We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of Glastonbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glastonbury Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break to watch the airshow in Eastbourne, at The Glastonbury hotel.
The hotel staff were great, we received such a warm welcome and we were made to feel comfortable the whole time. The hotel itself is a typical seaside hotel, it is not brand new, but is extremely comfortable - we had no complaints!
The staff were great, especially the Manager Joe, and the breakfast each morning was excellent!
Location was perfect just a couple of minutes walk from the pier, and with evening bingo and entertainment each night it was great value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from a 2day break hotel was very disappointing needs a lot of work done on it to bring it up to a reasonable standard, our room was so small, the sink was in the bedroom which was really old and stained, the shower room was ridiculas you were unable to open the door fully because there was not enough room, i cut my foot on the bottom of the shower door trying to get out we were in room 326 avoid it at all cost the room is not fit to rent out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

my dad &i did not like the rooms we had we did ask for a sea view but my view was a back yard my dads was the same &his room was small the bathroom was not big you had to sit side ways to go to the loo. the hotel needs updating& the 3rd floor rooms. the meals were good the staff was helpful.the Entertainment was good.the lift was gates you had to pull shut they reminded me of the film Throughley modern millie where you had to dance for it to work&make sure you don't catch your fingers in the gate.eastbourne is a nice place shame about the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank harriet1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just returned from Eastbourne after 5days at the glastonbury hotel ,rooms require updating and the shower in our room needed to be replaced , hotel is tired and needs a lot of things done to it . Food was basic ,but was always hot not a lot of variety in main evening meals .staff are always polite and helpful . Entertainment in the evening was awful and on our tour no Scottish people ever went in to be entertained we will not be returning to this hotel in the future .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am writing this on behalf of my parents they have just arrived back from 5 days at this hotel and had a great time they say it was lovely and clean and the food was good and plenty of it.. They said the staff was always polite and helpfull as my father is 80 this year and my mother 78 i would like to thank everyone at THE HOTEL FOR THEIR Kindness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hazelm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we arrived at the glastonbury monday afternoon 10/06/2013 we were given room 111 but found
we had no shower just a bath the man on reception gave us another room no230 this was very
good.plenty of room very clean and with a good powerful shower.the food was very good served
by a great young lady very helpful.met some very nice people.all the staff were polite and helpful
thanks to rob our driver made us laugh on the journey down to eastbourne and back to
northhampton and steve our feeder coach driver.included were trips to hastings brighton and
beachy head.thanks to torquay travel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NuneatonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

arrived 100613 with torquay travel.on arrival faced by steep steps with broken tiles which was.an issue for some elderly passengers.quick check in and cases taken to room.good service in dining room staff had restricted hrs carpet by our table not swept for 3 days digestive biscuit gradually spread.room 233 clean but windows didnt shut completely not much of a problem in better weather but
not so good with pigeons nesting out on the ledge.group who went to the theatre on wed 120613 just managed to get a drink on return 2200 but person who was also the receptionist seemed only too keen to lock up.

Room Tip: make sure you check the windows shut this appliues not ust to singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john w h J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion Lions Hotel
Mansion Lions Hotel
#35 of 40 in Eastbourne
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glastonbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glastonbury Hotel

Address: 4-9 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $41 - $1,355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glastonbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run seafront hotel, some bedrooms affording magnificent views of the sea and pier. Home cooked traditional English cuisine, regular live entertainment. The hotel has a full length sun lounge, and for warmer days and evenings, a sunny outside patio with seating (smoking area). There is also a Snooker Club on the premises, which is open to the public, and residents can use this at concessionary rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glastonbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing