We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sherwood- again!”
Review of The Sherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sherwood
Ranked #29 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have stayed here on two occasions. First with my mother then again with my sister and niece. On both occasions we have had excellent service, with friendly owners Karen and Jonathan who couldn't do enough to help when my niece was poorly, and helped with luggage etc The breakfasts are second to none, the full English being a full plate and great quality and lots of fresh fruit. Tea and coffee-making and bottled water add to the comforts of the nicely decorated rooms. En-suite shower rooms are well-epuipped with little extras. If you want the theatre, shops, restaurants [not to mention the sea!] on your doorstep, stay nowhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed couple of days given good rate and for the price value for money. Service was good. Breakfast first class huge choice. Nice and relaxed and friendly. Well worth a call don't think you would be disapointed

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juiceup42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights enroute to Southampton to go on a cruise, it was very enjoyable, good breakfast, lovely room and we also had a terrace to sit out on which was a bonus. If we came again we would stay here, lovely people too and car parking on site, which is always good with the price of parking these days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were booked into the B&B next door but something happened, it all fell through and Karen and Jonathon came to our rescue,they had a room for 3 and at a much better price than next door. The welcome was warm, the room perfectly adequate, the bed very comfortable, by now we Kiwi's were well used to climbing stairs and actually enjoyed being higher up. The breakfasts were great and the location very close to the seafront. Would very happily stay here again. Doris the dog is a highlight!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Took our kids for a easter break. Ideal guest house for familys, lovely big comfortable room and great breakfast. No complaints will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was a last minute booking, as we wanted to get away for a few days. The booking was so easy and friendly and so was the price. Upon arrival we were greeted like old friends and given a free parking permit for the duration of our stay. The rooms we had were a Family room and a double room. The family room had a double bed and a single bed (not a put up) and the room was most of all clean, it has an onsuite, TV, Kettle and plenty of hanging space, oh also some biscuits and bottled water. The double room was smaller, but again had all you wanted and was clean.
The breakfast was "FANTASTIC"; you have cereals, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice and a full English breakfast. They would even cook whatever you fancied (within reason), bacon or egg sandwiched and kippers. We were there over Easter and the children even got Easter eggs and an unlimited supply of hot cross buns.
All of the building has been recently decorated and kept of all of the characteristics. The lounge area is extremely comfortable and spacious.
We will be booking again and would have no hesitation in recommending to you this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room as it can be a bit of a hike to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIG_APL_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have just attended a big conference in Devonshire Complex over the weekend, (including Devonshire Hall, Devonshire Theatre, Congress Theatre & in the Lawn Tennis Centre etc.) The hotel is just 1 min walk away, very convenience!
Free on street parking permit provide by the hotel, which also a bonus. (Otherwise cost £2 for 4 hours by meter)
The hotel manager / owner - Jonathan is very attentive. When we made the booking 2 months ago, we have also made a request for the parking permit. Jonathan has respond with email immediately and said no problem. On the date of arrival, we arrived very late, and Jonathan has already prepared the permit for us (for the next day) without us reminding him again. Very pleased.
The full English breakfast is very good & hearty (fried egg, 2 bacon, 2 sausages, muchroom, bake beans, fried bread & toast - white or brown). The fried bread is not oily at all. Usually I'll left this on my plate, but this time I have eaten most of it. Also you can help youself with conflakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit, dried fruit, mixed nuts & fruit juice etc. Much better than the breakfast from budget hotels.
The room decoration is typical & average Victorian style hotel. The room is clean & the bed is comfortable.
Definitely will stay again and recommand to friend when coming to Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban
Oban
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
0 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood

Address: 7 Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne BN21 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from Eastbourne’s beautiful seafront, The Sherwood is only 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre. This attractive late Victorian townhouse offers free Wi-Fi throughout. The individually decorated rooms retain some original features. Each includes a TV with satellite channels and tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bath or shower rooms have complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer (available in reception). In the mornings, The Sherwood provides full English breakfast in the bright dining room. Dishes are served alongside a buffet of cereals, fresh fruit, and yoghurts. Eastbourne is home to numerous restaurants. The Sherwood is just 10 minutes’ walk from Eastbourne Railway Station. Eastbourne offers 3 theatres, where guests can enjoy performances. With chalk cliffs, Beachy Head is just a 10-minute drive away. This is guests' favourite part of Eastbourne, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing