We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an enjoyable stay a friendly welcoming place.”
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We have stayed at the carmel quite a few times over the last few years. probally stayed in every room and we can honestly say every room has been excellant The whole place is completly spotless. Neil and Gillian are both friendly and welcoming and it seems nothing is too much trouble .The breakfasts are lovely always with plenty on offer. The view from the rooms is spectacular to wake up and just see the sea from your window is a great start to the day. In the evening you can see the pier and orme lit up another lovely view. Easy access to the motorway so a great base for site seeing around Wales. All in all a place well worth staying .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

From arrival to departure Neil could not do enough for us. We stopped for 2 nights at the end of November along with my wifes parents. The food was excellent with homemade yogurt for breakfast and a "full Welsh" if you wanted it. We ate in the Bistro on the Saturday night (along with a party of 10 ladies) and we were astounded at the quality of the cooking, presentation and service all at a reasonable price, really you would have paid at least double elsewhere.

The only downside, if you can call it that, was that, even with the heating on, it got a little chilly but to be fair the hotel isn't generally open during the winter and in the short term the owners are planning on installing double glazing, and anyway it was probably the coldest weekend of the year up to that point.

We would absolutely not hesitate to stop here again although it would be when the weather is a lot warmer next year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayTr1pp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

A small group of us stayed at this hotel after a strenuous days walking. The welome was very warm and hospitable. The food was fantastic, both breakfast and dinner and the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean even down to the fluffy towels! I would most certainly recommend this hotel to others and will be staying again if I ever return to Llandudno.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

we stayed at the carmel for 3 nights and was greeted by Gill who showed us to our room wow what a view.
Nice room and excellent breakfast nothing was too much trouble for neil we ate in the bistro on the saturday night and the food was to die for pity it was closed sunday and monday but Neil recommended Osborne house and the food was equally as good.
Llandudno was a lovely traditional seaside town went up the great Orme on the cable car great views well worth it
we will go back again to Llandudno even if we use it as a base to travel around north Wales

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Having visited Llandudno many times as a child (my grandparents lived here), I decided that I wished to visit again to celebrate my birthday. When searching for the perfect place to stay, I had very specific requirements. I wanted a hotel on the main promenade, with a room that had a king size bed and a bay window overlooking the sea - The Carmel delivered this.
The view was breathtaking, probably one of the best on the bay. There was a nicely placed table and comfy chairs to have a cup of tea whilst watching the world go by with a pair of binocculars that were also provided. The bed, whilst king size was very bouncy, which was not good with a restless sleeping partner. I disagree with a previous comment about it being too big for the room. The shower, which was mentioned by another reviewer was still having problems, so I had to have a shower in cold water. We mentioned this to Neil when leaving, and he said he plans to replace it in the winter. The room was spotless, with many nice touches such as cotton buds and makeup pads.
The breakfasts were delicious. The home made yoghurt was very tasty, and the generous cooked breakfast cooked perfectly with quality ingredients. The only thing that let the breakfast down was the coffee. As regular filter coffee drinkers, we were pretty sure that the coffee was ground instant, which was a shame.
Neil was charming and friendly, greeting all of the guests by name and having little chats with everyone. We would definitely stay again, and hopefully not leave it so long until next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystaltipps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife Sue booked this hotel at very short notice and so glad she did, the hotel is incredibly clean with every attention to detail including makeup wipes and cotton buds in the bathroom, fantastic freshly cooked breakfast to start the day, Sue commented that Gill's homemade yogurt was very nice indeed, Neil is very hospitable and nothing is too much trouble, we cannot recommend this hotel enough, go try it for yourself.
Paul & Sue, West Midlands.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizardskins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife and myself booked 2 nights Bed & Breakfast for our Wedding Anniversary and we found exactly the right place to stay. The owners Neil & Gillian Pond couldn't have been more friendly-the accomodation and food were excellent-we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#56 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#21 of 146 in Llandudno
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairhaven Christian Hotel
Fairhaven Christian Hotel
#116 of 146 in Llandudno
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Address: 17 Craig y Don Parade | Conwy, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmel is a relaxed & comfortable family owned hotel located on llandudno's stunning promenade. We have a wide variety of rooms, some benefiting from panoramic sea views. We take great pride in knowing that, where possible, the ingredients used for our breakfast & evening menu is locally sourced and freshly prepared on the premises by a qualified chef, giving you a true taste of wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing