We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant with fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Novecento - CLOSED

Novecento
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
eastbourne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant with fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fantastic food and lovely service from this Italian brother and sister who co incidently used to own The Italian Deli in Grove Rd for many years , I cannot recommend this resturant enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazingly fresh Italian food and friendly service in Eastbourne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We ate at Novecento last night and the food was delightful. The menu is quite simple, in the fact that it only has a limited number of pasta, fish and meat dishes; however they are cooked to perfection.

We ordered the calamari and king prawns to start and the quality/portion size was superb. It was refreshing to eat calamari that was neither greasy nor chewy... just light and fresh. The king prawns we huge and very tasty.

My partner had the cod as a main and loved it, as it was cooked in a zesty lime sauce with caper berries. I had the lasagne, which had pieces of beef in it instead of mince. Very enjoyable.

Ended the meal with the tiramisu, which was home made, and simply delicious.

The service?... friendly, engaging and most welcoming.

Lastly... do not be put off by the exterior of the restaurant... look beyond that... step inside and be prepared to be amazed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuterion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and excellent food and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a lovely meal, good value and beautifully cooked. One of our member was vegetarian and even though there was not a main course she liked, further discussion with the owner offering suggestions, produced a main course that was, to quote Ali, delicious. The house Rose wine is wonderful and the starters portions are main course sized. The calamari I had was superb. We will be going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Authentic first class Italian cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having seen the fantasic reviews myself and the wife had to go and give this fairly new restaurant a try. At the moment (presumably due to winter) it is only open on Monday,Thursday & Saturday evenings. We chose a very cold Monday and upon arrival were imediately welcomed by the owner and led through to the cosy back dining room (around 20 covers), where we had the choice of any table we wanted. I chose the steak strips in penne pasta and my wife had the trout. Both dishes were very flavoursome and cooked to perfection. It was a lovely unhurried relaxed evening and we wll certainly be back again soon. Really hope that this new venture gets the amount of business that it deserves. Unless you expect really rapid service (which we do not)please give it a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastico!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went on valentines evening and since the perfect night with my girlfriend i can't stop saying to family and friends how superb this place is.
A fantastic service and fabulous food, this place certainly is the little gem of a secret in Eastbourne!
Could'nt recommend highly enough, will be going back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novecento also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing