We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and lovely owner”
Review of Carmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Hotel
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed June 20, 2011

From our arrival at the Carmel hotel, we had a lovely two nights. Neil the owner greeted me by name at the door, showed us round the room and gave us all the info we needed.
Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and Neil was happy to change the breakfasts to our needs.
There is a bar with a good choice of wines, Neil stayed and had a chat with us while we were having a bottle of wine, decent price too.
The bed we had was so comfy I could have stayed there all day!
There is a small car park at the back, also plenty of free parking on the surrounding roads, a small shop within 2 minutes walk.
All in all, a lovely hotel, within 10 minutes walk of the town centre and pier/amusements, we would definitely go back if we are in the area again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clair_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were staying in a nearby hotel but needed an evening meal, and Llandudno was almost full on this Saturday evening!! We called in at Carmel Bistro and were delighted that a table was free. We were really impressed with the food, and the ambience of the dining room and thoroughly enjoyed our meal from beginning to end! Neil Pond was the perfect host and we chatted as we ended our evening to go back to our hotel. We will certainly make plans to stay there and I am sure we will enjoy the stay as much as we enjoyed the food! We would recommend the Carmel to anyone wanting excellent food and a genuinely sincere reception.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Nova4song_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Have just stayed at The Carmel Hotel, ... our second visit, very welcoming place, spotlessly clean, The decor is lovely and the hosts, Neil and Gill Pond, are incredibly friendly and hospitable.

Neil and Gill are lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble, with lots of coffee and tea in the room.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5. King Size Sleigh Bed brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners. Clean and tidy hotel and great food in the Bistro.

We will definately return to stay at The Carmel next time we are in Llandudno.

Room Tip: Room #5 has an excellent sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I spent last weekend at the Carmel Hotel and were really bowled over with the level of comfort and friendliness. The decor is lovely and the hosts, Neil and Gill Pond, are incredibly friendly and hospitable.
Gill is a professional chef and it shows in her cooking - we had breakfast and dinner in the Bistro on both nights because the cooking was so great and the portions were extremely generous. Additionally, it' the little things that count though -tons of coffee and tea in the room so no niggling about having to eke out 4 portions of coffee over 24 hours; nice touches such as cotton buds and cleaning wipes for your specs; lovely real welsh ales and nice red wine in the bar plus a book case from which to browse.Both Neil and Gill are lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble.Their assistant Ana was also a real star
The parking is a dream and there is a bus stop handily at the rear of the hotel which runs every 30 mins to Conwy and is a lovely ride if you don't fancy the drive. I can see that there are lots of hotels in LLandudno but I doubt that there are as many as comfortable as the Carmel-quite simply, I think Neil and Gill run it as they would wish it to be if they were paying guests and this consideration really shows. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed one night at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the hotel proprietors. Hotel is very clean and decor is completed to a very high standard. We ate in the bistro Saturday evening the meal was absolutely superb. The breakfast the following morning was also superb with a choice from the menu on the cooked breakfast. Would recommend this hotel. Location is great and very handy for a walk along the sea front before breakfast.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank JacquieD187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We have stayed at the carmel quite a few times over the last few years. probally stayed in every room and we can honestly say every room has been excellant The whole place is completly spotless. Neil and Gillian are both friendly and welcoming and it seems nothing is too much trouble .The breakfasts are lovely always with plenty on offer. The view from the rooms is spectacular to wake up and just see the sea from your window is a great start to the day. In the evening you can see the pier and orme lit up another lovely view. Easy access to the motorway so a great base for site seeing around Wales. All in all a place well worth staying .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#56 of 60 in Llandudno
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#27 of 146 in Llandudno
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairhaven Christian Hotel
Fairhaven Christian Hotel
#115 of 146 in Llandudno
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Hotel

Address: 17 Craig y Don Parade | Conwy, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmel is a relaxed & comfortable family owned hotel located on llandudno's stunning promenade. We have a wide variety of rooms, some benefiting from panoramic sea views. We take great pride in knowing that, where possible, the ingredients used for our breakfast & evening menu is locally sourced and freshly prepared on the premises by a qualified chef, giving you a true taste of wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Carmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing