We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful restaurant and lack of interest from reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My parents have asked me to place this comment concerning their stay and the restaurant at the Cumberland in particular.

Both parents have stayed and enjoyed food in many restaurants around the UK and Europe. The stay at the Cumberland was generally ok, the rooms were tired but clean and the main staff friendly and helpful but, the restaurant was the problem. The food is possibly the worst they have been given in any hotel they have stayed in before and when mentioning the issue to the resturant manager, she just said, "I'll get the general manager to contact you" That was weeks ago and still no contact. It seems they know the problem and can do nothing about it. The suggestion therefore is do not eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now with our dance club and every time it's been great. Service is second to none. Food great. Would Recomend every time. it's so close to shops, pier and right across the road from the beach. So much to do and see.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location and staff were very friendly, booked 2 rooms but rooms very tired and in need of redecoration and a lot of paint. This hotel needs major building improvements as a large part of ceiling on second floor needs to be replaced. The bathrooms were dirty with hair on floor. Carpets were stained,creeky and old. I would recommend finding alternative hotel until improvements complete.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galaxytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I went for a 5 day break with a group from my club. I thought the hotel was in an ideal position on the sea front, and only a short walk along the prom to the town and shops. It was a very nice hotel, if a bit tired. Staff were great, and food very nice with a lot of choice. It looked as if they had suffered with the weather, and there were damp patches where it had marked the wallpaper. In my room (303) it looked as if the upstairs had let the bath run over. But staying that the rooms were clean and spotless, with tea coffee and biscuits everyday. Other guests were noisy letting doors slam, and I would suggest they put door closers on all the doors to stop that. We have all said we would like to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigailCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am writting this review after returning from a weeks stay at the Cumberland Hotel.

We where in room 218 a very nice and clean little room. All the staff are great and very helpfull. Our housekeeper Michele was a lovely and kept our room to a high standard. She always had a smile on her face every morning.and nothing was to much touble for her.

This is a great hotel and it is so nice to be known as a person and not just a room number.

Thank you and see you all again soon

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank blockley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks holiday in Eastbourne staying at the CUMBERLAND OTEL in a twin room on the 4th FLOOP ( these are not spelling mistakes by me) We had no professional welcome, the staff at the desk never wore any type of uniform.
My Husband was given a form to fill and sign in two places stating he owed 60 pounds this was interesting as we hadn't paid anything as yet. When he pointed this out she said oh it isn't for you but never mind, still refusing to take any money not even a deposit. She then said the one and only lift was out of order and would we like help with our luggage seeing we were on the 4th floor, I should jolly well think so.
Our room was out of the ark, the furniture a disgrace sliding doors on the cupboard which didn't slide, at one end there were shelves which looked as if they had come out of a kitchen unit. They were all chipped and worn, didn't really like putting our clothes in it but didn't have any choice.
We had paid extra for a sea view which we had IF you stood on tip toe as there were two very tiny windows one had a cupboard in front of it so that window was out of reach. The bathroom was reasonable as long as you both didn't want to flush the toilet. We reported this and it took 48 hours for a plumber to turn up by which time we imagine the cleaner had managed to flush the toilet. There was a television but it was an old fashioned analogue one with only channels 1, 2, 3, 4 which was on 5 and visa versa. I think it was supposed to be a colour tv but as 90 per cent of the time it was black and white I am not really sure. On the bedhead there was a strange box thing with knobs it was probably once a radio but no sound came out of it. Just to make the room complete every floor board creaked terribly, as you stood on one of them the rubbish bin shot up in the air. We felt very sorry for the people below us.
We were there for bed and breakfast, which was supposed to start at 8am, but on several occasions was much later opening. There was a notice on the door stating you MUST sit at the same table all the time, it was a good game finding your table as they had surnames on them and not room numbers and to make it more fun half way through the week they changed all
the tables round. There were cereals, tinned grapefruit, tinned prunes and out of date yoghurts, there was a hot counter but no bread, cold meats or cheeses and NO fresh fruit. You were given a pot of tea which had just enough for one cup each and two tiny jugs of milk which was for the cereals as well as the cup of tea. The tables were extremely close together the service did improve a bit when a coach party turned up.
On the first morning we were there which was a Sunday, we went back to our room after our breakfast at 9.10am to be greeted by a cleaner knocking on our door saying she needed to make our room up, which we said was not acceptable at that time of the morning. I am not someone to accept terrible service so I complained, all I got were disgusting looks from all the staff. As we checked out my Husband asked for a receipt for the bill he had paid, the receptionist looked in amazement and out from under the desk appeared a pile of papers she went through and found a sort of receipt.
This hotel has 3 stars 1 star is too many.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was number 405 on the 4th Floor. Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WendyCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here again this year with our ballroom dancing group. We had a wonderful room last year overlooking the prom and the bandstand - I couldn't remember the room number or which floor it was on, so I emailed the hotel and explained that we loved our previous room but couldn't remember the room number. I got a reply almost immediately saying they had looked up our room number from last year (I didn't give them the date we stayed) and they'd booked us into the same room. This was just another example of the caring attitude the staff had displayed the previous year - a genuine wish to please all-too-often lacking these days wherever you stay. The hotel isn't wonderfully modern, and yes, the floorboards still creak in the corridors, but this is an old, venerable building on the wonderful seafront at Eastbourne and I wouldn't change a thing about it. Except perhaps our slightly squeaky mattress! The food was excellent again with a good choice of menu - breakfasts were particularly nice with good-quality ingredients. Dinner was always hot and well-cooked, although we're certainly not talking Michelin star, but it was all tasty. A friend's gluten-free diet was cheerfully catered for without fuss. I can't think of any place I've stayed that offered better value for money and a general feeling of being taken care of. Looking forward to next year already!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the upper floors have a great view overlooking the Bandstand - you can enjoy their e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linden-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne

Address: 34-36 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $119 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland is one of Eastbourne’s Premier Hotels, commanding a wonderful position on the seafront overlooking the famous Flower-Decked Promenade, the Bandstand and the English Channel.In the Lounges and Wordsworth Restaurant, all of which have breathtaking sea views, you will find an ambiance of classic elegance. Entertainment is enjoyed throughout the year, including regular dancing in our Grand Cumberland Suite. Our 72 en-suite bedrooms, the majority of which have sea views, some with shared balcony, are tastefully furnished all with colour TV, Radio, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hair driers. We have a lift to all floors. Our Head Chef, one of Eastbourne’s best, prepares excellent cuisine with the utmost care, using only the finest ingredients, complemented by our extensive wine list. Our friendly, helpful and efficient staff will ensure that your stay at the Cumberland is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing