We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for lunch with friends & great pub garden”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #70 of 405 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A traditional British pub serving a large home made menu, including daily specials and everything from a quick bite to eat to more substantial main course. A great selection of local real ales are available and have won us a place in CAMRA's Real Ale Guide 2012. Venture beyond the bar to our conservatory restaurant, looking out over our large terrace and garden where you can eat,drink and enjoy the unpredictable, yet wonderful Eastbourne sunshine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great option for lunch with friends & great pub garden”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have been to the Ship on a regular occasion and particularly love their burgers in the summer in their lovely garden.

Set in the nicest part of Eastbourne and there is a lot of parking nearby.

The service is always excellent and non-intrusive. The food is nice, not michelin-starred level but great for a Sunday Roast or Pub Grub fare. Drinks aren't too pricey either. The atmosphere is nice, quiet enough to have a conversation but still vibrant and fun!

Overall a great place to visit and will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    71
    24
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and excellent food and surroundings”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been to this great pub on two occasions in the last year. Firstly on a Friday evening with a visiting friend - it was busy but the service and food were excellent - a Thai green curry to die for! And the desserts were NOT a disappointment as is often the case!
On the second visit I went for a birthday lunch with friends from NZ and we were able to sit in the spacious garden room and enjoy the views and sunshine. Once again the food was fantastic and the portions very generous. I am so pleased to have found this little gem in my local area - walking distance, a good variety of foods, friendly staff and competitive prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Five-star pub grub and great beer”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Service was excellent, staff were friendly, the atmosphere was just right, the place was clean, the legless rambler beer was a treat and the food was first class and very reasonably priced. We paid half of what you would expect to pay in a restaurant for a superb dinner, served hot and with generous side-dishes to make it the best meal of a 4-day stay in Eastbourne. The Ship is in Meads, heading west just before you get to the South Downs. It's worth looking up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davvvinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the first time for Sunday lunch and will definitely be back again (next time for the quizz). Great food, atmosphere and really lovely staff. A real gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After using the Ship for a few months we will not be returning again after a very disappointing visit a couple of weeks ago. We entered the pub on a Sunday lunch time, stood at the bar which was completely empty apart from ourselves for a good 5 minutes. There were 4 members of staff behind the bar and not one of them acknowledged us so we left. This is not the first time we have been ignored by the very unfriendly staff behind the bar and also the owners. Surely when running a pub the most important thing is to make sure your customers are made to feel welcome. That is definitely not happening in this pub. A real shame!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara211963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Willingdon, Eastbourne
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing