We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1 night only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was nice, very slow lift and lots of stairs.
Breakfast was a very somber affair, slow staff was scared to talk!
We had booked an upgraded room but was just a basic despite paying £85.
Mo Mambo's resturant on seaview road is a must-best italian i have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our mission to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and service, that is why we are very disappointed to read your comments about our breakfast and staff. We are buying and using the local produce, vegetables and fruits because we know they are at their best. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Eastbourne and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    137
    77
    30
    34
See reviews for
54
224
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My cousin & I shared a twin room, which was very nice, we had a balcony & sea View, the standard of cleaning was a bit hit & miss, but the room in general served our needs, a lovely big wardrobe but lacked draw space, an added bonus was having a fridge in the room, although it did look like a safe!!! The staff were very friendly. The breakfasts were really good, but again would have been nice if there was a selection of fruits. The evening meal menu was ok, but felt it lacked imagination, but the service was good. The entertainment, again was ok, but the room (Ballroom) needs a lot of up dating. The hotel is situated in an ideal spot, not far from the pier or the main shopping centre, & has a bus stop close by. Overall, a nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: we had a 2nd floor room, with balcony to sit out on. But we did miss not having any draws to put ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocookit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a review. We are very pleased to read your comments about the friendliness of our staff. We have passed this on to our employees. We are glad that your liked your room but we have addressed the cleanliness issue and spoken with the employee in question. We would like you to know that we enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to have enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our room (with balcony and Sea view) very nice.
Very big, nice and clean room. Lovely sea view.
Perfect English breakfast.

the hotel is not in the middle of town, but close enough to everything.
Nice service from staff.
We would come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The East Beach some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Double and single rooms/Saturday evening. Hotel is located right on the sea front, 5 minute walk to the pier. No hotel parking, though you can park along the sea front (if you can find a space) or like us park behind the hotel in a side road (for free). Not sure if finding a space, this close to the hotel, would be possible in high season. Hotel looks a little 'tired' generally, though they are renovating slowly to bring up to date. Some rooms already 'updated', the double room (deluxe) had replacement windows and was newly decorated. The single rooms we had were not yet updated and were very small, but perfectly adequate for our need.

I found the staff extremely accommodating and friendly. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble and the reception staff in particular were very helpful. The cost the single room (£32) I felt was very good value for money, when you consider that included a very hearty breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere to lay your head for a night and are not too fussed about things being squeaky clean and freshly painted, then this could be the one for you. I would go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for an 'updated' room if able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your value feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly try to improve ourselves to achieve the highest quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

this is my 3rd time in eastbourne,beautefull place,quiet,amazing Nature sourounding,easy reach ble by foot or bus,I had for the first time been Miss leading by laterooms.com,i choosed my room twin or double standart!,after i finalized,paid+all my details and accepted all term+conditilaterooms.com had changed my original book and down grade me,withouth let me know,to a small single bed,and still charged me for double\1its against the law in europe,rang them,,they done nothing..! not honest!!the recepcionist very lovely+polite+helpfull yound lady,felt?saw my disapointement,and upgrade me out of charge.!the staff are wonderful..,definetelly would come back..

Room Tip: i first been given room no.19,just ordinary single,but they understood my drama with lateroom.com,!t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeypim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate your compliments about our receptionist who provided a friendly environment during your recent stay with us and was able to resolve your room issue. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location, fantastic host and clean rooms is how I would characterize the East Beach Hotel. It was great to wake up to sunlight wafting into the room. The friendly people even helped us with heating up our son's food.

Great place, good value for money.

Room Tip: Value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brijesh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel for 3 main reasons: location (it was opposite the beach), 4 poster bed and spa/jacuzzi en suite.

Upon arrival, we encountered our first problem - parking! The hotel offer no on site parking, if you wish to park along the seafront its only £4.00 for the whole day.....but try and find a space!! After driving around for half an hour we got lucky and found a space about 500 yards from the Hotel.

Check-in was easy, our room was ready early (we arrived at about 11.45am). The hotel was dated, but to be honest we were only staying overnight so werent that bothered.

The room pretty much ticked all the boxes; the view was stunning, right across the bay and the bed was great just as advertised! The bathroom was also stunning with a deep jacuzzi bath and his/hers sinks. There was a door to the side of the bay windows which opened out onto the balcony.The balcony area wasn't private and ran across the width of the front of the hotel, you could walk in front of the windows of the rooms next door if you wish (which we didn't, obviously!) We noticed an issue when we tried to run the taps in the bathroom and found no cold water - and the hot water was very hot! Later we ran a bath and put the spa on.....nothing. It sounded like it was working but no bubbles at all. We tried to have a shower but the water was too hot. I alerted reception - oh by the way there was no phones in the room so had to get the lift down! - and the site guys came up within half an hour. After 10 mins they said the pump had broken so no spa/jacuzzi.

The bed was quite comfortable, but the walls are paper thin and floors creak everywhere so didnt get much sleep sadly.

Woke up to a much needed full english breakfast! Only to find my 'full' english consisted of 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon some beans and toast. Ok, i suppose it was 'acceptable' but for the price paid for this room i expected a bit more??

The shocking part came when we checked out. i questioned with the receptionist about the lack of a spa and the possibility of a part refund for our stay - a reasonable request i felt!? She became very defensive and explained (in her broken english) that the room spec had been changed at the beginning of the year as they knew the spa wasnt working! The spec of the room we had booked had most definitely included the use of a working ensuite jacuzzi.

So, in conclusion i would say this is a dated hotel in desperate need of modernisation but acceptable for most. Location is good right opposite the seafront and a good 10 min walk to the pier - 15-20 min walk to the centre of town. Parking is atrocious.

Still waiting to hear from Booking.com to see if we get a small refund!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Property: East Beach Hotel
Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing