We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and food!”
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel and food!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed on a half board deal for one night for valentines. The hotel was really good value for money and we paid a little extra for sea view (which is well worth it!). The room wasn't a bad size, although I expected bigger. The bed was very comfy and it was all very clean. The sunrise from the window in the morning was beautiful! However, we did get intruded a couple of times. One of the managers came into our room in the morning, which was an accident as he was meant to go to another room, but still a bit worrying. It then happened again 20 minutes later when the cleaners did the same. It was about 8am so we were both in bed still. Not very professional. Our overall stay however made up for it. The food was amazing and so was the food. The staff were very pleasant apart from the incidents I mentioned!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    231
    70
    23
    8
See reviews for
147
366
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel over the nights Friday/Saturday June 22nd/23rd 2012, it was booked at short notice through booking.com and at the time, there were only four rooms available. So our choice was very limited. We were given room 142 which had a side sea view, the room itself was clean, tidy, and a nice size. However, the bathroom was unbelievably small - I am of medium build, but not tall but anyone who is slightly on the "large size" would simply not be able to wash at the wash basin, it was at an angle and just too close to the door and wall. Every time I cleaned my teeth, when I bent down I banged my head on the shelf above the wash basin.

I only have two negative comments on this hotel, I have already covered the bathroom but my biggest complaint/concern was concerning the paper thin walls. My partner has not been well for the last six months, she has undergone a lot of hospital treatment and we were looking for a quiet weekend away. Our bed was comfortable, we slept well but at six o'clock on the Saturday morning we were woken up by the sound of a couple talking. I have to admit that at first, I really thought they were in our room but after a couple of seconds of panic, realised that they were next door in room 141. We could hear every word they were saying, they talked for ages then went to beakfast right on seven o'clock but had kept us awake now for an hour. This was repeated around the same time on the Sunday morning, if the occupants of room 141 are reading this report, then I do hope that your side (the lady) is better. I have stayed in many hotels in this country and abroad but never have I stayed in a hotel where the walls were so thin. The other problem with room 142 is that it is directly above the bar and since there was entertainment on in the bar on both the Friday and Saturday nights, then this too was very loud in our room. Having said that, it was over by 11.15pm so was not too much of a problem. These noise levels though seriously need to be addressed!

Onto the positives, the staff were very very helpful, nothing was too much problem for them, we ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and despite it being completely full, the meal was exceptionally good, the service was first class and the staff were excellent. Breakfast too was very nice on both mornings. The hotel was clean and tidy throughout, the location is superb and although there is only limited parking (three garages which have to be booked in advance), if you search around, there is street parking to be found. The bar staff were also friendly and efficient. I really can't fault anything else in the hotel, I would have no doubt in staying at the hotel again but would strongly resist accepting either room 141 or 142.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the room we were offered but if offered room 142 (and I also guess room 141) the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I've now stopped at this beach front hotel three times, and have always had an enjoyable stay, the staff, service and breakfasts are all excellent and very reasonably priced throughout the seasons!
Cant wait for my next trip to England to book again!:-)

Room Tip: My tip: Internet Wifi is best on the first floor! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is situated close to the town centre and just a few steps from the seafront.Parking is not a problem. The staff were excellent, very polite,friendly and helpful. We chose a room without a seaview and were allocated one at the back of the hotel which was bright and airy and tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. It was very quiet during the day and at night. It was an added bonus to have free WiFi in all rooms with good reception. The in house entertainment was enjoyable. The complimentary breakfast was first class full english with all the trimmings waiter/waitress served and piping hot and beautifully presented which we ate in the conservatory over looking the beach. Afternoon tea is a must.The whole hotel was decorated to a high standard with interesting pictures on the walls alongside memorabilia. There was a quiet area with magazines books and games and a bar with a veranda. All views over looked the sea as the hotel was situated across the road from the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front sunny and over look the sea, rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at The Langham (11th -13th may)Hotel had a couple of big functions on but the staff looked after us very well.Food great and great value, fab sea view room. We will return when we need a breather again.

Room Tip: Has to be sea view room on the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyspics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a 5 year old boy and were not told about the two discos going on till midnight or very noisy lift when we booked, when we arrived we were shown to someone else's room as they had got our dates wrong. The First night we thought it was a one off with all the noise but, the second night it was very bad , slamming doors two loud discos, when we complained we were told by the owner at 11.30pm we could leave with our 5 year old and have our money back and what did we expect it's a hotel and we should expect discos etc, very rude arrogant man unless you are part of the masons or a wedding etc, he obviously caters for his favourites, if you are a one off do not expect any nice treatment, the first night we had the man in the room next door shouting telling people at midnight that he was trying to sleep!! horrible owner and very noisy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauljames22, Public Relations Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I have spoken to the proprietor, Neil Kirby, about your feedback and this is his response:

“Hmm, this seems not so much a hotel review as a personal attack on the Duty Manager by a very unreasonable Trip Advisor! This lady has chosen to ignore two very important points which were explained to her: (a) when she complained about the music at 11.40pm it was due to stop in 20 minutes time and (b) the hotel was completely full and we had no other room to move her to. Despite these explanations she continued to demand what we were going to do about it. Apart from stopping the party 20 minutes early, sending all the guests to their rooms and telling them to be quiet, there was nothing we could do! It should be added that only 50% of the hotel residents were attending the party on Saturday night and we received no complaints from anyone apart from this lady. She also does not mention that the full cost of Saturday night’s accommodation was refunded to her when she checked out – maybe the hotel owner is not so horrible after all?”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a comfortable stay at the Langham with a top priced sea view suite plus a single for our son. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable the sea view wonderful. The single room was not in the same class but 25% of the price and spacious and clean. The service in the hotel was efficient and pleasant. I have to say though the decor is getting rather tired and the whole place seemed to smell rather of boiled cabbage. We cannot comment on the evening meals but the breakfast was exactly as ordered and cheerfully and efficiently served. Parking is in the road or some distance from the hotel. The location is excellent and waking to the sound of the sea a real tonic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriangrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Property: Langham Hotel
Address: 43-49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run AA four-star hotel yards from the beach and overlooking the magnificent bay. A short walk to the pier, town and amenities. There is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel too. The Langham has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining for the past 8 years in a row. Has a thriving Lunch Club with top class speakers; regular Jazz Lunches, Cabaret Dinners, and a Pudding & Wine Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing