We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loriston Guest House
Ranked #37 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Harrow UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked to stay here at the last moment, usually we would stay in Hotels and have not stayed in a guest house in many years. Our expectations were exceeded starting with a really warm welcome, we were shown our room The Windsor which was really excellent. To be honest the size of the room and the decor we could of been in a more expensive upmarket hotel, spotlessly clean and well worth the money. The room was quiet and we had a good nights sleep, the bed was very comfortable, breakfast was also really good and kept us going all day.

Value for money andreally caring owners Patrik and Gwen (Patrik had just come back from a days Fishing and had a kitchen full of cod - Very jealous )

Room Tip: Go for the Windsor - Large Room and really great comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    19
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
18
120
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just returned from a fantastic one-week stay at the Loriston in Eastbourne. It is a wonderful place to stay! The atmosphere at the Loriston is very welcoming and friendly. Everything is very clean, comfortable, cosy and beautiful decorated. The Loriston is perfectly situated for walking to the sea or into Eastbourne town centre. Most of all we really enjoyed Gwen’s warm hospitality and Patrick’s amazing breakfast! In fact, Gwen and Patrick are lovely hosts!
We will definitely be returning to the Loriston Guest House...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Hope to meet you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronten
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our few days in Eastbourne in the Loriston. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. It is beautifully decorated and very clean. Patrick and Gwen were very friendly but not intrusive. It is close to the sea and town. Great location for visiting Brighton and Rye.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallybsouth, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your first visit.
Hope to see you again.
Thank you for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed at the Loriston and were delighted with the friendly welcome and very comfortable room which was exceptionally clean and beautifully presented . The breakfast was very good with great choice. Our only disappointment was not being given the room we booked over the internet but the room we were given was fine. Gwen and Patrick were very friendly and I would highly recommend the Loriston. The Marine pub within a stones throw of the guest house is excellent for evening meals so you don't have to go far. The guest house is also almost on the beach - so no distance to walk to the promenade.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get the room you have booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Traveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallybsouth, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
First of all thank you for your nice review. It was lovely to meet you both.
Thing I am upset over is when you booked online on my website the confirmation they sent me said that you booked the Windsor.
That is why I put you both in there. Why would I not give you the Lushington as requested. Both rooms are of the same quality.
What puzzles me more is why you said nothing to me when i showed you to your room or at anytime during your stay. And then mentioned it on here that I can't understand
On leaving I asked if you both enjoyed your stay you said it had been very nice.
I have had a word with the online company to make sure it does not happen again
Anyway glad that you loved the room you did stay in.
Hope you will return to see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend stay here and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Gwen and Patrick are wonderful hosts and Patricks breakfasts are out of this world thank you we will be back to this lovey friendly place. It is a lovey quite very clean friendly easy to park (free too) close to the sea, near by pub (The Marine) wonderful food too

Room Tip: The bigger rooms have a lovey side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallybsouth, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for great review
Hope your cold is getting better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had to come on here and write a review, because my stay was wonderfull and relaxing. due to a very modern and clean and very spacious room. the stay was fantastic because of the owners gwen and pat. very welcoming and could not do enough for me and my wife. the free parking was a great bonus for us. As we entered the owners helped us to our room withs our heavy bags. We were advised about things we can do and great places to dine within 40 meters of the Loriston Guest House. Also, we had not realised what a great location to the beach and to the town and many places we could visit. The best breakfast we have ever had. Huge choice.No wonder they had a breakfast award. I could go on but would highly recommend a visit to see for yourself.

Room Tip: i would advise room 3 with the 7ft bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallybsouth, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was so nice to meet you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Eastbourne which was made even better by the lovely stay we had at the Loriston Guest House. Gwen and Patrick were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The guest house and the room we had (Devonshire) was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was excellent. I suffer from Coeliac disease and Gwen and Patrick were very accommodating in making sure my breakfast was gluten free, for which I am very grateful. We will definitely return to the Loriston next time we visit Eastbourne and highly recommend a stay at this guest house.

Mark & San, Birmingham.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallybsouth, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was so nice to meet you
Hope you will come and stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Albert & Victoria
Albert & Victoria
#7 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Bed & Breakfast
Pebble Beach Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#4 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Guesthouse East
The Guesthouse East
#17 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sheldon
The Sheldon
#23 of 77 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loriston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loriston Guest House

Property: Loriston Guest House
Address: 17 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Loriston Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loriston is an award-winning 5 star Victorian guest house, dating back to 1891 adorned with lovely paintings, situated in a quiet area just 40 meters from the beach, decorated and furnished to a very high standard. All room have flat screen TVs, hairdryers, tea/coffee tray, free WIFI, ironing facilities, bath robes, large fluffy towels etc. Our large superior rooms have large en-suite with power showers, side sea views, one room has 6ft bed other 7ft American bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loriston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loriston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing