We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Evans Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
southport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just had another great weekend at the Evans Hotel. As with our previous visits the food was very good,the room was nice and clean but on the small side. The staff, as usual, were very friendly particularly the dining room staff to whom nothing was too much trouble. We are planning to revisit the hotel again next year and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good value hotel in the very pleasant resort of Llandudno.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank plumbobSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    83
    29
    17
    22
See reviews for
26
87
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and 2 friends travelled on a mystery trip and ended up in Evans hotel Llandudno
On arrival we were given our room no:s, keys were in the doors ready, luggage was taken care of
we were able to go straight to our rooms. The food was lovely, staff were very friendly and obliging especially in the dining room, nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed our short stay
very much, the rooms were clean and comfortable, The hotel is conveniently situated near to the shops and seafront. On our departure our luggage was once again taken care of, and our waitresses came out to wave us goodbye and wish us a safe journey, lovely gesture. Overall a very nice hotel, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: No views to speak of as hotel situated in main street, but all clean and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a very pleasant weekend at the Evans Hotel. We were a little unfortunate in that some of the regular facilities were unavailable- due to a cancellation by a coach company. There was no evening entertainment or evening dinner, but as the voucher was for B&B this was of no matter. We would have tried evening dinner ,if it were available, but there were a number of restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was well prepared and pleasantly served, our room was a comfortable size and clean. The staff were unobtrusive but available if needed-and friendly. As my wife has mobility problems we appreciated the efficient lift and the outdoor ramp. When we return to Llandudno we will use the Evans Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vineva39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a warm welcome; the room was clean and had eveything you need with lovely fluffy towels, loads of tea and coffee and well heated. Breakfast was good and served with a smile, and leaving the hotel you only have a short walk into the centre of town.
Excellent for a budget hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spoon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

when we first arrived we was given the keys to our room it already had someone staying in there so the manager upgraded our room which was absolutly lovley for what we paid overall this hotel is good if you just need somewhere to get your head down it perfect clean and friendley x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour party, so were paying a reduced rate.
If we would have paid the full rate we would have felt short changed, but it does seem as though 99% of their business is tour parties.
The bar was a fairly typical seaside small hotel bar - not a great choice, and a bit pricey compared to the local options. With the palladium Wetherspoons and the excellent cottage loaf nearby (and close to the station) you can have a lot more fun for only a short walk, but our oldies were a captive audience and seemed happy with the house white, lager, and mild on offer. Several people did comment that the barstaff were rude, occasionally surly, and prone to mickey taking. This may be northern humour, but our lot didn't really take to it (and another coach party also said the same).
The entertainment was decidely oap friendly, and basically quite poor, but our bunch of over 55s quite liked it... You can't go wrong with bingo and oldies :-)
Breakfast good, but not self service, and portions are strictly controlled. It is possible to get extra orange juice, brown toast etc, but it does seem to upset their work pattern, and is not exactly encouraged. Food pretty good in the evening, 4 courses + coffee, with a good choice - although we were asked to decide at breakfast what we wanted for the evenings meal which was a little odd. Maybe this was because we were in a tour party? The food itself suffered from the kind of thing whereby unused garlic mushrooms from one night became the following nights mushroom soup 'with a hint of garlic' and finally a mushroom risotto, which had a distinctly garlicky vibe, bit was nicely cooked.
The deserts were pretty good, but unused deserts from the previous night tended to make an encore the following night in some form.
But the food was pretty good.
Being part of a tour party, we got to do a lot of room comparisons, and these vary enormously. Some were huge, others were decidely pokey, but judging from their rack rate all seem to be the same price.
They were all fine though, and in a party of 50 the only complaint we had was that some of the 'doubles' were really twins.
Overall, not a bad place, and handily located. Personally, however, I wouldn't pay the advertised rack rate - its really a package tour hotel suited to the over 55s.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sir_travelled_a_lot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Staying at the Evans Hotel was just like Fawlty Towers. Asked fro a single room which waas situated at the very top of the hotel. Bed was clean and plenty of towels. Th bathroom was so small I could sit on the loo and watch TV as you could not close the door. The tea facilities we plentiful but of ceap quality as was the food in the dining room, it was either overcooked or just plain unedible, one of our party could not eat her dinner one evening it was so poor so we snuck in a cheese pasty for her. Choosing your evening meal at breakfast was mind boggling. If you are looking for a hotel that is cheap in character (not in price) reasonably clean with staff that are so obnoquious this is your best bet, mind you we had a good laught about it, and maybe will go for christmas just for the hell of it....... oh bye the way go to witherspoons the drinks are cheaper and the staff friendlier

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Auditor1186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#8 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kinmel Hotel
Kinmel Hotel
#56 of 59 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evans Hotel

Property: Evans Hotel
Address: 1 Charlton Street, Llandudno LL30 2AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Hotel Class:2 star — Evans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Evans Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing