We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my birthday”
Review of Carlo's Restaurant

Carlo's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 208 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“my birthday”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

once again we had a excellent meal with great service, a good menu to choose from, and not forgetting the wine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank thesinger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    56
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it either!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited Carlos this weekend and this was my 3rd visit in the last 6 months! I came first of all with my mum and sister whilst in wales for the weekend and the food and service was fantastic. I then came back with my husband and our friends and our friend still 'raves' about the food now and tells everyone how fantastic the scollops were and the main course fish! We then visited last weekend, just my husband and I, and we were not let down. I don't normally have fish but I went for the monkfish goujons with a lemon mayo dip and they were beautiful; my husband had the scollops :) I then had chicken and pepper sauce and my husband had the half rack of lamb and they were both fantastic! Unfortunately we were too full for dessert as I could see from other peoples that they were all freshly made and looked lovely...maybe next time I will skip the starter and have a dessert.......... :) The wine is fantastic too as are the staff and how they 'rhyme off' the specials boards is a skill :) We will certainly be going back in the future on our next visit to Wales....roll on the caravan season :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it........”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed to read some poor reviews about this restaurant as we couldn't fault it!! We happened upon this place as I had been recommended to try it by a local resident. We were working at the theatre and needed to eat before going to work, they don't normally open until 5.30pm but agreed to open up early for us, the staff were very friendly and the food was lovely, we enjoyed it so much we went back the following night and as I'd enjoyed the lasagne and sundried tomato and parmesan salad so much I had it again!! We'll definitely be back when we return to the theatre in April.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiletto64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Carlo's is hidden down a back street away from the town centre but it's well worth seeking out. We ate on a sunday evening during a long weekend break and were glad we did. The decor and atmosphere make for a relaxing meal and the presence of regular diners is always a good sign. The menu is varied and interesting being slightly different from the majority of Italian restaurants. My pasta was perfectly cooked with a rich tomato sauce and my wife's mushroom dish was pronounced excellent. House wine was good too. Look forward to a return visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martiand45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not great !”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went to Carlo's with friends who had dined there before. Really looking forward to going but very disappointed with the food. Beautiful restaurant. Attentive staff. Decided to try the Porcini Mushroom Risotto. Should have quite strong flavours with the mushrooms, the wine and the parmesan. Maybe they had a different chef doing the cooking on Sunday evening, but the risotto lacked just about everything including the porcini mushrooms. It certainly wasn't seasoned enough and I couldn't taste any wine if it had been added. There may have been the odd porcini mushroom in the rice (which was the colour of porridge) but it didn't taste of anything resembling a risotto. Why were there button mushrooms perched on top. The parmesan shavings were about the best bit of the dish and they were few and far between. All in all, a very poor meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wmoiraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Carlo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing