We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park View Hotel
Ranked #59 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times, which speaks for itself. This is a B&B so there's nothing grand or fancy about it, but most of the rooms are of a reasonable size, the bed is comfy and the shower works well. That's enough for me, but there's more. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent with a choice of various cold items - even had strawberries and cream last time I stayed - in addition to the famous full English cooked breakfast.
The location is excellent. It is a minute from the sea, 10 minutes walk from the station and main shopping area, near several restaurants, and opposite a theatre and the tennis courts where an international event is held the week before Wimbledon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhelen, Owner at Park View Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Ok, Barry,
Glad to see a review from you , we have been able to upgrade our televisions,and slowly are progressing as is financially possible to upgrade the rooms,Internet is free as is car-parking and my breakfast menu has been updated to include eggs Royale!,, and fresh fruit salad.continental with cold meats and brioch or croisants. Chips, black pudding, fried bread to those who wish is available., Thanks and will accomodate you again in June. best wishes,

Helen & Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
21
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Rooms clean, breakfast has lots of choice and chef cooks fresh to order and makes a good poached egg. Quaint rooms with hot water for showers but not modern style. A good old traditional b and b friendly management and very close to theatres and tennis. You can park outside free of charge and some restaurants and cafes are only five minutes away including a great ice cream parlour!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foxy20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I (and Daughter) have just returned from another stay at the Parkview. Alex and Helen were again very welcoming and this is the Fifth time we have stayed.
Last year, at the same time, I had only just left hospital after major surgery, and they did everything to help, with lifting etc..
Excellent Breakfast and always willing to accomodate special diets. we have now stayed in most of the rooms, and whilst they vary in size they are all comfortable and Homely. We note each year that improvements are being made.
Whilst not having all the whistles and bells of some hotels, it is homely, inexpensive and has the advantage of its own car park, a major plus in Eastbourne.
We will be returning next year (already booked) and recommend this hotel for a quiet stay, well located for the Town and the Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but cozy and feel like home. Great breakfast. Free wifi. Close to downdown. Host is very nice and friendly. Sleep very well as you feel like staying home. Price is reasonable. Will stay again if travel again to Eastbourne.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Tiny bed, rain streaming into the room, toilet out of order, money withdrawn at reservation!

When booking I had to give credit card details as usual. What was not usual is that the money was withdrawn from my account straight away! Without my knowledge! After having stayed at the hotel, it's pretty clear why! When we arrived I couldn't believe my eyes that the tiny bed (max width 110-120 cm) should be a double! The room was small and old-fashioned, which would still have been ok. If it didn't start to rain in - first it was tripping, during the night it turned into streams coming in through the window / ceiling. At a closer look we saw that the wallpaper was peeling of the walls, mould had started to spread (obv. not a recent problem!). The flush of the toilet did not work either (had to mend it ourselves). We were unable to find anybody in charge at the reception. The owner was unimpressed by our feedback. Breakfast was ok but could not make up for the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Park View Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi, Thanks for the review,well you stayed for one night, a very very rainy night,with the wind blowing in the direction of your room,in fact when i got a builder in the following day, ,the gutter above was blocked due to it being seagull nesting time,that was sorted ,also we had to repair the water damage to the room, its ok now, ,ill add that if you had contacted me when you were being
uncomfortable with the situation i could have moved you to another room,we live in the basement and also have a phone.the bed is 4.6 which is small but i cant put a bigger bed in that room due to space.You did not comment except after leaving so im sorry i could not help the situation, you will have a refund if you contact me
god bless and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is one of the nicest place we have stayed. Excellent location and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the bedding was spotless, room was large,very clean and tidy.
Highly recommend for anybody to stay at this lovely hotel. Thanks Alex and Helen, see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

A friend booked this for a conference we were attending - great location for the Congress Theatre/Halls. We got the last two rooms available and you could see why. 3a (which he gallantly stayed in) was the tiniest, pokiest room I've seen, and 10 was a garret twin room on the top floor - small window, bit dark, but comfortable enough. Other rooms seemed to be larger/better lit. Breakfast was as expected for a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emandm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhelen, Owner at Park View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi, you were told that the 2 rooms we had left to sell were small ,although en-suite, those rooms we only sell in very busy periods as, they are small , but clean.when asked if you wanted the rooms, you said yes, your opinions you gave after departure, as is usual with difficult people,
when you took pictures of the room, they were not as the room is presented, you allready had some of your belongings on the beds and also a laptop, if you were not happy, why not say at the time of stay, i would have returned your money ,and also have given you a kick, outa my place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#32 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#5 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ellesmere
The Ellesmere
#65 of 78 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albert & Victoria
Albert & Victoria
#4 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravilious
Ravilious
#8 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Hotel

Property: Park View Hotel
Address: 8 Wilmington Gardens, Eastbourne BN21 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Park View Hotel is a small Independently run Hotel, offering a personal, individual service for all its guests. In order to make full use of this, it is best to ring, and specify any particular requests. Opposite the Congress Theatre, the Towner Art Gallery, and Winter Gardens, near to the Devonshire Park Tennis Centre, also very near to Darley road, Brighton universities. Parkview has it's own private car-park for 9 cars: it is best to ring if you require a reserved space, free road side parking is available at the front of the hotel. Victorian and traditional decor, all rooms en-suite, access to internet in all rooms,free.....also a lift. Within walking distance from the town centre and the sea-side, room service available for breakfast. Full English breakfasts, also smoked salmon with poached eggs, kippers if you like, and continental, cheeses, jams and English honey. Breakfast from 7.30-9.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing