We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money with extremely polite & friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Savoy Court Hotel
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money with extremely polite & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for the second year in a row for two nights whilst attending the Aegon International Tennis Championships.

All staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite as they had been the previous year and this was one of the main reasons for our return. They even remembered us and placed us in the same rooms, numbers 15 and 16, which was a lovely touch.

Yes the decor is slight dated but the hotel is always clean and tidy. Both mornings we all had a lovely cooked breakfast and they were always happy to make changes to suit our needs. There was also plenty of variety - continental, cooked etc. Both evenings we sat in the bar and conversed with the staff and other guests - we had a great laugh!

At night it was a little noisy due to traffic, walkers by etc but what else do you expect when you are staying next to the pier. This wasn't the hotels fault and we fully expected this.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Eastbourne and I don't understand some of the previous "fussy" reviews. It sounds like a completely different hotel! We shall be returning again next year :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive response. We greatly appreciate all reviews from our guests as they help us to improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards

Sajjad Shah (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    21
    17
    16
See reviews for
42
51
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you want good quality, no frills accommodation at a very reasonable price, this is the place for you. Friendly owners and staff with clean rooms and a very reasonable breakfast. Personally, I'm not a 'hotel snob', so I don't need something posh...and with money tight for most people at the moment, this establishment was cheaper than many local B+Bs. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive response. We greatly appreciate all reviews from our guests as they help us to improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards

Sajjad Shah (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

cold damp breakfast room in basement.
in one room, the smallest toilet/washroom i've ever seen.
in the other one the shower only managed a small trikle of water, which was either too hot or cold!
We could hear the Guests in the room above moving around at 6am each morning; the sound proofing must be pretty bad.
And to cap it all, we bought a Hotel Guest Parking Ticket for our car. Unfortunately the owner didn't trouble herself to explain how it works, so we ended up with a 50Pound parking fine. Which was of course all our fault, even though we don't live in Eastbourne or even in England, had other more important things on my mind (my mothers funeral) than reading the instructions. No apology, no saying she was sorry. Wonderful way to treat Guests.
An address worth avoiding!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMRFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyCourtHotel, Owner at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Firstly condolences for your loss. Your parking voucher (£1.00 for up to 24hrs parking) was given to you by our receptionist with the instructions that you scratch off the date and display it in your vehicle within the parking area. The fact you got the date wrong and got a £25 penalty (if you pay within 14 days) is not the responsibility of the hotel or its staff. Until you received the Parking fine everyone of your demands were met including a very early breakfast when you just turned up without any prior request. The restaurant was cold on this occasion because we weren't ready to serve for another hour. It was refurbished only 2 years ago and it in immaculate conditions (just look at the photographs on any website) and to say it is has damp is inaccurate. It also on the lower-ground floor of the hotel, the basement is below that. Your claim about the noise from room above you was also inaccurate, just in-case you forgot, you were on the top floor.
Your actions after you received the parking fine were thoughtless. You should have spoken to the manager or the owner instead you verbally abused a young adult (not much older than your accompanied daughters). You reduced her to tears with your very aggressive and outrageous abusive behaviour and demanded that she pays your parking fine. You were fortunate that a senior member of staff was not present instead of a young female receptionist as you would have been immediately ejected from the property and the police would have been informed. We, as any business, do not and will not tolerate this sort of behaviour towards our staff or guests. We hope you realise what impact your actions have on others? You've destroyed a promising career of a young person who resigned because of your actions. You've added bad reviews on more than one website. Just because you got a parking penalty which was your own fault and not the hotel's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our usual hotel was fully booked and we had been advised to try the Savoy Hotel.
We found it very friendly and clean .Food was good and they have a very comfortable lounge .
Walking distance to the pier and other amenities . Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentYorkshireLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive response. We greatly appreciate all reviews from our guests as they help us to improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards

Sajjad Shah (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our cycle club had endured some awful weather on our trip from East Kent to Eastbourne. We were made most welcome by the staff on our arrival, with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits waiting in the comfortable lounge. A room was available to store our bikes securely. The rooms were warm and clean, with plenty of hot water for showering, which has been a problem at other hotels when a number of cyclists take showers at the same time.
The food at both the evening meal and breakfast the next day was very good, served up quickly and efficiently by the staff.
Our cycle club will definitely use this hotel again if we repeat the trip next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive response. We greatly appreciate all reviews from our guests as they help us to improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards

Sajjad Shah (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was one of the group of cyclists and to be welcomed with a hot drink, cakes & biscuits shows they had really thought about our needs. One of the staff was even helping to carry our bikes into the room they had prepared to store the bikes inside and keep them secure. The evening meal and breakfast was well prepared and freshly cooked giving us much needed fuel. Thank you for looking after such a tired and bedragled bunch of cyclists.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A group of about 20 cyclists, on a wet freezing windy day in march. We were greeted with an inside room for our bikes, then in lounge, plates of biscuits,cakes & tea and coffee. Went to our rooms, nice, well equipped & warm. Before dinner made comfortable in lounge with a beer, went down to Restaurant for really nice 3 course meal, served quickly by friendly, helpful staff, beer & bed, a lovely end to a difficult day. Good, quiet, comfortable night in room. Breakfast once again in downstairs Restaurant for first class full English, with choices of juices & cereals, toast & hot drinks. Ready to depart, wishing I was here for a week & not just a weekend. This really nice well equipped Hotel, with the most friendly, helpful & polite staff, made for a very pleasant stay, no complaints at all! As a group we have already expressed our desire for another visit, THANK YOU.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyCourtHotel, Manager at Savoy Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive response. We greatly appreciate all reviews from our guests as they help us to improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards

Sajjad Shah (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#33 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#31 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
0.0 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#19 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Court Hotel

Property: Savoy Court Hotel
Address: 11-15 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Savoy Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Court Hotel aims to be your home from home on the South Coast of Britain. Our prominent location puts you right in the lively heart of Eastbourne – renowned as one of the sunniest towns in the country. You’ll be only 100 metres from the iconic Victorian pier and seafront, and within twenty minutes of Beachy Head and the South Downs national park, where you will be awarded stunning views of East Sussex.Eastbourne offers theatres that regularly host famous West End stars and plays, galleries, shopping, hundreds of bars and restaurants, and transport links to London and Brighton, as well as historical towns such as Herstmonceux, Lewes and Hastings. Furthermore, Newhaven Harbour provides access to France, and is only a short train-journey away.The building is a Grade II-listed historic townhouse, and the Savoy Court’s cosy atmosphere makes it a perfect getaway from hectic city life, our recently refurbished bar and garden is the ideal place to relax and enjoy a drink, and the restaurant is perfect suited to private events and functions, with its own bar and the ability to cater for up to 60 guests.Our friendly staff always strive to go the extra mile; we live on-site, so you can be sure of our personal attention to your needs. Excellence of service and the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, and we will do everything to ensure that you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Court Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing