We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel approximately 3-4 weeks ago. We booked through Late Rooms and took a standard double. When we arrived we parked easily around the back of the hotel where there is plenty of on street parking. We were delighted to find room 124 had a sea view - it was a real surprise and not expected. The room was large, clean, well equipped and plenty of tea/coffee etc. We had a cracking little shower which was hot all times we used it and a TV. We watched the Eastbourne Carnival go pass through the conservatory windows and made good use of the resident's lounge areas. Tea and coffee was complimentary to guests staying at the hotel which was a real treat as we love a good cuppa! Breakfast was more than satisfactory - you choose from a card and you are waited on. Good choice although, people with a bigger appetite may have preferred to help themselves if it was self service. I had no concerns as I'm not a big eater. The hotel was quiet at night, we slept very comfortably and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is brilliantly situated for everything in Eastbourne. A wonderful time - guest - 009263

Room Tip: We had room 124 - with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DangerMouse1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hilton Royal Parade and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    114
    141
    100
    195
See reviews for
103
284
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We chose to have our wedding reception here after initially meeting with Debbie and then Ewelina. Ewelina went out of her way to make sure that we had everything as we had arranged and a few little extras as well. This hotel has recently been refurbished but has been done in the main part to a high standard. The food was fantastic and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. The fact that it overlooks the beach is a bonus and the price is not one that will bankrupt you for life. We loved the fact that we were able to have our wedding breakfast overlooking the beach and then a separate room for the disco and an area where people could sit and chill out if they wanted to. Our room was lovely we slept in the biggest bed ever and it overlooked the seafront. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Just a small recommendation is that toiletries could be provided in the room as this is the one thing we forgot :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Charlotte,

We are so happy we could be part of your special day. I am very pleased to hear everything went well. Please come back and join us on any anniversaries or special occasions in the future.

Kind Regards

Ewelina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great hotel on the front at Eastbourne near to the Pier. The service was great and the room comfortable. We received dinner as well as breakfast as part of a Late Rooms deal. However, the portions were extremely small and basic. I would stay here again although on a Bed and Breakfast basis.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are of the same standard request a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balconeybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Royal Parade. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here but disappointed to hear the dinner wasn't to your liking. In the very near future we are opening a new restaurant, part of the hotel but also open to the general public. Here the menu will be a la carte and I'm sure you will find something to your taste. We hope you visit us again and have the chance to try this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Good - Clean hotel, cheap, decent breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff, lovely sea view, good location on the seafront

The Bad - entertainment (!) was extremely loud and not great - maybe it could have been in another room so that guests that prefer to have a relaxing evening at the bar could also spend time there, parking is a nightmare, bathroom far too small and split into two separate rooms with doors that do not shut, double bed was actually two singles put together

Overall - cheap and clean if everywhere else is too expensive! You definitely will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RnM_Adventure_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I understand you have had a mixed reaction to your stay here at the Hilton Royal Parade. The hotel boasts a number of quieter rooms for guests such as yourself who are not interested in the entertainment and if you asked a member of staff they would have guided you there. I'm very sorry to hear your room wasn't quite up to what you were expecting and I will be personally looking into the issues you have relayed to us. I hope you visit us again to see the changes.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The rooms are tiny, dirty and very 'old'. We have traveled the world, and stayed in some awful places. However, we checked out only 20mins of being here. The best thing about the place is they offered a refund! I'm amazed they've done it up- it must have been done at night, with the lights off! Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wylstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's unfortunate to say but you didn't even give us a chance. You demanded a refund within minutes of being here, which we were happy to do as we do not like to see unhappy customers. We urge you to visit us again when you have more time.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

aylesbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel recently taken over with new management, very clean hotel with good entertainment every night, food good and the waiters and waitresses excellent, one only drawback is it is quite a walk from the town centre which sometimes isnt a bad thing, there is a little train which goes upand down the main rd which can be caught from outside the hotel. good transport links from eastbourne we caught a train to brighton just 34 mins all in all i wish them all success in their new venture at the Hilton Royal Parade. Thankyou

Room Tip: Over looking is probably the best although we didnt see other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Royal Parade and hope you visit us again soon.

Thank You

Ps. If we moved the hotel closer to town you would lose your lovely sea view and miss the best part of sunny Eastbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived at the Hilton on 5.4.13, We were greeted by a real nice lady in reception, with our key card. The room was very nice, clean , and towels in the shape of a swan. The food was good and the service was very good. The lounge and entertainment was very nice too. We will no doubt book again, Thanks to all the staff, you did us proud. Allan stubbs.

Room Tip: Try and get room 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harriet255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP_Management, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mr Stubbs,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Royal Parade and we hope to see you here again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#32 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#30 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing