We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
107
76
26
16
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
76
26
16
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinesky tvamazing facilitiesself cateringhuge tvsea frontplenty of storagetravel cotart gallerybed was very comfortablethe ground floorone night staytown centreenjoyable stayshort breaktheatremicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 269 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Back from Eastbourne with Harry Shaw, stayed in the Congress Hotel for 5 days 18/23 March. Pity about the Weather, at least it was dry and warmer than back home by 6/8C was the Easterly wind which was swine at times.
We had a warm welcome on arrival with cup of tea, they issued the room info at that time. Your cases were taken to your room or you take it yourself…. They have two lifts one small to cater the “add on” Hotel and the larger one for the main Hotel. The restaurant which is large is on the ground floor, as the Bar and Entertainment area, also has a game room.
There is a large Patio at the back which is very useful for children to play safely – The Patio also has a covered Smoking area..
We were pleased with the room which was large and South facing plenty room for your Stuff, and overlooked the Patio and a “community ?” green.
Meals times are 08:15 and 18:30. breakfast is very good with help yourself to the starters – Juices, Cereals, then a Waiter will ask you want for your cooked breakfast, as it cooked fresh. For the evening meal there are choices for starters, main course 2 mains, Veggie and Salad, had choices for Deserts, inc a Cheese board which was very good.
They cater for who need a diet – (Gluten Free), I took my own bread for Fried bread and toast for Breakfast – they cooked it without any problem.
Note: there is a Menu outside the Restaurant for the weeks’ offerings.. that is very handy to know, as if you are out for lunch as you know what you are having for Evening Meal.
Entertainment was very good…. by all accounts tho’ we did not go….
This Hotel was rated as 2 star by the AA, but it is like a at least 3 Star, their Hygiene rating is 5. Decor was very good, as was cleanliness throughout, Staff very friendly and helpful from the Reception to the Night watchman.
There are some shops quite near – a lot of eating places about 5 mins walk away, and another 5 mins away is the Sea front..
The Bus No: 3 takes you the main shopping which you can get at the corner (Buccaneer Pub) – Reception has a Map for you to use and give directions for the Bus – 2 mins walk away, times are every 20 mins.
Very good value, Nice room with comfy beds – would go back no problems.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Radioham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just back from a great four nights at the Congress Hotel and feeling I have just had one of the best hotel experiences ever. It is not a posh place but is very clean and comfortable and is worth at least 3stars in my estimation. Went with 40 friends from Goodwood Bowls Club and all commented on the terrific way the staff looked after us. Food great staff smiley and helpful, friendly reception- just could not be better. Our trip was organised by Airedale Tours and they did a great job, particularly our driver -JIM. Finally a word for Eastbourne as this is the first time we have been. We Will Return as we wish to try it when the cold wind is not blowing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SagaloutLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

15th-18th Feb. Had a brilliant weekend at the congress with a group of friends and can't wait to go back, nothing was to much trouble and staff very friendly, very clean and spacious room. Food good with a choice of menu,on the whole after organising group holidays for years this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at with great value for money definitely well worth a visit and will be going back later in the year with a group friends thanks to all staff, Sun Island, organiser and all friends for a great time. X

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ang1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

stayed at congress with friends could not have been more welcoming rooms clean and comfortable the food was excelent plenty of choice.the staff very friendly and helpful.look forward to coming back soon.the lady before must have stayed at a different congress hotel.

Room Tip: no noise on 1st floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviabullion238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was the worst thing about this hotel closely followed by the non existing smiles of the waitreses and bar staff ,the cleaner was very good the room was alway spotless but if you do intend to stay at this hotel I would eat and drink somewhere else this hotel is close to the sea front and the town but there are closer and even better places to stay it also brags that there is plenty of parking but as we also found out that this is also not true and if you manage to park your car on the property site it's a hassle to get it out again and if there is a lot of people staying at the place at the same time as you your end up playing nick the parking spot and that's in winter it will be wore in summer I recommend they change there chef the food was poor I stuck to salad thinking he couldn't mess that up but he did

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKoussa, Owner at Congress Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We are sorry you felt the need to complain online when your only complaint to us was on departure, when you did not want to pay for an a la carte item you ordered. It is very difficult for hotels to defend themselves against certain claims because, at the end of the day, it is our word against the guest’s very public criticism.

You claim you stuck to salads because you did not like the food, that is not quite accurate. You actually ordered a gammon steak from our a la carte menu and specified that you wanted it with a salad rather than the usual items (pineapple, grilled tomato, mushrooms and chips). You were then unhappy about not getting the pineapple so you asked for coleslaw, which you were given.

We are not sure where you read that we “brag” about having plenty of parking. In all our promotional material, and on our website, we specify that we have two small car parks which are on a first come first served basis. During your stay the only other cars in our car park belonged to your group anyway.

As for your other claims, all we can say is that the group you came with is returning later this year, with a much bigger party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews