We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to bad”
Review of Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hydro Hotel
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to bad”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel was very good for the disabled so my wife had no stairs to climb, the room was very nice and comfortable, we had a sea view we also used the restaurant each night and morning, food not that good and our waiter served you very well if you gave him a big tip (we did not give him any ) as our food was cold and sometimes he forgot us altogether.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    133
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
64
133
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed at the Hydro on a five day break with Alfa Travel and had an enjoyable stay. The staff are a credit to the hotel especially our waitress Timea who was so pleasant and efficient . the room was comfortable and clean . Hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dellis116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We spent four nights at Easter this year. Having stayed at a Leisureplex hotel before we arrived with a level of expectation and were not disappointed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, although the layout was strange with plenty of room on one side of the bed with very little on the side where the bathroom was. We were surprised by the split level layout and it seems that wherever your room is you will either have to go up some stairs, or down some stairs. Since the lift seems to stop at level in-between. But we enjoyed out stay there and since we like Llandudno we will undoubtably stay there again.

Room Tip: Wherever your room be prepared to climb up, or down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpudRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Been on a Alfa coach holiday with my sister and it proved fabulous. The staff, other residents and
even the assistants in shops were most helpful and friendly. The hotel was comfortable, food most days was delicious(ish). It did my sister a loted near of good as she hasn't been well, we laughed
most of the time,so thanks Alfa and Hydro for making our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Accompanied my mom on an Alfa coach tour.....we stayed here in 2012 and I think the food is of a better quality now.....no, it's not an upmarket restaurant but I had some great meals: fish cake on a bed of spicey veg with a chilli dip, chicken curry and rice, beef and potato pie topped with light puff pastry.....and there was enough plain British food choices to please my mom as well. Waiting staff were extremely busy and worked really hard- at times I felt they needed roller skates!
Our room, 214, was overlooking the seafront and had plenty of storage space. The shower was exceptionally powerful and the room was clean.
Overall, I couldn't find anything to moan about - reception staff were always cheerful and polite as was everyone we encountered. One thing puzzles me about these reviews.....why do they keep mentioning the "average age"????? Yes, there were plenty of senior citizens but there were also teenagers and young children too. We all like our holidays regardless of age. Everyone has their own view of this hotel but I liked it! Thank you.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PurrdyWurrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day holiday at the Hydro Hotel and once again brilliant time had. We have been here a number of times over the past years and have to say we think it is a brilliant Hotel, it is in a good location and is very well run, we have always found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and once again the same this time, simply a brilliant hotel run by brilliant management and staff. Thanks for a great time see you again soon.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRIPPERManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A typical 'old fashioned' hotel, dated, but pleasant to stay at. We had a room at the back, overlooking the car park, but could see the mountains, which was nice. The room was bright although a bit 'tired' looking, but was pleasant enough. The breakfast was nice, with lovely staff serving the meal. We found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. Enjoyable, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel

Property: Hydro Hotel
Address: Nevill Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#27 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hydro Hotel - Llandudno [3 Alpha & AA Three Star Symbols]Ideally placed on the sea front close to the Aberconwy Centre and a short walk from Llandudno's wonderful shops, pier and Happy Valley gardens. Large entertainment suite with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Superb "Looking Glass" bar with views over the bay, sun lounge and games room with snooker. 120 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Many rooms have views over the bay or over the town to the Snowdonian mountains. Lift serves most floors (split level floors mean some stairs to most rooms). Some ground floor rooms available. Car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing