was very well organised.

The hotel itself is quite old but has retained all of it's charm. It is really lovely to see an older building which has not suffered from updating attempts which so often lead to failure.

We will definitely use this hotel again if we go back to Llandudno.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We went into the dingy reception, asked the lady there if the room allocated would be reasonably quiet - she first of all pretended not to know what I meant in a very sarcastic manner, then answered very abruptly.
Room- tiny ( tiny bathroom with tiny shower cubicle- no bath) clean ,but with metal chairs that there was no room for, with dangerous sharp edges. VERY noisy extractor fan- most unsatisfacory for what we paid.
Dinner- poor - starter was 3/4 thinly sliced pieces of tomato with vinegar over, soup smelt of old rotted vegetables, beef advertised as 'roast ' was some sort of over stewed stuff.
Bar- dingy - drinks/ wine very overpriced for the surroundings.
Breakfast- one sitting- rang bell -all guests went in - just about adequate cheapest quality sausage, jam etc offered.
This place was hideously overpriced- if we had paid half what we had would say we had got what we had paid for. We can only assume that those who have given a positive review have got it for next to nothing............

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fair1Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

very good friendlly hotel good value for money entertainment good staff very helpful .waiting staff in resturant very good we feel as if we have made friends of all the staff ,we have been to this hotel about 4 times and looking forward to another visit this march

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumSELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We have been stayning at the Evans for over ten years. It is a family run hotel who are constantly updating and refurbishing it to meet high standards,

The family and staff are extremly friendly and accomodating. Special dietry rquirments are catered for, wheel chairs provided on request.
The food is superb and there is always plenty of choice. This weekend we had a starter, then soup followed by choice of chicken, baked ham, vegatable curry or a salad for mains, a variety of desserts tea and coffee. In fact too much choice, all foood served was of high standard and a credit to Helen the chef.

The maids clean the rooms to a high standard and beds are generally all made etc whilst you are eating your breakfast so they do not disturb you.

Entertainment is varied, excellent and suits all ages.

Visitors are welcome and had visited us on many occasios when we have staye dthere however it is only polite to ask managemet prior because of liscencing and insurance etc. Visitors are usually asked to remain in the public areas which I am in full agreement for security, health and safety reasons.

Whilst we were there we booked for the new year. The itenary looks brilliant lots of fun, competitions galore and food, food and more food.

So Llandudno here we come yahoo!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunoon
Dunoon
#28 of 60 in Llandudno
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#45 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evans Hotel

Address: 1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: $113 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Evans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Evans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evans Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing