We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
106
76
26
16
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
76
26
16
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinesky tvamazing facilitiesself cateringhuge tvsea frontplenty of storagetravel cotart gallerybed was very comfortablethe ground floorone night staytown centreenjoyable stayshort breaktheatremicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 268 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

15th-18th Feb. Had a brilliant weekend at the congress with a group of friends and can't wait to go back, nothing was to much trouble and staff very friendly, very clean and spacious room. Food good with a choice of menu,on the whole after organising group holidays for years this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at with great value for money definitely well worth a visit and will be going back later in the year with a group friends thanks to all staff, Sun Island, organiser and all friends for a great time. X

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ang1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

stayed at congress with friends could not have been more welcoming rooms clean and comfortable the food was excelent plenty of choice.the staff very friendly and helpful.look forward to coming back soon.the lady before must have stayed at a different congress hotel.

Room Tip: no noise on 1st floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviabullion238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was the worst thing about this hotel closely followed by the non existing smiles of the waitreses and bar staff ,the cleaner was very good the room was alway spotless but if you do intend to stay at this hotel I would eat and drink somewhere else this hotel is close to the sea front and the town but there are closer and even better places to stay it also brags that there is plenty of parking but as we also found out that this is also not true and if you manage to park your car on the property site it's a hassle to get it out again and if there is a lot of people staying at the place at the same time as you your end up playing nick the parking spot and that's in winter it will be wore in summer I recommend they change there chef the food was poor I stuck to salad thinking he couldn't mess that up but he did

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKoussa, Owner at Congress Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We are sorry you felt the need to complain online when your only complaint to us was on departure, when you did not want to pay for an a la carte item you ordered. It is very difficult for hotels to defend themselves against certain claims because, at the end of the day, it is our word against the guest’s very public criticism.

You claim you stuck to salads because you did not like the food, that is not quite accurate. You actually ordered a gammon steak from our a la carte menu and specified that you wanted it with a salad rather than the usual items (pineapple, grilled tomato, mushrooms and chips). You were then unhappy about not getting the pineapple so you asked for coleslaw, which you were given.

We are not sure where you read that we “brag” about having plenty of parking. In all our promotional material, and on our website, we specify that we have two small car parks which are on a first come first served basis. During your stay the only other cars in our car park belonged to your group anyway.

As for your other claims, all we can say is that the group you came with is returning later this year, with a much bigger party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went to the Congress with Coopers Tours for Christmas and was very pleased with this hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they couldn't have done more to make our holiday so enjoyable.
The food was spot on, such delicious meals and very generous portions. Everyone put so much effort in to make it a very enjoyable break. Every night we had good entertainment and a surprise visit from father Christmas on Christmas eve with lovely gifts. We couldn't have asked for more. We will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful Christmas at The Congress Hotel. The staff never stopped tending to our every needs. The food was excellent, and the rooms were spacious and comfy. The family owners were very welcoming, and many of our group were repeaters. The shops are about 10 minutes walk away. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, and the trip as a whole through Leons Holidays of Stafford. Thank you and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews