We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay with torquay travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glastonbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glastonbury Hotel
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 night stay with torquay travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

arrived 100613 with torquay travel.on arrival faced by steep steps with broken tiles which was.an issue for some elderly passengers.quick check in and cases taken to room.good service in dining room staff had restricted hrs carpet by our table not swept for 3 days digestive biscuit gradually spread.room 233 clean but windows didnt shut completely not much of a problem in better weather but
not so good with pigeons nesting out on the ledge.group who went to the theatre on wed 120613 just managed to get a drink on return 2200 but person who was also the receptionist seemed only too keen to lock up.

Room Tip: make sure you check the windows shut this appliues not ust to singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w h J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    39
    23
    27
See reviews for
28
58
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day trip to Eastbourne with Leisuretime staying at the Glastonbury. Although the staff were extremely helpful, and the food, plain but delicious, the Hotel left a lot to be desired. The location is great, right on the seafront, and our room 301 had a lovely view. We were unable to shower for 3 days as the shower attachment was missing, and so was the plug to the sink. The water was cold as well. The cleaning was non-existent and the room hadn't had a good clean ready for the season, judging by the mess behind the furniture. The single beds are tiny and I felt sorry for some of the larger or disabled clients who were in danger of falling out. The lift is antiquated and totally inadequate for the clientele who are mostly elderly. Entertainment varied and drinks reasonable.

Room Tip: If you have a disability, choose a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aniden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a 3 day, 2 night coach trip organised by David Urquart travel. Staff very pleasant,, had nice room 109 at the front so had sea view, Comfy bed, good clean linen and towels were fluffy and clean, Cannot fault anything really and for the price its very good,, Entertainment was great as well, Everything in room worked, shower good no problem using it, Hotel is over a hundred years old so its bound to look a bit tired,, I liked it as I could imagine the original features in places and how it would have been. In reception theres a photo of the staff who ran the hotel back when it first opened, So many staff and now it has a couple of handfuls but they do a good job and keeping it clean and keeping the guests happy,

Room Tip: Our room was already chosen for us but I was very pleased with it. A lady did have a leak in her ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Right on the front between pier and fort. Our room was beyond tired the electic heating was broken so had to have a heater in an already small space,double bed against the wall so we had to climb over each other. En suite terrible, a leaking pipe with a bowl underneath which we emptied as the cleaner didn't, white lace curtain (grey) had lost a hook so was just left hanging down. We couldn't get water to run hot unless we wasted loads of water so resorted to boiling water in the kettle and using that. Didn't bother with the shower as no heating in en suite and others spoke of water going cold during their shower. None of the furniture matched and the pelmet in bedroom looked like it hadn't been dusted since it was put up. We did ask if we could have another room but that wasn't much better twin beds very small and an old tv with a freeview box. It was on the 3rd floor and the lift is very small and old. Held only 4 thin people. Had there been a problem my husband would have had difficulties with the stairs.So we stayed in the orginal alloated room on the first floor.
Most of the staff friendly,entertainment and food good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BungayBettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

On arriving a little apprehensive when reading the reviews,nice clean room but very small some of the paint work in bedroom were patched up to poor quality.bedroom always cleaned during breakfast no central heating a electric heater was provided ,varied entertainment including bingo in the evening,the staff helpful and obliging.Food good varied choice on menu but sometimes meals could have been hotter,overall a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank froggie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

having booked two days with david urquart at this hotel, we had read some of the reviews that had been posted on here.we were a little aprehensive when reading some of the comments, but as soon as we got to the hotel,we were made to feel so welcome, by the staff and the owners.the room was spotless,beds were so comfie,plenty of tea,and coffee,and clean cups every day,along with spotless towells.the entertainment was out of this world,the two singers were amazing,and they had bingo if you wanted to play.all the guests were so friendly, we all got on so well and we would all def go again.we cannot fault this hotel for the money.if you want the hilton then book into there,and dont moan......10 out of 10 to joe and his family pat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soulsister1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

On the plus side - the food was good and varied with an ample selection and they were always ready and willing to accommodate guests wishes if this was not to their liking. The staff very helpful and obliging. We had an excellent room with a bay window sea view. The room was a good size with high ceilings and ornate plaster work from another age. The room was always made up during the time we were at breakfast and the hospitality tray always amply filled. This meant that the room was available without hindrance all day.
On the minus side we were there during February, and the weather turned cold. The bedroom was not double glazed, and there was not central heating. A rather small electric heater was provided. The bathroom had a very noisy extractor fan. There was not a shower only a bath and as a quite large person myself it gave me problems. There was ample hot water.
It was however a very enjoyable holiday and I have no hesitation in saying I will return, but when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigunWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#31 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#29 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#16 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#35 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glastonbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glastonbury Hotel

Property: Glastonbury Hotel
Address: 4-9 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hotel Class:2 star — Glastonbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run seafront hotel, some bedrooms affording magnificent views of the sea and pier. Home cooked traditional English cuisine, regular live entertainment. The hotel has a full length sun lounge, and for warmer days and evenings, a sunny outside patio with seating (smoking area). There is also a Snooker Club on the premises, which is open to the public, and residents can use this at concessionary rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glastonbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing