We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good, but slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

I stayed in Cavendish Hotel with my girlfriend and her parents for one night 16-17 June 2007 for Father's Day. We chose the hotel after seeing the TripAdvisor ratings and reading the very good reviews.

The hotel on Grand Parade is on the seafront as many other Eastbourne hotels, just a short walk from the beach and the bandstand. The pier is also just a five minutes walk away. There is a good size car park at the back of the hotel, which luckily meant not having to park in the streets. Due to refurbishment you cannot walk straight from the car park and into the hotel, but have to walk around the block again to the front of the hotel. We didn't find this a problem.

Check-in was smooth even though we arrived quite early (11am). We asked if it was possible to have seaview rooms, and they arranged this and didn't even charge any extra for it either. The reception staff were all very helpful, as were all the other employees we encountered.

Both rooms were big. Even though they were twin rooms, it was easy enough to rearrange the beds to be "double" instead. Room 314 was huge and had a disabled bathroom with walk-in shower. The only issue with the room was the rather slanted floor which made bottles and glasses put on the table in danger of sliding off. Room 320 was slightly smaller, but on the other hand slant-free. Both rooms have a good view over the bandstand, so you basically get a free concert included when something is happening there. Though both rooms were good, they are starting to look a little bit faded. We were actually expecting a little bit more than what we got. And we did find a bed-bug in the bed which didn't quite help either.

Breakfast is included, and it had a good selection of hot and cold food, though the juices were not that good in my opinion.

The hotel's bar, Coronet, has nice comfy chairs and a good selection of drinks (also bitters and stouts). Don't forget to drop by The Library, which looked so nice we were reluctant to go in there.

The Cavendish is quite pricey, and I am in two minds whether or not it is worth £125 per night.

  • Liked — The location and the library
  • Disliked — The bed-bug and the slanted floor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    410
    195
    108
    77
See reviews for
185
617
65
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

I got an excellent rate for two nights at the Cavendish through ebookers.com and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I had imagined that it would be chintz city but I was wrong. The hotel rooms (mine was 207) are spacious and modern, with good tea and coffee making facilities, loads of wardrobe space and a decent TV. The hotel has a small gym which I used - it has a running machine, a cycle, a recumbent cycle and an elliptical thingy. It also has a sauna and aroma room which looked lovely but sadly I didn't have time to use. The hotel is right on the seafront, opposite the bandstand, and my room had a nice corner view. The breakfast buffet was of a very high standard with plenty on offer - cereals, juices, fruit, cold meats, a hot buffet and boiled/poached eggs etc.. on request. I was attending a conference at the Devonshire Park Centre which was only a 5 minute walk away. A number of the other people at the conference was saying how awful their hotels were so I felt very lucky to have booked a room at the Cavendish.

  • Liked — The comfortable, modern and clean rooms.
  • Disliked — There was some noise at night from a rowdy group along my corridor!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spacekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

Like most hotels in Eastbourne, this was built by the Victorians with no regard for the car or disabled access. There is a small car park, which is a bonus, but steep steps at the front door, and steep ramps. The staff were friendly enough, and the porter carefully explained the complicated on-street parking arrangements. Our room in the newer east wing was huge, with comfortable beds and the best bedside reading lamps we have met in a hotel for many a year. Good views through huge windows. The bathroom was small but modern, and with a very long tub.
Breakfast buffet was good, plenty of helpful staff for replenishment and extra toast or coffee. Evening meals were good quality, and the kitchen coped with a quirky special diet, but some of the waiting staff did not have good enough English to explain the diet. Plenty of other restaurants within a few minutes walk, just a little cheaper.

  • Liked — Elegant and comfortable
  • Disliked — Smoking was still allowed in the bar, but that will soon change
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Loiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

Myself and a colleague recently stayed at the Cavendish for a night.
We found the hotel to be charming, the rooms were big, the staff extremely friendly and overall we had a very comfortable stay. Its a very charming hotel with lots of old nice details.

  • Liked — Its charm
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deefed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2007

Hotel is in an ideal position, on the seafront, close to band stand. Our sea view room was large and comfortable, bath robes and breakfast included. Would recommend to all.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed here over Easter for 2 nights and had an excellent time. The hotel is in a great location, has wonderful views and the staff were very helpful in meeting our needs with a 9-month old baby. The best part was the newly re-furbished library, which was a great setting for after dinner drinks with friends!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

I stayed at The Cavendish Hotel on January 11, 2007. I selected this hotel because of the great reviews and great rate I got on Expedia.ca (around $100 Canadian/night).

The hotel was easy to find (right on the Grande Parade) and had plenty of available parking. Front-desk staff were very helpful and friendly, and quickly resolved any issues we had (I had booked a double room, but was initially given a single; this was upgraded and I soon found myself in an ocean-view suite).

Decor of the rooms was very dated, however that is to be expected in England. This room was a vast improvement on the small room I received in London with plenty of open space. The view was breathtaking...I spent more time looking out at the Atlantic, rather than watching the limited fare on the tele.

I cannot comment on breakfast...I wasn't informed if it was included in the morning and didn't ask (I've heard differing stories as to whether or not it is included in the price of the room).

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyoblada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing