We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winchmore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
$180
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$477
$335
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$105
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
$143
$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Clontarf Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merrion Hotel(Llandudno)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
343
138
57
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
138
57
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcard trickssea viewtoastwet roomevening mealsea fronteasy accessfamily roomvenue cymruon arrivalprunesonly stayed one nightenjoyable staybreakfast was excellentexcellent hotelbooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 571 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just stayed for one night 28th December, The Winchmore Hotel is a well managed traditional Victorian Hotel, right on the sea front. Stayed in room 17, rooms and lounge recently renovated to a good standard. We were told that the rest is planned to be redecorated early 2014. Very helpful staff, especially worth a mention Sarah on reception. Happy to cater for special diet, even though we were for 1 night only.
Hotel clean and tidy, breakfast good quality.
Happy to recommend and hope to return soon.
You've all done very well!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARTIN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. This was our first time open at Christmas & New Year and it was a great success! The new bar as you saw is in and all the rest will be completed for the new Season including the new Entertainment/Function room. We cater for all diets, something which is essential in a good Hotel? We do hope to see you again sometime this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We took our granddaughter age 8 for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year. Nicky was great and everything felt very stress free which is great and just what we needed. The food was good, we were able to park and we didnt want to leave. Our room was warm and cosy and the only minor problem was that we had no shower but as we were the only 2 days it wasn't a major issue. Tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate were in abundance (very unusual in most hotels) and I would love to come back to The Winchmore again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Many thanks for your great review it was a real pleasure to meet you all and AnnieRae was a poppet. Most of our rooms have walk in showers but we have a handful with bath as some people still prefer them. Next time (we hope there is a next time) make sure you request a shower. The car park of course is a great asset especially in the height of the season. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lovly hotel...very friendly staff greeted by Nikkie who explained everythink we needed to know ...breakfast lovly somethink for everyone .....bar New Year's Eve great ...friendly staff .drinks very good price ..thank you will stay again ...the only downfall was how high of the floor our toilet was it was 5inches of the floor on two pieces of wood myself and my husband each have little legs but u know that's it everythink was. Great.....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Karen, thank you for your review it was great to meet you both. Forgot to ask, how was the Indian? If you read a couple of the other responses, you will see that this was our first time open during the Festive Season; it went so well we are doing it again! We hope that the guests are as friendly, next time it was a real party atmosphere? The room you were in, although with brand new en suite, had a Victorian pipe problem!!! We had to place the toilet on a plinth (in fact only a couple of inches!) to ensure it functioned correctly. However you did make us laugh with your comment about your little legs!! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for a great weekend. Hotel surperb staff very friendly facilities excellent 2* hotel with 4* quality fosters lager very good nothing to much trouble staff on hand all the while. Excellent breakfast each morning rooms very clean television tea or coffee maker in room thanks again to nikki and staff

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 1440paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your great comments. This was our first Christmas and New Year as you know, but everything was so good with great guests like yourselves, we are already taking bookings for Christmas 2014 and already have 5 guests booked in! Next year we will have our Entertainments lounge up and running too! In fact it will be completed within the next 4 weeks ready for our programme of events for 2014, including, 60’s nights, nightly entertainment, weddings, private celebrations etc. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and in the meantime wish you a Very Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip adviser me and my wife where looking forward to a nice weekend In Llandudno in between Christmas and new year. we arrived having my wife spoken to the owner the previous evening and moving us into a sea view room so we where exited. we checked out the room and yes it was small but clean except for a couple of bad stains on the carpet, we parked the car and fetched in our things. we then went out for some dinner as it was getting late. it was not till we started using things or trying to use them that things went down hill. the toilet holder in the bathroom fell off it was held in by tape. we then turned on the television, we could not watch anything on the BBC or lots of other programs but i thought that might be because of the bad winds outside so i thought i would not mind until the morning when the winds died down, but it was worse in the morning so me being technical thought i would re program it but this made no difference. then we tried to turn on the light on behind the bed, they did not work. we drew the curtains hooks where missing, then in the morning we tried to have a shower, it looked good as it was a nice big shower head? except hardly anything came out of the shower if turned to hot, the thing is i do not normally moan, but on this occasion i must say, sorry to have to say this room No 10 by the way needs upgrading, and the best of it we paid extra to have this room !!

Room Tip: don't go
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Well, what can we say? This appears to be a case of you’ can please some of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time’! Nothing in this Hotel is held on by tape! The TV possibly the weather, the lights the bulbs had gone! The shower- not working properly? When you arrived, as with all guests, we said please tell us if there is anything you are not happy with and give us a chance to put it right! You reported NONE of these to reception and furthermore on check out you were asked, ‘was everything all right’ to which the reply was ‘fine thank you’! Apart from the obvious reason when we ask guests to let us know if anything is wrong, it also helps us to ensure any problems can be rectified immediately for following guests, it is called preventative maintenance. With regard to the price - £35 per person per night for bed breakfast in a sea view room during the Festive Season is not value for money??!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews