We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evans Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
$104
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$277
$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Tudno Hotel(Llandudno)
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
110
93
32
19
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
93
32
19
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach partycoach tripevening entertainmentmeal timeswaitress servicetrain stationtea and coffeea family run hotelcourse evening mealbit datedgreat weekendbar pricesbreakfast choicesfriendly hotelvisited this hotelroom numberfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 276 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a warm welcome; the room was clean and had eveything you need with lovely fluffy towels, loads of tea and coffee and well heated. Breakfast was good and served with a smile, and leaving the hotel you only have a short walk into the centre of town.
Excellent for a budget hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Spoon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

when we first arrived we was given the keys to our room it already had someone staying in there so the manager upgraded our room which was absolutly lovley for what we paid overall this hotel is good if you just need somewhere to get your head down it perfect clean and friendley x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jadey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour party, so were paying a reduced rate.
If we would have paid the full rate we would have felt short changed, but it does seem as though 99% of their business is tour parties.
The bar was a fairly typical seaside small hotel bar - not a great choice, and a bit pricey compared to the local options. With the palladium Wetherspoons and the excellent cottage loaf nearby (and close to the station) you can have a lot more fun for only a short walk, but our oldies were a captive audience and seemed happy with the house white, lager, and mild on offer. Several people did comment that the barstaff were rude, occasionally surly, and prone to mickey taking. This may be northern humour, but our lot didn't really take to it (and another coach party also said the same).
The entertainment was decidely oap friendly, and basically quite poor, but our bunch of over 55s quite liked it... You can't go wrong with bingo and oldies :-)
Breakfast good, but not self service, and portions are strictly controlled. It is possible to get extra orange juice, brown toast etc, but it does seem to upset their work pattern, and is not exactly encouraged. Food pretty good in the evening, 4 courses + coffee, with a good choice - although we were asked to decide at breakfast what we wanted for the evenings meal which was a little odd. Maybe this was because we were in a tour party? The food itself suffered from the kind of thing whereby unused garlic mushrooms from one night became the following nights mushroom soup 'with a hint of garlic' and finally a mushroom risotto, which had a distinctly garlicky vibe, bit was nicely cooked.
The deserts were pretty good, but unused deserts from the previous night tended to make an encore the following night in some form.
But the food was pretty good.
Being part of a tour party, we got to do a lot of room comparisons, and these vary enormously. Some were huge, others were decidely pokey, but judging from their rack rate all seem to be the same price.
They were all fine though, and in a party of 50 the only complaint we had was that some of the 'doubles' were really twins.
Overall, not a bad place, and handily located. Personally, however, I wouldn't pay the advertised rack rate - its really a package tour hotel suited to the over 55s.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sir_travelled_a_lot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Staying at the Evans Hotel was just like Fawlty Towers. Asked fro a single room which waas situated at the very top of the hotel. Bed was clean and plenty of towels. Th bathroom was so small I could sit on the loo and watch TV as you could not close the door. The tea facilities we plentiful but of ceap quality as was the food in the dining room, it was either overcooked or just plain unedible, one of our party could not eat her dinner one evening it was so poor so we snuck in a cheese pasty for her. Choosing your evening meal at breakfast was mind boggling. If you are looking for a hotel that is cheap in character (not in price) reasonably clean with staff that are so obnoquious this is your best bet, mind you we had a good laught about it, and maybe will go for christmas just for the hell of it....... oh bye the way go to witherspoons the drinks are cheaper and the staff friendlier

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Auditor1186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Two nights at The Evans was not a problem. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom/towels clean and functional. Both the bathroom and room were small with just enough room to use unhindered. It was old fashioned but quite acceptable for a retired couple. A coach party of grey-heads was there but not too noisy. The dining room staff were friendly and polite but the man in Reception was a bit short of friendliness and good humour.
The location is very good and there are many restaurants around the sea front (at the pier end). A car ride away gives you access to many good trips out but unfortunately some of the old Welsh unfriendly attitude still remains in some places.

Room Tip: Good location and not too expensive
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bigbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews