We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“masonic weekend”
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

my wife and i along with 9 personal friends attended my masonic lodge ladies festival weekend , we all agreed that the quality of the food, the cleanliness and most of all the staff were second to none. I must give a special mention to the manager, nothing was too much trouble for him he was attentive and available at all times and made everybody welcome, also theyoung lady who i assume was the under manager on reception, and the first point of contact was couldn't have been improved upon. I, only reluctantly, must make one criticism that being the lack of any form of air conditioning in the main dining/function room which did slightly affect the enjoyment, of an overal excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keefyDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

The staff were the BEST thing about this Hotel,but almost everything else was a very close second My wife and I stayed overnight after a wedding and the facilities were excellent.I was told when booking that most of the rooms had a sea view,but by the time I found our room was tucked to the rear of the building the Hotel was full (because of the wedding) so we did not have the view we had hoped.However I cannot fault the room it was very clean and there were even toiletries in the very nice, if a bit compact shower.The food was excellent,the full English was very nice and as much toast as you could wish,and the all important FRESH pot of TEA.
The only reason I have not given this Hotel 5 stars is because of the mix-up over the room,(possibly a bit harsh) I would definately return to this Hotel

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting the room you are expecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ffloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

For 35 pounds, I couldn't expect more.
A basic single room with sea view. A great breakfast while looking at the beach and very nice service.
Not sure the a more expensive rate (sometimes they charge 60 or more for this room) would be worth.

Room Tip: try to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingTuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Me and my husband went for a week end and stayed in a room with sea view. It was very confortable and the view amazing.
The hotel has also a nice bar and guests can enjoy a drink also late at night. Staff is really well trained and kind.
We will be back there soon.
Michela and Jan

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked for one night in June whilst visiting relatives.

The room was very clean - had everything you need, including toiletries.

The staff were friendly and it was wonderful to see them looking after a dear old lady who lives in Eastbourne, but has no sea view, so she comes every year to spend time overlooking the sea .. had a great chat with her.

Breakfast was lovely .. and sat in the conservatory overlooking the sea and towards the pier .. I relaxed totally.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saffy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here last year and it only gets better. The rooms are nice and clean along with the beds- A pet hate of mine we strip the beds before emptying the cases.
The breakfast couldn't be better and the staff were excellent.
If it wasn't for the long distance from Wales would use more often.

Room Tip: Mostly older people and laid back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed for one week commencing 10th August and was impressed with friendly welcome accompanied by prompt and efficient service from Reception meaning that within minutes I was in my room. Unfortunately my room was at the back of the hotel but on the plus side I was given a double room for sole use. Decor and furnishings showed "quality" but seemed generally "tired" and in need of refurbishment. The room and en-suite was all spotlessly clean with the en-suite offering bath and shower. Loads of cupboard space with plenty of hangers in wardrobe. Unusually, bedding consisted of sheets and blankets instead of modern duvets but importantly the bed was very comfortable and I slept well. The room was thoroughly serviced each day and hospitality tray restocked (with biscuits as well!) My only moan about the room was that the sash window would not stay up and the maid wedged the TV remote in it to keep it open. I actually bought a cheap rubishy video from a charity shop and used that for the week - after all I wanted the remote for it's proper purpose. When I had a look round the back of the hotel I noticed a few other windows had wedges holding them open too. The front of the hotel has a beautiful gleaming white facade and looks so attractive but like others the back is never the same!

Service at breakfast was abolutely first class with plenty of waiters on duty meaning there was no waiting for orders to be taken or for food to arrive. The breakfast menu carried a good selection of fruit juices, cereals, and then the "full English" breakfast which I had each day. Food was attractively served and looked most appetising which was backed up by great taste - well done Chef! I thought the "full English" could have been a bit fuller in that there was a tiny egg (never seen such a small one), piece of bacon, half a tomato, four or five little bits of mushroom,a sausage, a quarter slice of fried bread and finally a few baked beans (few enough to be counted, 69 one morning - how sad is that) Such a shame that it was such a small fry-up when it was so delicious! Endless toast was offered and refills of tea/coffee. I can only think that they aimed their portion size toward the bulk of their other guests - mainly elderly coach groups -who would perhaps find this quite adequate.

The Langham also advertises their Conservatory Restaurant as being the place to dine - and it truly does look so nice all laid up with spotless white table-cloths and all the glassware - but the menu seemed a bit way out and quite expensive. I didn't eat there so can't comment personally but others seemed well suited with their dining experience.

I was in Eastbourne for the duration of the Airborne Show and though Eastbourne was heaving with people, the Langham was sufficiently away from the noise but near enough to get to all the events. The weather too was good and I loved being in a hotel right opposite the beach, and if I re-visit the area would not hesitate to book in again at the Langham.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View if possible as hotel right on beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayBoyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,633 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,892 reviews
1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Address: 43-49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $77 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run AA four-star hotel with an excellent location on the seafront of Eastbourne looking across the bay towards the Pier. We are only a short walk to the pier, town and amenities. There is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel with services running along the coast and into town. The Langham has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining for the past 9 years in a row. We have a thriving Lunch Club with top class speakers; regular Jazz Lunches, Cabaret Dinners, and a Pudding & Wine Club. We are the perfect hotel for any occasion whether it be just a lunch or staying with us in one of our excellent bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing