We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not that bad!”
Review of Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier Hotel
Ranked #52 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Ok, the room has not been cleaned every day and the whole hotel looks a bit shabby, BUT the breakfast was good and the staff there is very friendly and helpfull. I payed EUR 30/person/night - so I didn't expect that much.
The location is perfect!
As I complained about dirty linen, I imediately have been moved to anohter room (bigger than originally booked and with see view).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Pier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 265 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and won't be coming back! £54 per night was a bargain especially for the fab pier and seaview. However the room was really basic. The carpet was dirty and the bathroom needed a good clean. The staff were ok. The breakfast was fine (if you avoided the pink sausages!). We have since found a much more modern hotel on the seafront which we will use next time. The Pier Hotel is in need of a severe revamp to keep up with the modern times.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank rebel187200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My partner treated myself and him to a night here to enable us to have some drinks out in town rather then usually one of us driving, what a mistake that was.
We walked in to find a 4 post bed (sounds nice you might say?!) not in the slightest....the bedding was bright striped and the decor in general very ghastly. The reception area even on a sunny day was dull and dark. Staff were friendly!
But the room consisted of a bath shower...the bathroom stunk of mould and had pubic hairs on the floor, the shower (as i refused to get a lovely relaxing bath - which i would usually do when there is the facility), went from extreme cold to extreme hot and no happy medium. The toilet seat was falling off, so not the nicest feeling when you do your business. The pillows....there were two each, but that doesn't say much as they were so old and thin, however the sheets were clean (thank god).
To top it off, i went to make a cup of tea and there was a cubic hair on the milk...argh.
The nights sleep wasn't great due to thin walls and hearing people going up and down the stairs all night, the pegions woke us up early as well as being in the most uncomfortable bed in the world. We would have considered driving home if both of us weren't over the limit, but we had no choice really.
My partner looked up on the internet on his phone and saw the reviews on here about breakfast, so we just checked out and went home for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brighton_gurl_85uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Excellent location and really helpful staff, but that's all. The hotel is a dump to say the least. The room was really filthy, it seemed as if it simply had not been cleaned after the last guest apart from the fresh linen. There were spiderwebs in all corners and dust everywhere but the bathroom was the worst: the tiles had surely not been cleaned thoroughly for weeks, there was mould and scale around the bath and hairs and dirt on the floor. At the breakfast, the crockery was so disgusting that you didn't want to use it. It looked like plates and glasses had only quickly been rinsed with cold water. This hotel is simply not recommendable and it definitely does not live up to its 4 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelledPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!! How it has 4 stars I do not know. When I was given the key to my room and it hadn't been cleaned (scum - really bad scum in the bath) and the bed was unmade I hoped it was just an error but my son's room had someone elses belongings as they had moved a guest without her knowledge. The place was filthy, our rooms not serviced at all throughout the whole stay, even though we complained. We were just told that staff (who were under age) were being trained next week - no apology. Breakfast is a shambles and I found a previous guests dirty sock by the bed!! There is thick hair in all the bathrooms - disgusting! How they have the cheek to run this place as is I am amazed they have any custom at all. Stay at the travel lodge down the road - We stayed there last year and while basic, its clean, friendly and nearly half the price!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed only the one night at The Pier Hotel, we paid £54 for a double room with see view and although it wasnt the best hotel we have used, it was ok. Room was basic, could do with a new carpet but was clean and bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay one or two nights, good value for money and the English breakfast was good. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Absolute bargain - at the end of the day you do get what you pay for so don't pay too much attention to the negative comments on here. And for a £36 night stay (incl full English), you can't complain! The room was a good size, clean and tidy and had full facilities (TV with freeview, tea/coffee, extra bedding, comfy bed). We had a pier view (Great location) and was able to park right outside the hotel (free parking 6pm - 8am so didn't have to pay). Also had a really warm welcome from the reception lady - very friendly and helpful!

Negative points:
- Shower works fine but did dribble down the wall.
- There was a floodlight right outside our huge sash windows which stayed on all night and the light did shine through the edge of the black out curtains.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
16.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban
Oban
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Address: 4 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $75 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing