We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“llandudno”
Review of Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hydro Hotel
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed February 23, 2012

good food clean accomadation and resort entertainment for mature eg;pensoiners

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HAPPINESS186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

I booked a 5 day xmas break with Alfa. We were allocated room 324, which was in dire need of refurbishment. The shower leaked on the floor and very small. Mould was present and soap tray in the shower had not been cleaned or in need of replacement. The plug in the sink was so worn, that once you fill up the sink, by the time you have a wash the sink was empty and you had to refill the bowl. There was 1 single wardrobe which in turn was not adequate for 2 people. The food was pre-heated and served on request. Most of the food and puddings were frozen. I ordered rice pudding, which in turn I had to send back. Mr friend ordered the fish, which she had to send back. In the five days we did not have a towel or linen change. The pillows supplied on the beds were not sufficient, there was a spare pillow which had a brown stain on and no pillow case, when cleaner cleaned the room they did not even put a pillow case on. Sellotape was put over the lift button, which in turn makes you think how often are the lifts serviced.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank macroswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We went to the Hydro hotel on a coach trip booked through Alfa. It was a Turkey and Tinsel week and we were not expecting much, just needed a break away.
We got picked up by our driver in our village, he was very informative and helpful. On arrival to the hotel we were welcomed by the manager and our bags were transported to our room.
The room was basic but had all the amenities required and was clean. There was pleanty of tea, coffee and milk and the room was warm with a nice sea view (paid a small amount extra for sea view).
To say that the hotel was full (over 200 people), it never felt like it. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were provided and the waiting staff did a wonderful job of organising and getting the meals out hot and speadily. The choice was not massive but there was definately something for everyone, as expected being a hotel for mainly over 60's there was not curry etc and the portion sizes weren't huge but they were just right and even the men found that they were full by the end of each meal.
We only participated in the entertainment one night and this was the fancy dress night, it was a laugh but the ball room on the lower ground floor is really hot so we found it more comfortable sitting in the looking glass bar on the comfortable seats.
I feel the organisation of this holiday from start to finish was excellent and I actually feel that I have had a holiday. I can understand why many many older people book on these organised trips every year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank knoble070511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We visited the hotel with 40 others on a Friday to Monday Tinsel and Turkey break. We stayed in room 221 which, although in need of refurbishment (especially the shower room), was perfectly acceptable and most of the rooms occupied by the rest of our party were actually better.
The staff were extremely efficient and hardworking and the whole event was extremely well organised. Apart from the General Manager most of the staff seemed to be Eastern European nationals who all, without exception, worked extremely hard, spoke very good English and were friendly and very polite. They made the experience very enjoyable and we are already considering this vebue for our 2012 Xmas break.
The hotel was clean and warm throughout and the food was excellent. I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone without fear of disappointment.

Room Tip: Just take your chances - I didn't see any bad ones.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vintage_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. It is common for people to post reviews when they are unhappy so it is very kind of you to take the time and trouble to say thank you. I am pleased to confirm that room 221 is one of 15 rooms to benefit from refurbishment in January as part of our annual refurbishment programme. In room 221 we will be replacing the bathroom suite, enlarging the bathroom, rewiring and redecorating the bedroom and replacing the TV with a flat screen digital TV. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked with Alpha but self drove. We were given room 117 which was very small for a double but we got used to it. The bathroom again was small but was recently refurbished as was the bedroom and we thought it was done very well and everything was very clean. The food was very good and served hot. The Christmas decor was bright and colourful. The evening entertainment was OK but the dance floor got very crowded. We had so many laughs and enjoyed our stay. Definately will go back again next year.

Room Tip: book twin rooms - they will be more spacious than a double room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have just returned from a festive week end I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very good disabled access from main entrance wheel chair lift or from level entrance on rear car park. Excellent food (I will have to diet so shed the pounds I have put on) Very clean well decorated rooms, Very good entertainment. We went as part of a large private group no one in our group had any complaints WELL DONE Manager Robert and your fantastic team we will return !! Next door to Public swimming pool, and Theatre (Venue Wales) has own ballroom nice bar Excellent dining room plenty of sun lounges will arrange hire of mobility scooters.

Room Tip: Book sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

.just got back from the turkey and tinsel week at the hydro hotel it was great.hotel is nice and clean and the food you could not complain about. the rooms are clean and very big and the bathrooms are clean to .the staff were great mostly foriegn but they could all speak good english and nothing was to much trouble for them.they have updated alot of things since last year in the hotel .we had a waitress called anna and she was lovely nothing was to much for her to help you.we have booked for next year already and hopefully we might get a sea front room as it is the only one we have not stayed in yet.would advise anyone to go there to stay as it was lovely and friendly, have been going for the last 4 years and will be going for alot more years yet . love it xx

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydro Hotel

Address: Nevill Crescent, Llandudno LL30 1AS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#27 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hydro Hotel - Llandudno [3 Alpha & AA Three Star Symbols]Ideally placed on the sea front close to the Aberconwy Centre and a short walk from Llandudno's wonderful shops, pier and Happy Valley gardens. Large entertainment suite with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Superb "Looking Glass" bar with views over the bay, sun lounge and games room with snooker. 120 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Many rooms have views over the bay or over the town to the Snowdonian mountains. Lift serves most floors (split level floors mean some stairs to most rooms). Some ground floor rooms available. Car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing