We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pampered weekend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pampered weekend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Great weekend. Pebbles spa made us feel very pampered. Book early as it's quite small. Waiting staff exceptionally well trained and food excellent. DJ leaves a lot to be desired had a ver receptive audience who wanted to dance but it was like then juke box was on play on demand NO continuity. Tips car park expensive compared to pay and display with ticket from hotel. Book reassuring early, on a sunny day sit away from tge window for breakfast or right by the window and open it. The temperature in the dining room is very warm.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zenabelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    412
    195
    111
    78
See reviews for
185
620
65
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
283 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Good four star hotel well modernised. Nice bar, with a great view of seafront. Catered well for a great Irish wedding. I thought the ala carte breakfast outstanding in particular the kippers and poached eggs. Staff very helpful. Easy walking distance of beachy head for some exercise.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barneyq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have just spent a long weekend at the Cavendish, attending a Masonic Lodge Ladies Festival. Over 100 people attended, including 2 very small babies. I can't fault the hotel or the staff in any way. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly. All the rooms were extremely clean and well equipped, if a little hot!

The dinner on the Friday night was excellent. We chose from the Table d'hôtel menu and everyone found something they fancied, and we have some complicated dietary requirements. The staff dealt with requests for anniversary flowers and birthday cake to be presented during the evening. Nothing was forgotten.

Breakfast was efficient and friendly; nor do they expect you to get up ridiculously early!

The formal Festival dinner in the Sussex Suite was stunning. It looked incredible with the tables fully laid up, beautiful flowers, chairs dressed. The guests' age range spanned several decades and some have mobility difficulties, but there were no steps, the bar was included and the toilets are also on the same level. All self contained so that those who didn't want to dance could still enjoy the atmosphere. I couldn't recommend this to anyone planning a big party enough. I've been trying to think of a reason to book it again!! Again, the food was excellent, with even more complicated dietary requirements catered for without difficulty.

The event organiser Dominika (apologies if I have spelt this wrongly) made sure everything was to a high standard and my parents (who were hosting the party) cannot speak highly enough of her. The attention to detail showed and it all seemed effortless.

This hotel has undergone a transformation since I last stayed 7 years ago. It is a beautiful building in a prime position. It has a friendly atmosphere, friendly and efficient staff and is very relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a sea view - or splash out on a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have had several lunches here and they have always been absolutely terrible so please don't go there. There are only about 10 tables in the bar and if you go we won't be able to carry on having terrible lunches!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for a night having never been before. A really lovely place to stay, very welcoming and efficient. A spacious room with a sea view and comfortable beds. Very clean and a good sized bathroom. The breakfast room is wonderful and the staff and breakfast were faultless. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueberry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I used the spa bit basic but under refurbishment now I understand.staff very good
Food was very good indeed .staff in resturant excellent
Bar staff not very attentive shame really nice hotel needs some love and attention but that's all
Very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Sea view good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing