We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ideal Setting”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Ideal Setting”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited the Eastbourne Centre for lunch with my elderly mother-in-law. We had a window seat in the bar with a sea view, as the restaurant is not open at lunchtime, and the food was fine.
There was a good atmosphere, and not too noisy so we were able to have a good conversation.
The service was good, and the place was spotless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Michael C
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at the Eastbourne Centre.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch and appreciated the atmosphere in the Bar area.
The team here work hard to keep the entire Hotel looking it’s best and I’m further glad you noticed this high level of cleanliness.
Hope you will be back for lunch again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,833
    931
    137
    41
    15
See reviews for
463
1,321
224
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We like this hotel.Bang on the sea front,easy parking and friendly staff.We always have a large room with "town views" ,as the saving is quite substantial.Rooms are very clean ,excellent bed linen ,and compact spotless bathrooms.Breakfast if the hotel is busy is a bit of a bun fight,but on this visit the hotel was quiet,and breakfast was relaxed.Its self service,but if you stick to cereal,toast and croissants you can't go wrong.The hotel has been recently updated,but it still has a quirky 1970's feel to it ,which we really like.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Paul J
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us.
It’s great to read that you continue to enjoy the high level of both cleanliness as well as our great location.
Breakfast can get busy when the Hotel is full and we are now looking to extend the hours of operation to help with this. I was pleased to read that it was a more relaxed affair for your visit this time!
I’m glad you appreciate some of the quirks of the Hotel and we do hope you’ll be back to see us again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Eastbourne Centre and it was just as good as we remembered it. The view from the room is worth paying for alone (especially watching the sun come up over the sea). Our executive room was very comfortable and clean. All the staff very very friendly (especially in the restaurant at breakfast time) and the breakfast was good....coffee was vastly improved since our last visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitySlicker604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear CitySlicker604
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review of your return visit to the Hotel.
It is always encouraging to hear from our guests who have experienced the hotel more than once and I was delighted to read that this stay was as good as your last!
Thank you in particular for the kind comments about the service received. We aim to provide the best possible level of friendly and professional service and I’m glad that we didn’t disappoint delivering this.
Hopefully you’ll be back for a third time and we can make it a hat trick of positive experiences!
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a one night break in Eastbourne and I can honestly say this is the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel and the rooms were clean and tidy, we only had breakfast there but that was superb. Excellent sea views and there was even a library at the hotel, with loads of easy recliners if you fancy chilling out. My only gripe is that we ordered a premier room, and instead of a kingsize bed we had two singles pushed together.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Steve L
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
It was great to read that you rate us as one of the ‘best’ hotels you’ve stayed at!
Thank you for your comments regarding your breakfast experience and your description of ‘superb’, and I hope you’ll be back to sample some of our other menus when you next stay.
A number of our rooms do have zip & link beds which form to make a Kingsize bed which shouldn’t be noticeable when you sleep on them and I hope you were able to get comfortable in your room.
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel bit seventies looking but excellent staff breakfast and bar staff, biggest asset to this hotel is the staff, nice rooms very clean, all round, well done, really great breakfast staff, evening restraunt avoid food no good,!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank markylovescarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear markylovescarly
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent time at the Eastbourne Centre.
I agree that the Hotels greatest asset (second to the great Views) is the team here and I was delighted that you experienced and noted this.
I do note your comment about the food for dinner in the restaurant and I’d like to understand more about what didn’t meet your expectations. Please do feel free to contact me directly at the Hotel so we can discuss.
In the meantime, thank you once again.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is in a perfect position close to pubs and restaurants and facing the beach. Staff here very good, especially reception. I booked a room on booking.com,and what a bargain it was as we were upgraded to an executive room with sea view and balcony. Very nice room recently refurb ished. This building has an interesting history. Don't be put off by the web site as this is very good, breakfast was freshly cooked to order and excellent.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear David H
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay with us, it is most appreciated.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your upgraded executive room and appreciated the extra space and views from the balcony.
We are currently developing our new website so have a temporary one in place for the time being and thank you for highlighting this for future travellers.
Finally, thank you for your kind words about the service received and the excellent breakfast!
We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at various hotels in Eastbourne, but this was by far the best. As a wheelchair user I find quite a few hotels will say they are accessible when they aren't, but this is everything a wheelchair user could ask for - beautiful and stylish room with an equally stylish wet room. Space to manoeuvre my chair wherever I went. Courteous staff who understood what I needed without me having to ask or explain. I was treated with respect and dignity.
They didn't even look shocked when I said I was one of the speakers at the conference I was attending! (Some hoteliers find that one a little mind boggling for some reason. ...)
I'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KMG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear KMG65
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
We are proud of our accessible rooms and over the years have made a number of changes to ensure that we can cater for the needs of as many guests as possible.
Thank you in particular for saying that you think ‘we are the best’ hotel you have experience as it makes the efforts of the team here even more worthwhile!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing