We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten Free Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Parade Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Brynna, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gluten Free Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Leisuretime bus trip. Excellent location.Lucky to change rooms to a sea view.Our room was spotlessly clean and had obviously been renovated.Not all rooms were as lucky apparently.We thoroughly enjoyed the food Good breakfast.Not a 5star buffet but nicely cooked breakfast.Dinner menu was 3 courses.Menu was traditional dishes Florida cocktail,rice pudding ,peach melba made us smile.The beef and pork were exceptional.Small bar /lounge with pleasant entertainment 3 out of 4 nights.Not for the youngsters but then Eastbourne isn't .Provision for gluten free meals was excellent .soups gravy sausages my own deserts especially made.{I usually end up with icecream}Excellent value for the price.Friendly owners and staff.Hygiene rating 5.Not luxury but good value for what we paid .Thanks for a good week.!!!

Room Tip: Sea View .Room 29 renovated .Saw another room not so good.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Many thanks for the great review. We take dietary requirements seriously and always try to accommodate the needs of our guests, where possible. We hope to see you back again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
37
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at the Marine Parade Hotel during the airshow this year. Our room was nice, clean, spacious, with everything that we needed including a generous supply of coffee/tea making facilities. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant, particularly the young woman who greeted us when we first arrived. I thought that it was a very nice touch that the owners had put out a trolley of essentials such as water, hot chocolate, crisps, chocolate and a selection of post cards, all very reasonably priced in the main reception, this saved us a few journeys to the shops during our stay. We also noticed that they offer free wifi to their guests although we didn't make use of this. Breakfast was nice, with a continental selection on offer and a cooked breakfast made to order along with a hot drink of choice. The building is right on the seafront and we had a side view of the sea from our room, with lovely tall windows that made the room lovely and light from the sun in the morning. We had a lovely relaxing stay and this will definitely be our first choice next time we're in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blaueskitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us such a positive review. It is nice to know that our efforts are appreciated, and we hope to see you back again to see what further improvements we have undertaken. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Hi! I recently celebrated my 40th b'day and booked in at this hotel for two nights, loved our stay and slept well. The ensuite bathroom met all my requirements, and the overall hotel atmosphere good.Breakfast was fine and the idea of a basket of goodies left out for late arrivals was well received! A clever thought, thank you :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Alison,
Thank you so much for your support and taking the trouble to review our hotel. Improvements are being made all the time, and hopefully for your next visit you will see further improvements!
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed in room 1 and had no trouble sleeping as there was not any noise at all from the Public House next door? To be fair we stayed from Sunday to Wednesday so have no idea what happens on a Friday or Saturday. But hey, a holiday town! Jerome and Carol could not have been more accommodating to us. Helping with our cases; every little detail checked and checked again. Room perfectly fine for our needs, admittedly basic, and hotel so close to loads of Restaurants and Eastbourne main shopping centre. What is there not to like? Entertainment, which we did not expect, a brilliant bonus. Staff so friendly, you cannot fault them at all. Just one thing that I will say - and Jerome and Carol, I am sorry, but we did not like the bacon. However, on a scale of one to ten - YOU TWO are an eleven :) We would definitely stay at your hotel again. Fantastic deal - one hint, deal direct with them and do not go via an agent. Thank you for a lovely break away x

Room Tip: Room was small, but perfectly adequate. Entertainment with Mick Calverley was great and got everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dippylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. You were great company, and pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We don't often get too much noise from the pub, but tend to mention it on all the websites to cover us if they do have a bit of a party going on.
I hope to see you in Eastbourne again, Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Dont stay in room 1 you will not sleep as it over looks the pub beer garden next door and is very noisy also noise from the lounge and front door is really loud to, bed was hard but manageable but the pillows were rock solid and flat might as well slept on the pebbles over the road bring towels if your staying as they dont get changed just folded and put back on the rail as dirty last thing hope your not hungry cause cardboard is an understatement for what they call breakfast major complaint heading to the hotel as I was charged for 2 nights well over the top for a what I might describe as terrible hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samantha1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hi Samantha,
I'm so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us - you and the rest of your group certainly appeared to enjoy being here, and you didn't mention any problems to us during your stay. I shall of course try to respond to your problems:-
The pub can be a problem for us, and it has been mentioned before, but that is why we make every effort to inform guests via our website and booking engines that we are next to a pub that can on occasions be noisy. We do have an agreement with them that all music stops before midnight, which for most guests is acceptable in a seaside resort, although obviously it was a problem for you. Had you requested a quiet room, it could have been provided.
No-one has previously mentioned the firmness of the bed before, but it is one of our newer ones so may still have that brand new firmness about it. The pillows, we have many, and had you asked we could easily have changed your pillows for foam pillows. Again, like the mattress, this is just a personal preference.
There is a clearly displayed notice in all ensuites explaining that towels are changed if they are left in the shower tray. As yours were not, they were folded and hung, in line with worldwide eco policies.
Breakfast comments are puzzling, as we are unsure if you are referring to the array of cereals, tinned fruit, fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurts, fruit juices or the cooked breakfast being 'cardboard'. It is not a problem that we have come across before.
The price is because you booked online through a booking agent, rather than ringing to talk to us and get the best available price. For that reason, you booked a full rate double room, with only yourself in it. A friend of yours paid less than half for a single room, and ringing direct we could have offered you sole occupancy for a 40% discount. More often than not, we are the cheapest available hotel on the seafront, and believe our prices to remain competitive.
I'm sorry that you felt your experience here was so bad that you needed to write a damaging review about us for the world to see, rather than just mention your problems to us during your stay to see if we could have resolved them - clearly things like pillows and towels could easily have been rectified, as could any problem that you had with your breakfast.
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we are sorry that you had such a bad experience,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days with David Urquhart travel. We had a very comfortable stay and the meals were very good with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Carol and Jerome (the proprietors) were very friendly and welcoming and very obliging. We had a room on the 3rd floor( right next to the lift) which meant, even although I have poor mobility, we were able to enjoy a room with a great sea view. Not to forget the staff, they are very friendly and polite and always happy to be of service. We would very happily stay at The Marine Parade again.
Carol and Jerome all the best for your future.

Room Tip: Room 28 has a really good view of the beach and promenade. It also had an easy access shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salgor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, and we hope to see you back with us in future - just ring us to make sure that you get the room that you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good place to stay while passing through doing a road rip of southern England. Comfortable, clean room, wifi worked in the lounge area. Good cooked breakfast served. Friendly enough staff.
Beach and pier across the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeromefarrow, Owner at Marine Parade Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping to extend our free wifi to all rooms, but remains work in progress for the moment. Have a great trip back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#31 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#33 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#35 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Parade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Parade Hotel

Property: Marine Parade Hotel
Address: 13-14 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marine Parade Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run sea front hotel offering a warm welcome to all our guests. Superbly positioned just over 100 yards from the pier. Small, but clean and comfortable rooms on offer, and a traditional English breakfast. Non-smoking hotel. Please ask us about parking vouchers at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Parade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing