We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather Grand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rather Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

As regulars to Eastbourne, we have always wanted to stay there and this trip was the perfect opportunity. We were given room 7. Well, what can I say :-). It was huge, I have lived in smaller flats. We didn't dine there apart from the breakfast which was included in the price. We were very impressed with the accommodation, the staff also excelled in their attentiveness & service.

Yes its a bit tired, but it is Victorian architecture & def better than 3 star, closer to 4.

Room Tip: Room 7 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    31
    23
    12
See reviews for
21
64
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

To be honest, The Chatsworth is a bit better than a 3 star hotel but not quite a 4 star experience either. The staff are great - helpful, cheerful and hard working. The location is good too, a short walk into town for shopping and restaurants and near all the bus routes too. Our room (a twin) was fine - a good size, a side view onto the sea, the beds comfortable, and quite recently refurbished. However, the public areas of the hotel look a little tired and the styling is, frankly bizarre. The morning breakfast was fine and the kitchen coped very well (it was a full house) and the waiting staff were admirable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked a long weekend at the Chatsworth for my mother as a birthday surprise. On arrival the Manager and staff were warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. This continued for the whole of our stay - the service provided was of a very high quality . Our room was clean and bright. Although the shower room was a little snug it was to be fair spotlessly clean. The bed linen was very white and the towels soft. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast each morning. The portion sizes were large and the quality excellent. This little gem of a hotel is in a great location and offers great value for money. We intend to book again for a longer stay next spring

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view on the 3rd or 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great location, very convenient for the attractions.
The room was clean and comfortable if a little dated, no net curtains in the windows on the 1st floor, so be careful when undressing !!
The street lights were very bright and shone through the curtains but I think they go off at some point, take an eye shade just to be certain if you need a dark room to sleep.
Good shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fabulous customer service
I only stayed at the hotel for one night. A fabulous location, right on the sea front, and fantastic value for money. The service provided by the team was outstanding. The rooms were clean, the bed linen was crisp and whiter than white. The only down side was the hotel was looking a little tired from inside, and could do with updating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonki_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

While I was happy with the accommodation in this hotel I was having difficulties with the lift on which the inner gate was to highly sprung and if I didn't keep my walking stick in the track the gate could knock you Off your balance. Also a lot of steps at the entrance

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a long weekend there staff were very attentive. It has kept the old vintage look which I liked, even though the lift started with a jolt it was a comfortable ride.
It's family friendly, there were elderly people too, everyone was pleasant with each other. The pace was sedate and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaLeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#38 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#22 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
#26 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#24 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: East Sussex Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are currently under major refurbishment and will reopen in March 2017. thank you The Management. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing