We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel spoilt by poor bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
east cowes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel spoilt by poor bedroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Travellers should check bedroom before acceptance as some of the bedrooms in this Hotel
are lacking in space. We booked a twin room and ended up in a box room with a bed in each opposite corner. Daish's hav'nt even bothered to reply to our complaint.

P.Kelly. IOW

Room Tip: Look at it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    174
    59
    24
    7
See reviews for
52
273
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

i stayed at the Claremont Hotel for 5 days last week. I found the food to be varied, adequate and well served. The hotel and its various function rooms were spotlessly clean, and the entertainment on 3 of the nights was excellent, plus we had bingo and a quiz each night...all the staff appeared to be helpful and dedicated...so far so good...but OH !! the bedroom!. i had paid an extra supplement for a single room and another supplement on top of that for a sea view. I couldn't turn round in the bedroom it was so small, indeed I had to walk sideways to get between the bed and the wardrobe...no room for a bedside table or a dressing table...I asked around various guests as to the size of their rooms and they were all complaining as to the smallness of the bedrooms .....i am a slim person and anyone of a larger build than I would not have fit into the room, i must add that the room was clean

Room Tip: be aware of the boxlike bedrooms which lurk in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank star056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

just got home after holiday first time with this hotel since taken over by daishs holidays well cant wait to go again great twin room clean comfy and wonderful sea view food great all staff smashing cant think of any bad things to say my husband and i loved it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank alfie01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from 5 days with Daish at Eastbourne.For value/money this is a great deal and my wife and i would thoroughly recommend it.The refurbishment is excellent with few exceptions -- The toilet/shower room is very small -very limited space between toilet and washbasin in the room we had.
The small and only lift (3 people) sometimes leads to congestion -- especially on arrival day
Otherwise it was certainly as good as the other four daish hotels.
We would certainly re-visit this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank johnjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I had a five day break with the Daish group at the Claremont Hotel,Eastbourne.The hotel.was opposite the pier and just a two minute walk from a thriving town centre.The hotel has been refurbished and is still undergoing upgrading.Brand new carpets.and furniture welcome you as you are greeted in the reception and bar area.The dining room is pleasant and the.food is good.The staff are friendly and some are from other Daish hotels.Some bedrooms.have been modernised but not all.We had a brand new bathroom which was lovely and clean.Overall our stay was very good and we would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Marylouhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel,value for money,great service with a general manager Keith who knows to treat his clients and very approachable
I was recommended to stay here by my son in law who's company have carried out extensive works of modernisation for the hotel , he told me how clean and well run this hidden gem was,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Khan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having arrived at this hotel on a coach tour, we found this to be a great hotel, friendly, polite, and efficient reception staff, lovely clean rooms,good choice of food, helpful staff. Manager very pleasant and extremely helpful.Would reccommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#16 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusively for adults, the newly refurbished Claremont Hotel offers a prime location on Eastbourne's splendid Grand Parade. Close to the pier and with the award-winning beach just across the road, the Claremont Hotel offers a traditional seaside break with the customary service and value for which we are renowned. It's high standards have been recognized by Tripadvisor, who awarded it a Certificate of Excellence in 2016. Following a comprehensive refurbishment programme in 2013, the Claremont Hotel offers a lovely new bar and lounge with a brilliant line-up of live entertainment every evening. We also have a coffee shop, perfect for planning your day with a morning coffee or enjoying afternoon tea and views across the promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Lions Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing