We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Burger - order”
Review of The Belgian Cafe

The Belgian Cafe
Ranked #87 of 430 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Price range: $40 - $161
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Proud to be voted 'Eastbourne's Best Restaurant' Sovereign Awards 2012. We are famed for our freshly prepared seafood specialities, including 50 different ways to enjoy mussels, and our amazing selection of over 100 Belgian beers.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I just ordered from the just eat website and the burgers we had were absolutely lovely. We cant wait to try some of the other options on the menu. The only downside for us was the garlic bread - it was hard and greasy and ended up going in the bin after just a couple of bites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed the gourmet burgers, sorry about the garlic bread.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 693 of 922 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

With fifty ways to serve mussells makes this an excellent choice if you like moules frites. I tried the mexican style which came in a brilliant sauce. The fish and chips was good too. Nice place, recommend a visit

Thank LanceTrendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Great review, thanks for sharing your recent experience of our great mussels recipes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited for dinner a couple of weeks ago, despite being a busy Saturday night the manager still took the time to greet us and talk to us, remembering us from our (all to infrequent) previous visits, food was lovely, tried the scallops for a change and was very impressed. Boyfriend loves the beers, nocturnum especially, I'm rather partial to a schnapps, with a range not often found outside of Germany or Belgium they are well worth the 2.50, if you sip it and savour the taste!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L_B190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice, mordern place. Lots of areas to sit. We went in the evening but only for a drink. Lots of people eat there as they do sea food. It did smell amazing but did not sample. Could spend many visits there as there is so much to choose from with even beer cocktails on the menu. There are also soft drinks and wine for those that are not keen on beer. Beers slights more expensive then your average pub but think that's to be expected with specialty things.

Thank lucynits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for the great feedback, we hope you come back to try some of our great dishes next time to go with our speciality beers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Yet another new experience at the Belgian Café. The constantly updated menu means I've always got lots to choose from. On Thursday I started with the smoked prawns & Sardines, then the cod with frites & waffles. I could hardly move as I was so full. However, Bok beer & snapps served to wash it all down - a treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Great review, many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belgian Cafe also viewed

 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Pevensey, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Belgian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing