We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastbourne best restaurant 2013”
Review of The Belgian Cafe

The Belgian Cafe
Ranked #73 of 424 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Price range: $40 - $161
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Proud to be voted 'Eastbourne's Best Restaurant' Sovereign Awards 2012. We are famed for our freshly prepared seafood specialities, including 50 different ways to enjoy mussels, and our amazing selection of over 100 Belgian beers.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We ve been going there for years not just for their 50 ways to eat mussels, but also for their local food fest (scallops, crab, lobster, oysters). Some of the best local musicians do perform there every Fridays night...
They ve got different theme night changing everyday. So this is not a surprise if they ve recently been elected Eastbourne s best restaurant by the local community.
Defenetly our favourite restaurant in the area.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aredrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for a great review, we value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 674 of 883 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

The best restaurant, if you like belgian beer and seafood this is the place to stop. Great service, great atmosphere and great food. Every night different theme and now twenty different burgers in the menu. If you go to Eastbourne make sure you stop at the Belgian Cafe !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Banor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for the great comments, see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a little gem of a cafe/restaurant with a certain charm about it that makes it quite special. I have eaten here and simply had a coffee many times now and whether you fancy some good, locally sourced seafood or simply a perfectly made latte it has never failed to deliver.

If you have children, the Tin Tin murals, canvases and general theme is always a winner and a focus point. many of the tables have a direct sea view and the staff are extremely attentive and very helpful and welcoming too.

As you would expect with a Belgian restaurant close to the sea, the mussels and beer is excellent and the variety of mussel dishes is extensive. They also have a very good children's menu and many other dishes for non seafood lovers.

Eastbourne tends to have a reputation of coach tours and Fish & Chip's but it's a far more lively and cosmopolitan town than that and when given the option, I would often now choose to eat there over Brighton. This place is a great example of the towns versatile eateries and I would highly recommend for families or friends looking for something decent, friendly and with it's own unique charm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Josactually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebelgiancafe, Manager at The Belgian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for your extensive review and positive feedback, we greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

great selection of beers and mussle dishes and thats it everything else on the menu is not good i had better fish cakes from sainsburys

Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a winter visit. The place was virtually empty which was nice as we got a seat with a nice sea view. I imagine the place is packed in summer given the location.

Another review described the burgers as being cheap...I didn't find anything cheap about this place! We paid £35 for a greasy omlette, soggy jacket potato and merely acceptable desserts as well as drinks.

I didn't notice the 10% optional service charge added automatically to my bill until after I had paid unfortunately. The service was okay, but slow given the place was empty. I dread to think what it must be like in summer. The menu gives a hint, "please allow time for your food to be
cooked". Hmmm...how do other restaurants manage?!

The staff themselves were ok but there is clearly not a culture of genuine customer service in this place as evidenced by the other reviews.

My partner's main was not as described. No apology. One of our deserts, a bannofi trifle had a very bitter, alcoholic taste. When we enquired about this it was confirmed this was a banana liqueur. We pointed out the menu didn't state that this dish contained alcohol but were met only with shrugs. Not so good for kids!

My waffle was ok but have had far better in London and Belgium - not convinced it was freshly made.

At the end of our meal our waiter asked if everything was ok? We said no, the dessert contains liqueur. He shrugs. On paying the waiter again asks if everything is ok. We say no, the dessert contained liqueur and this wasn't resolved. He said was everything ok apart from that...completely missing the point!

Lip service - not real customer service. It wasn't only the dessert that left a sour taste.

Next time I will stick to the excellent Fusciardis ice cream parlour for dessert. Unless you simply have mussels or Belgian beer then go elsewhere. Everything on the menu here apart from those things can be found better and cheaper elsewhere in Eastbourne - and without the unpleasant attitude!

I will avoid in future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AnAnonymousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belgian Cafe also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Belgian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing