We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Just got back from a 4 night break at the Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne.The holiday was a great success thanks to all the staff who couldnt do enough for us,The food was excellent with good options on the menu which was served hot and well presented.We had entertainment every night which was enjoyable.We will be going back again.There are a lot of creaky floorboards but they didnt spoil a really good stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    24
    22
    15
See reviews for
37
60
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The accommodation was clean but walls were so thin we could hear snoring from next room. Noisy creaking floorboards. The worst thing was the mini bathroom and my husband had to bath with his knees around his chin! Only fit for midgets. Staff were friendly & helpful and the balcony was very nice. Good location opposite bandstand. The food was only average. We would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkey7266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Travelled well over 300 miles to this hotel , only to find it covered in scaffolding and blue sheeting , no see view , couldn't see out of the windows, chairs piled up on balcony , plaster dust everywhere. Staff born liars , as are David Urqhart Travel, Staff from both companies just fob you off constantly , even when you've got photographs to prove they were in the wrong. Staff at the Hotel just put the phone down on you, wrote to the owner of the Hotel never replied. Totally rip off merchants do go there, Hotel dated , staff rubbish, it's like a building site ,,but they never disclosed this prior to travelling £621, out of pocket, got the train home to Preston second day . Avoid this place at all cost and David Urqhart Travel modern day robbers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RUBBISHVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

This is one of those throwback seaside buildings that recall the past glories of English holidays gone by. Very faded glory today I'm afraid, but if the place had a tired look about it is still good value with clean comfortable beds, good hot water in the bathroom and from the front there is a lovely sea view.

No soundproofing and a bit of noise from the other guests, though luckily they all seemed to keep reasonable hours and noise from the street outside was negligible. Parking was cheap and right outside the building which is always a plus. The staff was friendly and helpful and my only real complaint was that the bar closed an hour earlier than advertised.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Have just stayed the weekend at The Cumberland and we came away with mixed feelings. When we arrived we were given a room at the back of the hotel. Although a good size, the room was quite dark with a view over the wheelie bins. The room was very tired and some of the drawers were screwed shut. We complained to reception and were given the choice of two other rooms, we chose a room on the 2nd floor facing the bandstand. This room was much nicer, but still a bit shabby. We had an excellent view of the bandstand and the free entertainment from the luxury of our room! First night was an Abba tribute band and second night a rock and roll band.

Overall our stay was okay, but we probably wouldn't choose to stay at The Cumberland again, when there are so many other hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We have just come back from a two night stay at the cumberlad hotel. We are a family of four with 2 young children. 2 and 7 months. We booked this as a last minute trip and were surprised at how lovely and relaxing it was.
Our room was spacious even though we had 4 beds in there and the staff were really helpful when we were coming in and out of the hotel.
At breakfast time they had set a table with a highchair for us and the waiters would help me get the girls breakfast so I didn't have to leave them too long.
Other clientel were older but everyone was very friendly and chatted to the children.
The decor was dated but clean and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and don't be put off if you have children!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

Our twin room was dark and pokey. The bathroom floor was old orange vinyl in a chewed state around the toilet bowl. Oh how I wish I had taken a photo as evidence. Hardly the refurbished room advertised.

The 2nd night around midnight there was great disturbance from the property next door. Unable to sleep and numerous calls down to the night desk I eventually got a response of "this does sometimes happen", on checkout the next day there was no apology or offer of reduction in the rate. We will never be staying anywhere near this palce again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — unhelpful owners
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinRedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#13 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#24 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban
Oban
#23 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Property: Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing