We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice simple hotel”
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice simple hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Afton for a weekend in Eastbourne and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was fine, smallish but not unduly so and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and the Afton represented very good value for money: recommended.

Room Tip: A sea view room is fine, Eastbourne isn't the liveliest of places so you ned have no concerns ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Nice, simple and good value for money sums us up well and I'm glad you noticed how friendly our staff are. i hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    107
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
66
119
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I were booked in by my brother for out 1 st anniversary, as a gift. It was the perfect location just by the sea front and pier.The staff were friendly and welcoming the decoration was nice with beautiful freshflowers in the lobby. Our room was warm and comfy. Our breakfast waiter ( Steve?) was very polite and helpful. We Would defiantly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnvcsapsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and many congratulations on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Sent my in- laws to this hotel as a Birthday Surprise. They had stayed here on previous occasions and always enjoyed themselves. We paid £240 for a four day break bed and breakfast which is extremely good value. The room was of a high quality and breakfast was very enjoyable. Special thanks to Jason and his staff who made them feel really special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that your in-laws had a good time with us and enjoyed their special celebration. I'll pass on your kind comments to Jason & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

found THE AFTON HOTEL very good value for the price we paid .the food good .avaried menu ,and served quickly and hot .my room was clean bed comfy ,although airritating hum from the extractor fan? woke me up every moning.but sill enjoyed myself,and would return there dont go if you are disabled to many steps.its close to all amenities

Room Tip: stay in the front some with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you liked the hotel although it's a shame you were disturbed by a hum. We would have been happy to move you if we'd known. i appreciate your comments about the 4 steps to our entrances. We have a lift inside of course, but we're aware that the steps can be problematic for some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Also stayed at The Afton Hotel on an Easter coach break. Given the reasonable costs, excellent service and great location of the hotel, I sometimes think I have fallen amongst 'professional grumblers' when I hear fellow-holiday-makers grumbling about hotel deals like this. What more could anyone want or expect for such reasonable cost? I don't have any complaints and would definitely stay at The Afton again, on a similar break.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet bedroom at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloiseTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
As you appreciate, it's difficult in this current economic climate to keep standards up & costs down and I'm thrilled that you feel we achieve it. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Easter as part of a Coach Holiday - central location by the Pier. Entertainment every night. Good food and outstanding service. Would definately return and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubble646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and I'm very pleased that you had a good time with us and will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I deserved a well earned break and we found a fab hotel in Eastbourne .Rooms were beautifully clean ,food excellent and staff all well presented and very helpful .Nothing too much trouble. Close to all amenities .Will definitely be back , thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentYorkshireLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm glad that you felt you'd had an enjoyable and restful break with us and we'll look forward to welcoming you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing