We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was my second stay at this a hotel. First time it had left a good impression so I stayed longer this time. Like many other hotels in Eastbourne it is close to the beach and only a five minute walk from the town centre. The breakfast was above average for this type of hotel and the waitresses were pleasant and helpful as were all staff and management. My single en-suite room was an adequate size but could do with some improvement - the shower is just an attachment to the bath. The major disappointment was the bed - probably the smallest single I have ever tried to sleep in and with a mattress that was desperately worn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrevandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
27
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
folkestone
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

for us the perfect hotel.Food brilliant rooms lovely staff and managers friendly and so efficient.Have not got anything bad to to say.Just go and enjoy a stress free stay

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger higher rooms are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffersFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich Spa, Worcestershire.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Good position, if you can get a decent parking place.
Stayed in room 103...Best outlook.
The food is under whelming.
The cook (can’t call him/her a chef) can only boil vegetables until they are a soggy mess.
The cook has to mask all the foods with thick sauces and gravy.
One meal specifically stuck out, was the lamb in some sort of red wine sauce.
Our group consisted of ….. 2 X 62 year olds, plus one aged 89 and one aged 92, all four of us left it.
None of us found it palatable.
I asked for no sauce nor gravy for one meal, and my meat came out, rock hard and tasteless.
My wife gave up on the meat, and only ate fish at the end.
Cheap vegetables soaking in water is the name of the game, especially courgettes.
The very old ones’ love it….No need for teeth.

The great thing is the staff.
FANTASTIC!!! and nothing too much trouble.
If the owners’ can get a reasonable chef, it could be THE place to stay.

Another problem is…The toilet roll is so thin, you must take your own, or else your finger will disappear to a dark and not very nice place. (You know where I mean).
The beer in the bar is not a true beer, it is a John Smiths pumped through with nitrogen, and how ANYONE can call “Fosters” a lager, is self deluding with no taste.
You can only get Wi Fi in 2 public rooms…They should invest in a internet cable to each room, if they want to attract business people.
The TV when we went, was only 4 terrestrial channels.

A positive…
I slept on a foam mattress, as I do at home, and had some good nights sleep too.

Would I recommend it?
An honest answer is NO, until the food is differently prepared and presented.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctpulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just had a short break in Eastbourne for the air show . Our first time in a hotel since i became disabled . in 1999 . we did nt quite know what to expect but my daughter booked us in The Palm Court Hotel and said we had a room for disabled . On our arrival we discovered everything was as described . There was a ramp to enter the hotel . Also plenty of room to manouvre a wheelchair into the room . The room was quite spacious with a disabled shower and facilities . The hotel also had a lift to all floors . The dining area was five star and the staff were very pleasent and professional also the meals were really nice and plenty of choice of food . Even though the weather spoilt part of the airshow .our stay at the Palm Court Hotel was very enjoyable . . We would certainly stay there again .

Room Tip: As we stayed in a disabled room i can only say it was first class .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scootermandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Wonderfull food, Great staff, A warm friendly hotel well worth a visit. Well placed for the seafront & the town centre, room spaceious comfortable with a good bathroom room, Creaky floorboards adds to its charm, Will return without dought. Wheelchair friendly made my stay easy. Very well maintained.
averygrahame@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahameavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Enjoyed a last minute 1 night stay here. Easy parking, welcoming, spotlessly clean hotel. It is 2 star so dont expect the world but for what I paid I was more than happy.
The bedroom was a good size, the bathroom clean but could have done with a bit of attention. Tea and coffee is provided, breakfast was average, I would opt for cereal and toast next time rather than the cooked.
I agree with the previous comment that at 47 I felt like a spring chicken! I walked into the dining room and thought I had wandered into a care home!
I would def stay again. The only down side was that the bed was not particularly comfortable but all in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seniorsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have been to this Hotel five times, and its predecessor with the same owners, twice.
We look upon it as home from home. The staff, mostly family members, are so friendly and helpful you feel as if they are "your" family too. The food very good, is home cooked and the portions very generous. The lounges are gorgeous - big comfy armchairs and peace and quiet. The bar is well stocked and there is always snacks and drinks of all sorts available. Originally the Hotel was used by the RNIB for blind visitors, so it has a lot of very useful additions, such as a "talking" lift, and a ramp up to the Hotel, and helpful rails in many places. A great place for the elderly and disabled. I have nothing bad to say about the "Palm Court". We love it and will return as often as they can accommodate us!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank springflower03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.6 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: 15 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated a short walk from the Beach, Bandstand and Theatres. All 38 rooms are ensuite with hospitality tray, Cd radio, Television and Telephone. There is a licensed bar with comfortable lounges and a large Plasma screen. A large permanent ramped entrance and a talking lift to all floors make the Hotel fully accesible to wheelchair users. A warm welcome awaits you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing