We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pier Hotel
Ranked #67 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have just returned from a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Ok yes its old and in need of refurbishment but the new manager is doing an amazing job here. We had a lovely sea view in a pleasant clean room. Breakfast could be better organised with regard to glasses for juice and tables could have been cleared a little quicker. Would return here again as to be honest we got what we paid for which was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    63
    42
    47
See reviews for
35
114
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was worried about coming here after reading the reviews but I can honestly say it was great. Staff very friendly, rooms are clean, and had a lovely full English in the morning. Only down side we could not get the tv to work but that's not a big issue. Great value. Highly recommend this thanks :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Friend booked this hotel on a spur of the moment for a girlie break, glad she did. Hotel clean, staff very friendly and pleasant to talk too, our room overlooked the pier, though a bit noisy at chucking out time still worth the view. Fried English breakfast was tasty and not greasy. Would defiantly stay there again as plenty of restaurants near by and the beach on the doorstep. Only grumble we had was the single mattresses were a bit lumpy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemy4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Pier hotel for four nights and although we could not get a room with sea view, the room we had (106) was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was good and freshly cooked so worth waiting a few minutes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful. This is an old building so all the rooms are different sizes and layouts.

Overall there were some decorative faults but there is a clear attempt to sort them out.

We have previously stayed at the Grand Hotel which was fabulous but at £300/ night you would expect quality in all areas.

Therefore at £40/night for a comfortable room, clean bathroom and decent served breakfast the Pier Hotel was a good value base.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ractliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked this hotel on a whim at 3am for that night, one night only for myself and my daughter. Booked on-line, twin bed, sea facing for £50 B&B. We found the room very clean although coffee mugs were chipped. There was no problem getting extra tea, coffee & milk on request. The bathroom was very clean and looked newly decorated, lovely powerful shower.
We both slept very well and although a window was left open all night we were undisturbed by any noise from the pier.
Breakfast was adequate although disappointed we were not asked how we wanted our eggs cooked, they were served fried but noticed other guests having scrambled/poached.
On-line info stated there was no lift, however next morning we found that there was a lift going to the second floor, very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalag194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our room was not available, so as a couple got put in a single room, dirty sheets apparently house keeping went home, the bed was wonky as is the room, filthy bath, paint falling off , thick dusty bare bulbs no shade, it's rotten

Room Tip: Choose ANOUTHER hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arewethereyet987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Basildon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. My wife had booked it online and paid a £6 deposit. When we checkin and paid the Hotel insisted we paid the full rate saying the deposit isnt actually taken unless we cancel with no notice. When we returned home and my wife checked our banking online we saw the £6 deposit had been taken despite the Hotel saying it wouldn't have been My wife rang and was told she needed to talk to the manager to get it refunded. The manager was never available and never returned our phone calls and we never got the money refunded. We wont return there again after being ripped off like that.
The room we had was basic with creaky floorboards and was generally a bit tired but did have tea and coffee facilities and was at least clean. The bath had a dripping tap which had been like it so long it had left a limescale stain down the bath. The most basic of maintenance would have prevented this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#31 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pevensey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ellesmere
The Ellesmere
#65 of 78 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
17 Wilmington Square
17 Wilmington Square
#20 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: 4 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing