We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Bed and Breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocklynge Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment you arrive at Ocklynge Manor, you know that you are going to have the Rolls Royce of bed and breakfast experiences: Wendy Dugdill greets you as though she has known you all your life. She welcomes you with tea and home made cake, and shows you round the beautiful house with infectious enthusiasm...and what a lovely house it is! Although I arrived in the dark, therefore not able to see much of the surroundings, I felt enveloped by the warmth of welcome, and the room was simply gorgeous. Beds are beyond comfortable, and the detail of decorative attention makes you feel as though you are a guest in a friend's home. Breakfast was opulent, with six different types of home made jam/marmalade and home made bread, plus the cooked options for those who want it. I was enchanted, and can only suggest that anyone who makes their way to Eastbourne should make a very determined pilgrimage to Ocklynge Manor as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I have just arrived back from a short trip to Eastbourne where we stayed at Ocklynge Manor.
This really is an exceptional place to stay and delivers far more to satisfy and stimulate the senses than merely a high quality B & B.
Wendy & David have created a truly amazing environment which combines the luxuries of a first class hotel with the visual appeal of a fine English Country House.
Every last detail has not only been meticulously carried through with care and charm but also with a stylish eye for what makes everything feel just so 'right'.
We have often thought that the very best B& B's offer a far higher standard of comfort and care than a great many quality hotels.
Do not miss out on this special place !

Room Tip: Handy to know that one of the rooms also has an ante-room with single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewartmechem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Before you open your own guesthouse, go and stay at Ocklynge Manor. See how it's done properly. Perfect crisp, white bedding, Obsessive-compulsive cleanliness (just the way it should be). Little 'extras'. Tea and cake on a tray, kind assistance with restaurant-choosing, interest in you as a person rather than as a walking cheque-book.

When you're paying 'slightly extravagant' as opposed to run of the mill rates to stay away from your own home, I think that you should be delighted. You should be pampered, Given treats. Your bedroom should be interesting and at least as nice as your own. The bed should be as comfy. You should find pleasure around every corner, otherwise why bother choosing anything more than the cheapest available?

And Ocklynge Manor.fits the bill.

Try to get in if you're planning to visit Eastbourne or environs. You'll have something special to talk about and remember afterwards, from the prepared-with-love home-made bread and marmalades to the snuggly warm dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived in the UK in the cold of January, only to be welcomed into a very warm, cosy and inviting B&B with Wendy as our hostess, mother, sister and friend. We had a wonderful room with lots of space, first class mattress and a great bath!!! We got to experience her home made jam, home made bread, even the baked beans were great! We really enjoyed our stay, we know we will be back again. Thanks Wendy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Regrettably, we could only stay one night at this wonderful B&B, but we were so glad that we did so. It was by far the most comfortable and enjoyable B&B in which we stayed during our UK visit, and the service was excellent. Wendy made us feel most welcome and provided us with all sorts of little extras (a tray of tea with cake on arrival, being an example) which we did not experience elsewhere. The manor home is a delight and the garden is just beautiful. Our room was spotlessly clean with very nice furniture and nicely laundered, crisp bed linens. Fresh fruit salad and juice were served at breakfast along with a traditional English platter. We'll return should we ever be in the area again, and recommend it to our friends, too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed with my father in law for a night in the twin room. The moment we entered the gate it was very welcoming and the host Wendy – served us the home made cake and tea. It was like a home away from home. The twin room we stayed were nice warm and cosy. And good view of well maintained garden.
Each everything was pristine clean and tidy. There was attention to details. Wendy and David a very nice and helpful couple they recommended us to Italian restaurant in the town which offer a discount if you mention you are guest from Ocklynge manor. After a goodnight sleep next day break fast was a quality serving with fresh fruit salad. Home made bread and toast served with full English breakfast . Wendy was so kind enough. she accommodated my father-in-law york free omelet. I would definitely stay again and strongly recommend to friend and family. Do have a stay you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janu2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed two nights at Ocklynge Manor with two friends. Wendy gave us a lift to a local pub on our arrival. On the Saturday, the weather was poor and Wendy gave us several wet weather options in the locality. Tea and cake awaited us on our return. My room was comfortable and spacious. A good breakfast was on offer, including home baked bread and marmalade.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rhys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,701 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Bed & Breakfast
Pebble Beach Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 75 in Eastbourne
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocklynge Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocklynge Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ocklynge Manor Mill Road, Eastbourne BN21 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $205 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocklynge Manor Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbourne's only Bed & Breakfast to be awarded 5 Gold Stars by the AA & Visit Britain. Placed 3rd in "The Independent Newspaper's" 50 Best British Bed & Breakfasts 2007. Free private parking in gated courtyard. Quiet location. Home-made bread, cakes and marmalades. The site was formerly a monastery for the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem. Elegant Grade 2 Listed Georgian house set in walled garden. Once home to Peter Pan illustrator, Mabel Lucy Attwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocklynge Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing