We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old fashioned hotel feel.”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here last night (12th August) for the airshow. Managed to get a twin room with a balcony at the front. Very clean and great views. (R311)

The hotel room has that old Holiday Inn feel, but when it was new. The room is clean and fresh. Bathroom with great soaps/cream etc. Bedroom lots of teas/coffees. The beds well made, room information was good, great t.V. Just a really nice hotel without any this new unecessary gadets. The staff were so helpful and friendly,... just wonderful.

Went with my 3 year old son for the airshow. They took my bags from me at 11.30, I managed to check in at 12.30, which was early. My room was exactly what I wanted, view of the beach and pier just perfect!

The view for the airshow was amazing. Also was able to see the fireworks which started at 10pm. The sun was on the balcony until around 3pm, and it was great if you had a buggy as the slope to get down to the beach was directly infront of the hotel. There is a beach bar directly opposite that had live music playing that evening. I actually found it quite nice as my little one was asleep by 6.30pm so it meant I could sit on the balcony with a drink and have a great view of the sea and listen to music.

Breakfast was 5 star, fruit, cereals, full english; again the staff were amazing. So good to get such service for such a good price. The only upset was that room service stopped at 8pm. I would prefer 10pm, but it was probably better for my waistline as I would have only ordered cake that late!! The room service is limited for children if you want healthy. The jacket potatoe and cheese was fab, i went to the shop and bought a tin of beans and added it, he was in heaven having lunch on the balcony.

Checking out was a breeze, I had a complaint about my burger from the night before and I didn't really report it but they took it off the bill without question. This was 5 star service without a doubt. Congratulations to the manager and your team Amazing!!! Will be back next year with the whole family.

MANAGER: Feedback - a pasta dish on the menu would be great. Thanks

Room Tip: "Balcony room 311. Perfect view." "Easy access to the beach for your buggy via a slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,414 - 3,420 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Been to this hotel twice now, on both occasions the room has been very clean and well presented. The staff are very helpful.
The breakfast is Served in a clean bright dining area. The hotel even provide a parking permit for the duration of your stay. We will deffinately be back soon.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a great hotel not too far away from us. The disabled facilities are fantastic and the bathrooms are out of this world. You get a double ended shower with shower head each end and it's level access too. The rooms are massive and ours had two balconies. This is a favourite getaway that is not too far away with outstanding sea views. The breakfast is great too. Although there are lots of business people here it also is great for couples. The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are very helpful. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great hotel!

We choose it because of location and sea view. It looks strange from outside. Not realy fit in Victorian building community around. But at the moment you get in hotel it’s doesn’t matter anymore. Hotel inside has great stile. I think it is Art novo. Look like they have big renovation just year ago. Room is very modern and comfortable. They even offer you salt for bath! Tea and coffee facilities at your room, and very important for me – IRONING facilities.

Bad is amazing – big and soft!

Breakfast area based next to big balcony, if you lucky with weather breakfast will go under nice sunshine. Breakfast stuff very friendly and do anything you ask very fast and quality.

I definitely will spend there one more week end!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG28_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night at Easter, and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was great - clean, modern, quite large with a balcony facing the sea.
The bar area was comfortable, large with great decor and again a fab view of the seafront - although we had to stop the manager from closing all the curtains at about 7.30pm when it was still bright outside...
Parking was cheap and easy - buy a ticket from the reception desk for the bays opposite the hotel.
We didn't bother with breakfast so I can't comment on that, but I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Go for a seaview if there is an option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We attended a weekend conference at the centre -it is the Unite Union building. The hotel itself is superb and quite new. The rooms are large, air conditioned,very clean, well appointed and airy. Ours had a balcony overlooking the sea front. We found the staff very helpful, The restaurant was excellent and the food was very good,served by efficient and friendly staff. Free WiFi throughout the hotel was real plus. There are no leisure facilities but the hotel has an agreement with a local fitness centre. It does not have it's own parking but for £1.00 per day the hotel issues parking permits for the nearby streets.Other than conference rates the hotel is expensive so not a place to stay on a budget. However it is ideal for conference purposes with fully IT'd air conditioned conference rooms, with annexes for coffee breaks and exhibitors. There is a hotel bar but this does shut quite early for a conference venue when a lot of 'business' is done after the lectures.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the front have a balcony and the traffic noise is small.Sleeping with the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank severus103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had opted for a room facing out to sea with a balcony. It wasn't a cheap deal bearing in mind it was the week for the Eastbourne ATP Tennis tournament. The accommodation was excellent and we had a king sized bed and we were surprised by the overall quality of this hotel. Staff appear to be very well trained especially in the restaurant. The breakfast was buffet based. Cooked choice was very good with good quality bacon & sausages. Plenty of choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, porridge, cakes etc. Service was top notch and could not be faulted. Ideally placed for the tennis in Devonshire Park and the Congress Theatre. Will we stay again? -most definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Broadsword23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $76 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing