We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, shame about the place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived 7-20pm after an 11 hour coach journey. Told we could not access our room even to freshen-up because dinner service finished in 10 minutes.
Room small, bathroom even smaller. No room to swing a kitten. Washbasin was the tiny size you fit in a house size downstairs toilet. Broken (dangerous) power socket. Cracked windows.
Fire alarm went off three times. Last time was 2-00 in the morning. After spending time out on the pavement we were told it was another false alarm. Just as well as the guests that had assumed it was a false alarm were watching us from their rooms. Had it been a real fire it would have been a disaster. The night staff (one young eastern European chap) did not know what to do. A guest ended up ringing the fire brigade.
Last morning we were being picked up early. After confirming with reception the night before that an early breakfast was OK we arrive in the dining room and the kitchen had not been informed. Fortunate there were only 4 of us and not a full coach load of 50 or so. .

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    114
    141
    100
    196
See reviews for
103
285
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently held our Wedding reception at the Hilton Royal, and had a great time. We feel some of the previous comments here seem quite unfair, so please do not believe everything you read.

A few of us arrived the day before, the rooms were all ready for us on arrival, and were to a good standard. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that our evening meals were also included in our room price. Unfortunately a few options on the menu weren't available, however we didn't let this worry us, and actually joked about it amongst ourselves, all the food was very nice and cooked well, and served very quickly.

On the day of our wedding, staff were on hand to help the day run smoothly, and were checking if there was anything else they could do to help. The setup of the restaurant was lovely, and the food served in the evening was very good, and there was plenty of it, as a few of us had seconds, we had no complaints from any of our guests.

Particular thank you's go to Debbi and Ewelina, you both did a great job for us, and clearly put in a lot of hard work.

We would definately stay here again, and once all the renovations are complete, this hotel will be amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having researched Eastbourne Hotels it has been obvious that the Hilton and Royal Parade Hotel has experienced many challenging reviews. Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend the wedding of our niece in Eastbourne and experience the wedding reception here at The Hilton And Royal Parade.
The manageress and staff were polite,helpful and enthusiastic to cater for all of our needs.
This is a hotel which is being upgraded and the progress is encouraging. Parking is right outside the hotel and access to the seafront, pier and town are close by.
The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and very comfortable.
We would like to commend the Manageress and staff for organising a lovely wedding reception experience and we would use this hotel again.
Constructive criticism would be kitchen related as far as keeping enough stock to cater for day to day menu's. This can be easily rectified and the food delivered was good.
Food for the wedding was hot, plentiful and delicious.
Onwards and upwards for The Hilton And Royal Parade and great value for money.
Cliff Geoghegan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliffy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has potential but at the moment is undergoing renovations that make a stay there quite entertaining! Staff are brilliant - so helpful and friendly - but totally overworked. This meant that one girl was covering reception, bar and dining room - and as the hotel is converted from three adjoining houses it's a long walk for her between the three areas.
If you've seen "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" you'll recognise some situations. There was only one key for our bedroom (no staff key for cleaners or emergencies) so when I left it in the room by mistake a workman had to use hammer and chisel to break in and get it for me.
We had a sea view, lovely big bay window - but it had a very, very heavy dark brown curtain covering the centre panes so we couldn't see out. The curtain was fixed in place, couldn't be pulled to one side, so we peered out of the small side windows to look at the sunset.
There's only a very tiny handbasin for washing/shaving/filling kettle. The kettle is a standard full-sized version that can't possible go under the tap to be filled, so we had to fill it gradually using a cupful at a time.
But as this hotel is a work in progress it would be unfair to complain too much. A sense of humour helps and we'll be back in a year or so to see how things have changed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as the hotel is on the seafront and the views of sunset and sunrise are great. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallopingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is not the best out of season
Firstly, No brown bread for toast at breakfast
Secondly, Only corn flakes or weatabix
Thirdly, lift needs attention
Fourthly, work going on and drill and banging all morning
Fith, no one at desk when checking in, had to wait until receptionist came on from outside
Sixth, en suite was size of a cupboard, had to dry myself in the bedroom
I paid top price to get a good room, very dissapointed , although the room was clean and tidy, wasn't really big enough for 2 people as only one chair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydnee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

in the past i have stayed there a few times and had a good experience . we virtually booked the whole hotel for our wedding and used all of its rooms including the night club.
anything that could of gone wrong did so and even the food had no resemblance to what we had tasted at the rehersal lunch
we had 80 guests for the day which clearly they could not cope with also everything we were told would be finished from when we booked which was the february till the august date wasnt done.
Do not be fooled by the lady Debbie who is or hopefully not now the manager . sooo very very unorganised !!!!!
we gave them special requests to not run out of certain spirits and champagnes , well they did by 11pm inf act at the end of the evening they had ran out of everything!!!!!!

there is a lovely girl their called Evelina who really should be running everything there and the only one who seems to know what they are doing ...

to be honest dont give people the chance to help themselves to get a good revue on here as they clearly take no note of this site .....My partner and I didnt let it spoil our day or our guests day. but in the end it is a hotel and if you want your guests to keep saying its only somewhere to put your head for the night and not the special day!!!!! all through your wedding day then please take our advise and book somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9191929292929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

having just returned from a selfdrive break to eastbourne we cannot say we were not told of the ongoing refurbishment going on.so we went hoping for the best. we were not dissappointed, from the start the staff were very helpful and soon got us sorted with the parking. our room was large and very clean and tidy, with a strong wind blowing and pouring wih rain also warm. food was plentiful and well cooked but with a small coach party there as well nothing would please them. the service was excellent and could not be faulted. we are regulars on this type of break and not forgetting what you pay it was excellent value. we wish the hotel all the very best with the refurb and will definetly be back

Room Tip: do not forget it is an ongoing refurb and trust the staff to give you the best available, they are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#29 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing