We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the hotle from hell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pier Hotel
Ranked #67 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“the hotle from hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the worst hotle i have ever stay in,our room smell so bad all the time of what i just dont no,our under sheet was so dirty i just couldnt belive it,staff not very helpfull!was told at one point its not there problem!we was only asking about the parking,We only went back to the hotle to sleep,we spent most of our stay in the hotle a cross the rd calles the Afton,which i must say is lovely with lovely people runing,So i no wear i will be staying next...And it wont be the pier i can tell you that,So would say please do not stay at the pier hotle.Stay at the afton hotle just a cross the rd.

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    63
    42
    47
See reviews for
35
114
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
private
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I would have preferred to give this hotel no stars at all. Although it was opposite the pier and thus technically had a view, our room was on the top floor with windows high up in the wall. The windows were wedged shut with chunks of wood, the bathroom door had obviously been burst open so the lock and latch were not working. The room was very dark and badly decorated.

After midnight an event in the pier vomited its participants onto the pavement opposite the hotel where they stayed, shouting to the accompaniment of police sirens.

The breakfast was OK, but the dining room was full of other guests who wondered what on earth they were doing there.

The hotel was very cheap, but I suggest you either pay more for a decent hotel or use one of the many B&B's in the town.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cc460233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The staff at this hotel couldn't have been more helpful. They accommodated our requests to store our bicycles overnight. They were very friendly and welcoming and for the price that we paid this hotel offered an outstanding value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sublima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff were friendly (when you could find them). There were way too few staff so breakfast was chaotic. They couldn't seem to get anyone's order right. There was never enough of anything put out so people had to wait for more to be brought out. The toaster didn't work properly and everyone had to queue up to do their own toast. There were never enough cups, glasses, butter and bread put out. They should have at least 2 coffee machines on the go as it constantly ran out and we had to wait for fresh to be made. I think they could do with replacing a few things such as toilet seats as ours had a questionable brown stain on it which looked like it was never going to come out. The main ground floor areas were nicely furnished and well presented but the lift area was very shabby and had the feel of being in an inner city high rise. Now for the plus points - the bed was comfortable with immaculate bedding and was freshly made every day. The bathroom was very nice. There was plenty of hot water and the shower pressure was good. Being right opposite the pier meant it was very noisy at night, and there was a noisy club in the hotel basement which is the main reason I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay as near to the top as possible to avoid the noisy club downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

my wife and i just spent a 3 day break at the pier hotel, fromthe time we checked in until the time we leftthe overall stay was very good,friendly staff good food,comfortable bed,couple bad poinsts if i was bieng picky,when it rains you can have a free shower going through the main door plus the room we stayed in could do whith an update

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I understand the hotel is under new management so a transition period has to be taken into consideration however a good decorater , carpenter and Carpit fitter is badly needed . The power of listening when a complaint about wether something i s cooked or not is also a requirement

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#32 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pevensey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ellesmere
The Ellesmere
#65 of 78 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
17 Wilmington Square
17 Wilmington Square
#20 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Property: Pier Hotel
Address: 4 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing