We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!”
Review of Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier Hotel
Ranked #53 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

A receptionist who was busy biting her nails gave us our room key. There was laundry stacked in the hallway and the lights were strung with cobwebs. Our room was basic with no phone or intercom and the bed headboard was thick with dust. The duvet cover was stained and inside out - had it been changed after the last guest ? We couldn't tell. We paid extra for a seaview room but were actually looking straight into the pier entrance which was busy and fully illuminated until 3am.The hoel had a karaoke bar that was full on until 1pm. Breakfast was basic and tea and coffe were made at 7.30pm and left to stand in. It was an exhausting experience. Overall ? ATROCIOUS.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    60
    64
    41
    48
See reviews for
38
120
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The room was cheap. The location was good, right on the sea front by the pier. We should have known it was going to be a bad choice. We thought, "It's only one night, we can put up with one night, right? It's just one night..."

Wrong.

The room was a decent size, twin beds. The room was, clean, overall but the carpets looked like someone had spilt bleach over them. We had a room at the back that overooked the barbed wire encrusted back yard. The window had been left open and there were about 10 flies flying around the room. We blasted them with hairspray and wafted them out of the window. We came back to sleep and the room was really stuffy, but too noisy if we had the window open. I got about 2 hrs sleep that night and could feel things crawling on me. My friend woke up with insect bites. The bed covers had black spots on them. The shower was really low pressure because most of the water was coming out of a leak in the pipe.

Apparently the breakfast was good. I wouldn't know as I left at 7am....

The staff were nice though, but I still wouldn't recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Halifax
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2009

From arriving at the Hotel we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We booked a sea view and the view did not dissapoint. The room was spotless and the bathroom more than adequate. The heating was on. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and plenty of it. When my mother and I went back to the hotel on the Saturday afternoon and were sat in the lounge we were asked if we would like a cup of tea and were brought a pot of tea for two at no charge. We were central for the shops and restaurants and pubs. Would I go again definitily

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I recently stayed at the Pier Hotel as a single traveller. The owners (who are new to the hotel) were welcoming and friendly. However, I found the room I stayed in was dingy, dark and the furniture outdated. The room was the size of a box room. Although it did have an en suite bathroom that was adequate, I found the room needed brightening up as it overlooked the back of the other hotels. The heating was on high and when I tried to turn the radiator down there wasn't a knob to turn it lower.
The staff were lovely and you couldn't have asked for a better breakfast. I really do wish them a success with the hotel but the single rooms just need to be brightened up to make it look as though there is more light in there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
16.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oban
Oban
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#36 of 40 in Eastbourne
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
#25 of 40 in Eastbourne
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#18 of 40 in Eastbourne
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: 4 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing