We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How a guesthouse should be - will definitely return again!”
Review of Gyves House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gyves House
Ranked #5 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

From arrival to departure our hosts made us feel really welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The place was spotless and had a very good feeling in the house in general. Peaceful and tranquil. The breakfast which included homemade bread. Delicious. The quality of the breakfast in general was excellent - no tinned fruit or white sliced bread here thankfully. I would definitely recommend this to others, and look forward to returning for a visit next year. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you so much for such great feedback. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 461 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been frequent guests at Gyves House and have just returned from a brief stay with the new owners, Andrew and Angela, who are very kind, welcoming people. As we always did with the previous owners, we enjoyed our stay enormously. The bedrooms are clean and welcoming, the breakfast delicious (croissants, cereals, juices, fresh fruit, etc., followed by full English or any variation of it) and the location unbeatable, with the sea and pier, Fusciardi's coffee shop and ice cream parlour and the renowned and excellent Marine pub (every year fabulous Christmas decorations and good food and Harvey's beer) within a stone's throw. Andrew & Angela kindly upgraded, without charge, my 85 year old's father's room, so that he was had as few stairs as possible to climb, for which we are very grateful. In short, we highly recommend Gyves House to all. Thanks Andrew and Angela.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtoileSanderstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a nice review. Hope to see you all again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found Gyves house by accident......... and so glad we did.
Very friendly people and the house is very clean. The breakfasts were very good. Andrew was very helpful.
We'll be recomending this guest house to family and friends..... and we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you so much for the nice feedback. Looking forward to seeing you in Eastbourne again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A cosy bed, nice room, excellent breakfast (perhaps the coffee could be stronger for the German taste ..) and above all the warm and friendly welcome by the hosts made the stay quite perfect. Good location near pier/city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for the nice review, I will definitely be double checking if my German guests are strong coffee likers in the future. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friends and I booked two twin rooms at Gyves House after doing the 13.5 mile Seven Sisters walk from Seaford to Eastbourne. The walk was stunning but exhausting so when we arrived at the B&B we were very happy to be staying somewhere so homely with such friendly and helpful people!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable (the beds were really comfortable - just what you need after a hard day's walking!) and the owners were really helpful with their advice of where to go for dinner and drinks despite not having been in the area for very long. Breakfast in the morning was spot on - perfectly cooked english breakfast with homemade bread which was delicious!

I would definitely recommend this place - it's in a great location not far from the centre of town and just by the sea front. I would stay here again if I ever visited Eastbourne again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feolamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your nice review of your stay which really describes how we want our guests to feel when they have stayed at our bed and breakfast - enjoying what Eastbourne and East Sussex offers (a lot!) , clean, attractive and comfortable bedrooms , a nice fresh, healthy breakfast in a friendly and quality house in a convenient location. The weekend you were here was a healthy life fest - 6 mountain bikes in the courtyard from the guys doing the South Downs cycling and you 4 walkers. Was great!! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

we stayed at this guesthouse after we had been rudely turned away from a nearby guesthouse due to overbooking error by the landlady.Andrew welcomed us with a large pot of tea and made us feel at home. Andrew and Angela have recently started running Gyves house and what a great job they have made of it. The room Andrew had for us was spacious with a large bathroom and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and had an excellent duvet and feather pillows, large TV and tea and coffee facilities were provided. The following morning the full English breakfast was freshly cooked and huge,it set us up completely for the rest of the day. Gyves house is a stone's throw from the seafront and close to the town .We have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse.When in Eastbourne again we shall certainly be visiting Andrew and Angela again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garry437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thanks so much for this nice review. Was a pleasure having you stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This B&B was well run by novice B&B owners, it was extremely good value, the rooms were lovely and the breakfast cooked very nicely. It is in a great location, a stone's throw from the sea in easy reach of everything, but quiet so we had an excellent night's sleep. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,035 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,795 reviews
0 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#3 of 75 in Eastbourne
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyves House

Address: 20 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $91 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gyves House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star gold rated lovely Victorian guest house just 30 metres from the seafront and in a great central location. All rooms are en-suite, clean and comfortable with freeview tv, hot drinks, wi-fi. Great breakfasts.Great b&b. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing