We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent family run hotel, very friendly service, food excellent. Rooms very clean and comfortable, car parking available, second year we have stayed and have already planned to return in 2014. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and very welcome following the negative one previously! It was a pleasure to see you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 535 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the winchmore hotel for one night to attend a family anniversary in Llandudno and my father in law had booked the rooms well in advance and 'booked' sea views.
When we arrived Nicky was on the phone and completely ignored us, even turning her chair away from us to continue a conversation about the 'Turkey and tinsel brigade'. Eventually she turned her attention to us but when my father in law said we have booked sea view rooms she said 'you'll be lucky, you are at the back'.
Our bathroom floor was dirty and sticky so we asked Nicky if it could be cleaned and she said ' are you sure'!!
We returned to the room to find it had been mopped but the room key was in the door and it was unlocked! I told the lad on reception and he asked 'was anything taken' I said I did not think so and he said ' it's not a problem then is it?' ...
In the evening we decided to have a drink in the bar when we returned from dinner... The barman bit our head off when we asked for ice in our drinks! He tutted and said 'why didn't you say before I poured them?' ... Maybe we got the staff on a bad day but all in all our stay was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparklysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

In the service Industry we are not allowed to have ‘bad days’! Firstly we are very sorry if reception being on the telephone held you up, re the Turkey & Tinsel Brigade, however we do not do them? If you had booked sea view rooms you would have had confirmation of same and been given sea view rooms? Never would reception speak like that to a guest even the most discerning. The bathroom floor we remember vividly. You reported that it was sticky and could we address? The response was oh, are you sure, we are so very sorry, that is inexcusable and instruction was given to housekeeping with minutes and addressed within 15! The young gentleman you refer to was assisting on reception that day and he is very polite and accommodating, his response would certainly not have been a tossed aside remark. In think what he was saying was everything is ok then! We are sorry if you mistook his response. Lastly the barman remembers your party very well, as do we all. In your drinks order you requested a coke to which he asked ‘would you like ice’ you said no. Then you changed your mind, not a problem, but if you put ice in after coke it fizzes up, his response was just knowledge in no way detrimental!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

just had a weekend away at this hotel, there was a problem with the booking and we were 1 room short. Nicky the hotel manager was fantastic and did her very best to sort out our problems. we had 1 of our party transferred to a hotel close by at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareTStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, you really were a great bunch! It was a pleasure to be able to sort Nick out, although we would have been happier obviously if the system had not made the error! Thank you for the photos they are geat. See you ALL again hopefully in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I didn.t need to see the room in advance,when a 91 year old lady say,s it,s good believe me it,s good .mobility not a problem drive straight into bed, the rooms were some of the cleanest i have ever seen which must require alot of dedication they were spotless the service was exellent with pleasant staff plenty of food and didn,t have to wait we orded sandwiches to take out and they were there in a flash,for us the winchmore hotel Llandudno scores 10 out of 10 many thank,s for having us we look forward to coming again.Dave and Lilly Hines Baschurch and Nantwich

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so very much for the kind words and amazing review! We would love to know who the 91yr old lady was? We have a good team who take the job very seriously, although we cannot be perfect all the time we continually strive to make sure our guests are happy, after all ‘YOUR HOLIDAY IS OUR BUSINESS’ We really enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the winchmore
early August and had a brilliant time.our sea view room was excellent,hotel very clean and welcoming.Lovely breakfast super service.Our young grandchildren and their parents joined us for one night the staff were more than helpful just fantastic.All the staff were very polite helpful and very friendly we shall return .A big thank you to Mike, Sarah and all the staff keep up the good work thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments it gives us all a great boost. We are pleased you had a good time here with the family, the grandchildren certainly seemed to be enjoying themselves. We will consistently strive to improve and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

booked in to this hotel for two nights on our way back to Scotland for the stena home . we could not fault this hotel it is so warm and friendly we had two great nights sleep rooms are really comfortable and kept spotless all the staff are very friendly . on the night of our arrival young jack was at front of desk and was very very helpful we found two great restaurants with his help would highly recommend the winchmore to anyone faultless keep up the great work .

Room Tip: great rooms and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigrig1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness and staff attitude is very important to us, so great comments are always a boost. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed the restaurant! You may have seen from another comment ‘there is nowhere decent to eat near Hotel!’ We will certainly strive to keep up the good work and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited the hotel overnight on 11 September. We found the hotel to be in a great position overlooking the promenade and only a few minutes walk from the main shopping area. there was ample car parking witch was a huge advantage when visiting the town. The staff were all very friendly both on arrival and in the bar during the evening.
The room was adequate for our stay, overlooking the promenade and comfortable.
The breakfast was hot and the staff friendly but please speed the toaster up !! other visitors also commented, but if this is the only negative comment then it shows how much we enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philedric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at The Winchmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Many thanks for the great review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. This as we have said before gives the staff a great boost. Re the toaster, thank you for the tip. It is guest comments like this that give us the information to change, amend, improve etc the overall guest experience, so thanks for that. Next time you come, with new toaster please let us know it is better!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#21 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,441 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing