We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome change.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Junction Cafe - CLOSED

Junction Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A welcome change.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have been to this Café/bakery for brunch several times since it opened and have never been disappointed. A welcome change to what you get from a lot of the fast food, sandwich bars and pub chains in town. From full English breakfasts, lunch/brunch meals to home made pies/cakes and various sarnies and toasties, all freshly prepared, nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and efficient staff. Very reasonable prices and a pleasant atmosphere makes this a perfect meeting place for locals and also any visitors to Eastbourne who don't want to get ripped off in the town centre eating establishments. The best place to eat whether on your way into or out of Eastbourne. Easy to find, it is just off the A2770 Eastbourne Road at Willingdon. The full address is: The Junction Café, Freshwater Square, Willingdon BN22 0PR. Open seven days a week and plenty of free parking spaces right outside, with a local butchers, pharmacy, hairdressers, supermarket and pub in the same square. Give it a try next time you are visiting the south coast, satisfaction guaranteed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tad990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Best home made sausage rolls I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been here several times now and it is always brilliant.

The service is always very friendly and with a smile!

I love the latte coffee here, it tastes perfect. I went to the expensive Patisserie Valerie which is right in the centre of Eastbourne's town centre and the latte there wasn't a patch on the one here!

I would really recommend the carrot cake - home made, there's always a lovely selection of cakes, which vary all the time.

The sausage rolls are superb - home made and usually made to order so they are just out of the oven. There is some red onion mixed up with the sausage meat, which gives it a really lovely taste.

This place is very reasonably priced - £1 for a mug of coffee, £1.50 for a latte - in a tall glass.

If you want a lunch they do chicken breast, liver and bacon or a home made pie.

Do try this place - you won't regret it AND there's parking right outside in the car park, unlike Eastbourne centre where you drive around for ages and ages and then have to pay to park!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whomewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
1 review
“friendly welcoming staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Café is still fairly new but already has become my local. The staff are very friendly and the food is plentiful and to suit most palates. They also sell fresh bread and cakes. The décor is lovely and unique. The best thing is that the prices are very reasonable. You have a choice to sit outside, at tables inside or a choice of two leather settees for comfort. Also have, if not taken, daily newspapers. The café is located in a peaceful area. very much recommend a visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Café”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely breakfast here. Good food, good surroundings, nice staff. Thoroughly recommend it. If the sun finally comes out you can even sit outside!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went for lunch with my son on a Friday. There's a table outside and as we had our dog with us, we sat on this. Luckily it had stopped raining, so we had a beautiful distant view of the South Downs - the sun even came out briefly!

Inside has tables and chairs and a lovely looking, comfortable leather sofa - so up to the minute with trendiness!

This is a bakery as well - so you can buy loaves of bread and there were a few cakes, they sell chelsea buns and cream teas to eat here.

My son had a sausage roll - which is sausage meat from the butchers two doors along and home made puff pastry - he said it was lovely and cheesy chips, he liked those too. A glass of Fanta orange made his lunch complete.

I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - really hot and delicious and a latte coffee - this was stripey in the tall glass, which I've never seen before and it was the best tasting latte I've had in a very long time. The owner of the cafe, also the chef, told me he'd been trained how to make coffee in Greece - so he seems to know his stuff!

The bread is from Polegate bakery and they have it delivered fresh every day at 6.30am, how nice to have a local bakery at last in Willingdon.

This cafe is really lovely and friendly and has wonderful service - they've been open 3 weeks and I hope they continue to do really well as I much prefer to help local businesses than the horrible Tesco!

There is parking in Freshwater Square with two disabled parking places available - it's a very, very short walk to this place from those places, so perfect for the less abled.

They don't have a landline yet - they're waiting for BT to do this and we all know how long they take!

Do come and try this cafe - it so deserves to do well :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whomewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junction Cafe also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing