We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Llandudno's little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlo's Restaurant

Carlo's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Llandudno's little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Love love love this restaurant, another fantastic meal last night and the cheesecake was to die for!!! friendly staff, perfect atmosphere, very good value for your money and we can't wait for our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nerys j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    54
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
301 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant but book early.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Carlo's is a truly magnificent little Italian restaurant tucked away in Craig-Y-Don, Llandudno. The father & son team are wonderful hosts but as it's always busy then book early, at least a week in advance.
The atmosphere here is fun and everyone always seems to be enjoying themselves. The meals are delicious, portion sizes are very generous and good value for your money. Sides of freshly cooked vegetables arrive with the mains so be careful when ordering extra side dishes.
Without a shadow of a doubt, Carlo's deserves 5/5 and I can't wait until I come back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good food, good surroundings. Friendly welcome. Huge portions. Always worth a visit. Consider the specials menu too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Themathdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A will never come back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I tried to eat in Carlo's but was impossible. I went to the restaurant with my father on a friday night and the place was not full. We order a Risotto Marinara (£13.95) and a Gamberoni Spiedino (£19.95). After 45 minutes they brougth one wrong and we order to change. After more 20 minutes, they came with the other wrong. So, we desist and went to another restaurant. Another bad thing in the restaurant was the sound too much lound with a italian music. Definitely, I'll never come back to Carlo's. It was a bad experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Carlo's this week. We didn't have a booking but they were able to accommodate us.
We started with the special entree of cod gougons with tartare sauce. Beautiful fish and a large portion. My husband had the prawns and avocado - a really nice delicate dish.
For mains we had the ravioli and the pappardelle carbonara. Once again, very generous portions. I was unable to finish mine but very flavoursome.
The decor is pleasant and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

Highly recommend this restaurant to others. Maybe make a reservation though - it did get busy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyharpoon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carlo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing