We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of East Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Double and single rooms/Saturday evening. Hotel is located right on the sea front, 5 minute walk to the pier. No hotel parking, though you can park along the sea front (if you can find a space) or like us park behind the hotel in a side road (for free). Not sure if finding a space, this close to the hotel, would be possible in high season. Hotel looks a little 'tired' generally, though they are renovating slowly to bring up to date. Some rooms already 'updated', the double room (deluxe) had replacement windows and was newly decorated. The single rooms we had were not yet updated and were very small, but perfectly adequate for our need.

I found the staff extremely accommodating and friendly. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble and the reception staff in particular were very helpful. The cost the single room (£32) I felt was very good value for money, when you consider that included a very hearty breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere to lay your head for a night and are not too fussed about things being squeaky clean and freshly painted, then this could be the one for you. I would go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for an 'updated' room if able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your value feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly try to improve ourselves to achieve the highest quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    138
    77
    30
    35
See reviews for
55
229
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

this is my 3rd time in eastbourne,beautefull place,quiet,amazing Nature sourounding,easy reach ble by foot or bus,I had for the first time been Miss leading by laterooms.com,i choosed my room twin or double standart!,after i finalized,paid+all my details and accepted all term+conditilaterooms.com had changed my original book and down grade me,withouth let me know,to a small single bed,and still charged me for double\1its against the law in europe,rang them,,they done nothing..! not honest!!the recepcionist very lovely+polite+helpfull yound lady,felt?saw my disapointement,and upgrade me out of charge.!the staff are wonderful..,definetelly would come back..

Room Tip: i first been given room no.19,just ordinary single,but they understood my drama with lateroom.com,!t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeypim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate your compliments about our receptionist who provided a friendly environment during your recent stay with us and was able to resolve your room issue. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location, fantastic host and clean rooms is how I would characterize the East Beach Hotel. It was great to wake up to sunlight wafting into the room. The friendly people even helped us with heating up our son's food.

Great place, good value for money.

Room Tip: Value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brijesh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel for 3 main reasons: location (it was opposite the beach), 4 poster bed and spa/jacuzzi en suite.

Upon arrival, we encountered our first problem - parking! The hotel offer no on site parking, if you wish to park along the seafront its only £4.00 for the whole day.....but try and find a space!! After driving around for half an hour we got lucky and found a space about 500 yards from the Hotel.

Check-in was easy, our room was ready early (we arrived at about 11.45am). The hotel was dated, but to be honest we were only staying overnight so werent that bothered.

The room pretty much ticked all the boxes; the view was stunning, right across the bay and the bed was great just as advertised! The bathroom was also stunning with a deep jacuzzi bath and his/hers sinks. There was a door to the side of the bay windows which opened out onto the balcony.The balcony area wasn't private and ran across the width of the front of the hotel, you could walk in front of the windows of the rooms next door if you wish (which we didn't, obviously!) We noticed an issue when we tried to run the taps in the bathroom and found no cold water - and the hot water was very hot! Later we ran a bath and put the spa on.....nothing. It sounded like it was working but no bubbles at all. We tried to have a shower but the water was too hot. I alerted reception - oh by the way there was no phones in the room so had to get the lift down! - and the site guys came up within half an hour. After 10 mins they said the pump had broken so no spa/jacuzzi.

The bed was quite comfortable, but the walls are paper thin and floors creak everywhere so didnt get much sleep sadly.

Woke up to a much needed full english breakfast! Only to find my 'full' english consisted of 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon some beans and toast. Ok, i suppose it was 'acceptable' but for the price paid for this room i expected a bit more??

The shocking part came when we checked out. i questioned with the receptionist about the lack of a spa and the possibility of a part refund for our stay - a reasonable request i felt!? She became very defensive and explained (in her broken english) that the room spec had been changed at the beginning of the year as they knew the spa wasnt working! The spec of the room we had booked had most definitely included the use of a working ensuite jacuzzi.

So, in conclusion i would say this is a dated hotel in desperate need of modernisation but acceptable for most. Location is good right opposite the seafront and a good 10 min walk to the pier - 15-20 min walk to the centre of town. Parking is atrocious.

Still waiting to hear from Booking.com to see if we get a small refund!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 days on a coach tour, really enjoyed the hotel, lovely clean room, not 5 star as some reviewers seem to expect but for what we paid it was really good value for money. The food was good and the service excellent. Fortunately we had a sea view room as well which was an added bonus. As this is a smallish hotel you did feel more comfortable and relaxed.Would definitely recommend a visit, and will be going back ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent location, room very good, en-suite was the only thing that spoiled our stay.
Do not like sitting on the toilet in front of a window that has clear glass so that passing pedestrians can see you. Food was excellent ( my compliments to the chef ) and entertainment every night was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1944ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear compliments for our chef, certainly we have passed this on to him. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Last weekend my wife and I went to Eastbourne on a coach holiday. The weather for the most part was fine but at times a little windy.
We stayed at the East Beach hotel and we had a wonderful view of the sea and the pier from our room. Our room was spotlessly clean well decorated and the bed was very comfortable, we even had a small fridge. We also had a small flat screen TV with all the usual free view channels.
We enjoyed our dinners and breakfasts which were served by a very pleasant and efficient staff.
This is a very nice, friendly, well run hotel and I hope we will be able to stay here again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEastBeachHotel, Manager at East Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear such a positive feedback. Thank you so much for taking your time to comment on your stay. We are glad you found us nice and friendly. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Beach Hotel

Property: East Beach Hotel
Address: 23-25 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Weyanoke Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Beach Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing