We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel by the sea!”
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception here last year and came back to celebrate our first year anniversary courtesy of mr and mrs Kirkby. We stayed it room 120 and it was gorgeous. We were also treated to a fantastic meal in the hotels restaurant where nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were greeted back as if old friends and everyone was happy to do anything that made our stay more enjoyable. If you fancy a personal hotel experience with a high end feel that the langham is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Becky B,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review for us and also for the 5 stars. I am delighted that you had a wonderful celebration of your 1st Wedding Anniversary and I have passed on your kind words with Neil and Wendy. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We found this hotel excellent value, our room was comfortable, the bathroom looked as though it had very recently been completly modernised , with a good shower and full size bath, lots of lovely clean towels which were all changed each morning. The food was first class, we stayed for dinner bed and breakfast, the choice for these was good and the food well cooked, with great service by friendly helpful staff . Entertainment is available each evening. As the hotel is on the front at Eastbourne nicely situated for a walk along to the pier.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Dorothy G,

Thank you very much for such a great review and your 5 star award. I am so pleased we exceeded your expectation and gave you a wonderful stay. Please return soon.

Kindest regards

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We first met the owners of this Hotel Neil and Wendy Kirby nearly a year ago when we were looking for a new venue for our Ladies Weekends. It became apparent very early on that they knew exactly what they were doing and what we wanted from the weekend. We have been involved with orgainising these events for over 15 years and could not have been happier with the service and attention to detail that we were given from the start to the finish. We wanted a themed 1940's style party atmosphere on the Friday evening and both Neil and Wendy along with their staff decorated the room with bunting and flags to enhance the atmosphere. We could write so much more about their kindness and professional attitude, however, in short - all the staff are exceptionally professional and friendly and will all go the extra mile to help you. The food is superb, Although some rooms are still awaiting refurbishment, those that have been upgraded are top notch. All this at reasonable prices on a seafront location. There were 116 guests in our party, all of whom enjoyed it so much that we have already booked the Hotel again for next year.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear PJ B,

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review and the 5 stars. I am delighted the Loyal Darenth Ladies Weekend was a roaring success and have passed on your kind words to Neil and Wendy. Once again, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you all back next year!

Warmest regards

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I can not fault the Langham Hotel at all. The staff were professional and patient and helpful. The whole hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful and considering how many they had to cater for, it was planned very well without a hitch. The hotel had a wonderful character about it and everyone there was chatty and happy. Thankyou for a great stay.
Value for money was very very good.
Hope to return next year. I was in a group tour. Caught the bus to bottom of beach head on open top bus(free if have bus pass) or you can go to top of beachy head. You can get on and off where you like. Continual recording telling you the history of everywhere. Very worthwile trip to go on. Bands at the bandstand were very good and fireworks. So lovely to be able to walk straight out of hotel onto prom.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are obviously better, but I had a room at back and could hear the gulls each mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newera47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Newera47,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and really like you kind comments about the food and team. You must try a sea view room next time!

Warmest regards
Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week for my mums 60th birthday and we got a sea view room and it was amazing beautiful views. We had good service for breakfast and the reception staff were friendly and helpful cant wait to return !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikejoneskurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Mikejonekurb,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted you had a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here on a group tour and the hotel is truly hard to fault. Staff are unfailingly courteous and professional , the place is spotless and the meals beautifully presented and delicious - no pre- catered food here ! It all appears to be really well-run throughout and I would unhesitatingly recommend it - if even just to visit the restaurant alone

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear PowsWales_UK

Thank you ever so much for your great review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our restaurant. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am sure that a lot of the rooms in this hotel are better than the one we had. However, we got a late room price and I am sure that the room we had was one of the last on offer. Third floor, back street view and old bathroom.
However, all clean, beds ok, furniture new. Blanket instead of duvet. Odd!
Breakfast VG served in conservatory with great seaview on a brilliant sunny day. Staff excellent.
Obviously a coach party hotel but hey....what the heck!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Gretenham,

Thank you very much for your review. It does sound like you had one of the last rooms available. I hope in the future we can give you a refurbished option. Really appreciate your kind comments on quality, service and food and pleased you felt it was good value. We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,465 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,757 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Address: 43-49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $81 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run AA four-star hotel with an excellent location on the seafront of Eastbourne looking across the bay towards the Pier. We are only a short walk to the pier, town and amenities. There is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel with services running along the coast and into town. The Langham has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining for the past 9 years in a row. We have a thriving Lunch Club with top class speakers; regular Jazz Lunches, Cabaret Dinners, and a Pudding & Wine Club. We are the perfect hotel for any occasion whether it be just a lunch or staying with us in one of our excellent bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing